lets talk about the Magny-Cours GP

cyclonite

Alonso was really really fast. But I think the star of the show was kimi. Having being pinilised 10 places he still finished 2nd. Also I'm just wondering if Ferrari didn't mess up Michael's pit stop would he have been able to chase kimi? hmm...

did Ferrari mess up with Schumi's pit stop? I miss that part?
I only saw Jarno Trulli in 2nd place hold him up until 1st pit stop.

i watched almost till the end, went out for a drink 4 laps before the end. in all honesty, it was a boring race regardless whether i'm an anti alonso or alonso fan. there was not much overtaking, not much in field action, not much pit stop actions and more off a straight forward win by alonso. the race was sewn up after qualifying. alonso had blistering pace in his opening lap but in hindsight, i think jarno trulli's pace made alonso looked fast or rather highlighted alonso's pace. i do think michael could have at least close the gap up a little if not for trulli, but if raikkonen was up front there, i think alonso wouldn't have it that easy. but then again, i'm not taking credits away from alonso coz anyhow he was still quick enuff to win.

quite rightly said, the star of the race was kimi. he has blisting pace, only after the traffic cleared up and his laptimes after the rest pitted was absolutely ballistic. from 10th to 2nd from his raw speed just goes to show how strong mclaren could have been if not for a broken engine. i guess 2nd was really the best he could have done.

btw, how did ferrari messed up michael's race?? wat happened?

BlackSamurai:

Yah that's the pit stop. They short fuelled michael to get him track position and as a result he had to do 3 stops w/o much of a margin.

nows a day you don't see much serious overtaking on the track (montoya, I miss you), coz you need to save the engine for next race as well. The best way to promote the driver from the back to front is actually via pitstop tactic. If the driver manage to stay out longer before the first pit stop and have a clear traffic while others are busy re-fuel, the driver can move up to the front easily. McLaren at Kimi did it last night and so do Ferrari did the same thing for Schumi.

cyclonite, I won't says the pit crew screw that up, cause Schumi need to stay in front of Trulli badly. Btw, I think Schumi in on 3-stop strategy from the beginning.

btw, nice signature you have, did u create it yourself?

prodigy said:
i watched almost till the end, went out for a drink 4 laps before the end. in all honesty, it was a boring race regardless whether i'm an anti alonso or alonso fan.

out of curiosity, do u happen to be anti schumi too last year?:confused:

the race was boring bcoz a freaking slow driver starts in 2nd place, he was 2s slower per lap than alonso on average, holding back the big pack of cars behind him thus giving alonso the huge advantage in the early stage. It's like Trulli is racing for Renault yesterday.

Schuey need to get rid of Trulli, thats why the short pit stop, else he won have a chance to finish on podium.

At the end of the day, it's a bad bad performace by ferrari, but i'm just glad the renault didn't lap schuey...poor barichello is not fortunate enough though...LOL

yaaa, yeaterday, before first pit stop for schumacher and trulli,
the trulli really make the traffic slow larrrr, since his car fuel are less than alonso and enter pit early than alonso, but still can follow.
me sitting infront of the TV so hope that his car can damage or run out the track.
wahhh so angryyyyyyyy.............

zeroTohundred said:
the race was boring bcoz a freaking slow driver starts in 2nd place, he was 2s slower per lap than alonso on average, holding back the big pack of cars behind him thus giving alonso the huge advantage in the early stage. It's like Trulli is racing for Renault yesterday.

Trulli and Alonso are ex-teammate what :D

I'm not sure what do you guys think about Trulli, but for me, he is a great qualifier. He can produce very good qualifying result even his car is not powerful, but when he was in the race, the pace is always not there. I dunno why.

schumi did made a compromise...when he short fuelled on the first pit...he gave up some time to McLaren's JPM which pitted much later than him...but that was their strategy...i think Michael was preserving his car the whole race...

Kimi was fast consideirng the fuel load he was carrying...some 8 laps extra fuel than Alonso...he would have faired good on track if he did not have that engine mishap...this would be Alonso's lucky year...

SpeedWanker said:
prodigy said:
i watched almost till the end, went out for a drink 4 laps before the end. in all honesty, it was a boring race regardless whether i'm an anti alonso or alonso fan.

out of curiosity, do u happen to be anti schumi too last year?:confused:

well, i wouldn't consider myself "anti-other drivers", its just that i have a preference for mclaren drivers.

please don't take my words out of context because it simply goes to say the race was plain boring. i would have said the same if raikkonen/montoya won in similar circumstances.

i anti boring F1 racing
i anti no over taking during F1 race
i anti podium result same as qualifying grid.

prodigy said:
SpeedWanker said:
well, i wouldn't consider myself "anti-other drivers", its just that i have a preference for mclaren drivers.

please don't take my words out of context because it simply goes to say the race was plain boring. i would have said the same if raikkonen/montoya won in similar circumstances.

everyone has their own winners in heart...it's not wrong to support McLaren or any other teams on the grid...

but the race yesterday was awfully boring...it was a perfect day for Alonso...Kimi and Michael both got blocked and no one was even near challenging him...

BlackSamurai said:
i anti boring F1 racing
i anti no over taking during F1 race
i anti podium result same as qualifying grid.

wow...seems like u anti a lot of things...hope u dun anti the race queens...

i would say last week GP was kinda boring.once alonso in the lead thats it.straight forward race.if not for that tortoise trulli and kimi's 10 grid down penalty,alonso would not have run away in the lead easily.hope today GP wont be as boring as last week and kimi yet again kena penalised 10 slots down the grid for today race. :mad:

That's potentially 2 BIG chances for Kimi to win a GP and it all goes to cock thanks to the engine. He's got the pace to win but because of these stupid problems, he is compromised...for the second connsecutive time. Kudos to Kimi for the cool head and making the most of his grid position to secure 2nd and 3rd from 13th and 12th position respectively. You look at that and there is no question what would happen if he hadn't been penalised. And I've got to admit that lady luck has been smiling on Alonso all season now. No credit taken from him of course, because he has done very well for himself despite not having the fastest car. That one belongs to McLaren who has an absolute flyer...pity about the reliability though.