Learn to tune your own car

Alchemis

all,

i've stepped on my first step.... i'm going to tune my own car... at least i'm saying i want to learn how to tune my own car...

i've received one of the important item..... which is this one...
Wideband O2 sensor kit. it mount directly onto the downpipe or midpipe. sends the reading to datalogit and there you go tune your own engine.

http://yoyo.monash.edu.my/~alchemis/DSC00230.JPG
http://yoyo.monash.edu.my/~alchemis/DSC00231.JPG

who has it now ? Phat7 has a better version wideband O2 kit.

Rotary is an amazing thing. it's good to learn how it operates... and know it well how it mix fuel etc. so that you can tune...

your question is....

is there a limit to tuning ?
answer is no.... you might want to tune your car to be conservative or aggressive... high torque... low torque high hp.. .etc... it's very fun....

why tune when it's already tuned?
one minor mod can send you doing some tuning... just one new air intake.. you might want to consider looking at the values.... or even new exhaust...
things will really be different when a new thing does in and mess up your perfect air fuel... that's set up for fuel economy and high hp balance...

for those who are interested to venture this area on their car.... feel free to drop by to talk to us... me and phat7.... i'm still a very begineer.... phat7 is more towards intermediate....

my next thing to buy.... is DATALOGIT..........then i'm off to tune my own car.. :)

good to have another diy'er on the self tuning bandwagon. take your time and with the right tools you'll love self tuning.

Its indeed very useful.It indeed helped me alot in fine tuning my FC

Yup i am using the same kit as u .the innovate standard gauge kit to tune my microtec.:retarded:

the innovate website has lots of information for those interested. keep in mind though we're working on rotary's so we have to dabble carefully with igt and igl. II use a exhaust temp to monitor this.

in-conjunction of the JSOC annual dinner, i'll be setting up a session of beer or TT... to collect some money. in the mean time...
Tuning is a topic to discuss. :)
mainly on Rotary.

Yup i am using the same kit as u .the innovate standard gauge kit to tune my microtec.:retarded:

Saabie....

1st question
where did you mount your LC1 ? the black box.... in the engine bay or your route it inside the interior of your car ?

2nd question
where did you mount your sensor ? on the end of downpipe or very close to the ori O2 sensor?

I mount the black box in the engine bay and the sensor in the middle of the down pipe.Hope this help.

yup.. this helps... earlier i was worrying that the black box might not take the temperature in the engine bay....
i'll probably hooking up the black box during this chinese new year... and wiring it up... get the USB-Serial converter... and leave it there until i got my downpipe drilled and slotted with the sensor..

don't worry.The black box can take it.If still worried ,try insulating it.Mine has been in there for about 1 month liao and so far so good.

hahaha you guys still deliberating where to put the main box. alchemis i thought after all this time tuning your car you'd have learned a thing or two.my bad.

ahahahahhaha i never see how people mount it before.... LM-1 box is interior one.... normally people even tuners on dyno they use LM-1 and link to the dyno PC...

LC-1 in other hand... is totally different animal... does not have a LCD display...never see anyone have LC-1 before.... i tot i was the 1st one.. but infact... Saabie is the 1st one i know with LC-1 :)

anyway..... i've successfully mounted it near the brake vacuum pump.... the cable pulled all the way along the brake lines and goes into the interior through the air cond pipe...

wires successfully hooked on... and sensor calibrated......signals are all okay...

next step:

1) weld on the downpipe... buy USB-serial converter.... do some minor changes on the settings to gasoline.. configure the analog output...

2) buy datalogit

3) have fun. :)

It is best to mount the box in the cabin as temps are better there.

The O2 sensor must be mounted at least 12-48 inchs from the engine. Upstream from any cat.If you are turboed , than the O2 sensor would be after your turbine side. a rough guide is x10 of your exhaust diameter. So if you have a 3inch exhaust, the O2 sensor would be about 30inchs from your engine

The sensor should be mounted to the exhaust between 2-10 o'clock positions. This is to prevent themoshock to the sensor caused by liquid fuel and or condensed water in the exhaust.

As always, calibrate the sensor as per instructions.

information taken from what i could remember from autronic/ngk/innovate manuals

got it....
10 and 2 o clock... need to check for clearance... because those are the location near the car body... :)

will update when i got it working.

Im interested to tune but how to i go about it ?I dont even know how to read the Microtech handheld.

Suggest if you can highlight to me how to go bout it

Thansk

Maybe we could arrange to meet and discuss further how we go about specific styles of tuning.

Managed to tune Alchemis car last night. Good response by progessive timing increase leading to boost and tappering back in boost. turbos come on nicely but still having bouncy boost at top which leads me to think its a leak or possibly turbo being the issue. overall it seems better but i was only looking at knock as an indication. Once the wideband gets in then we can seriously linearize fuel/boost and timing hopefully.

Bouncy boot at top ? Mm...What boost was he running at ? i doubt anything below 15psi or 1 bar would cause such a problem. A leak mostly like fault would be not being able to boost after a certain amount. What boost control are you using ?