lighten crankshaft....

expenditious

will lightening the crankshaft make the car go faster....
or wat will it do...what are the side effects....
im driving a satria gti...

how much is it...

While i dont have the experience of doing lightening.. From my engineering class last time, cranks are made as counter weight for the piston movement.. It is design based on the piston and con rod static and dynamic balancing.. hmm, supposely it should be followed with lighter con rod and piston.. Just my opinion laa.. Wont comment on the side effect as no experience.

Oh, not sure the car will go faster, bcoz it might be inbalance thus destroy top speed, but indeed it will accelerate faster as less rotating mass..

tanxx dude...but i heard if ligthen the crankshaft...supposely to be faster la...but when climbing up hill will be slower i think...maybe because it's lighter....well...

i might just gamble and give it a try....

it has been done by many people. must do engine balancing after lightening the crank. engine goes like rocket after lightening crank. very "ringan" the rpm go up.

actually how is engine balancing ? what is the process involved?

Be careful not to lighten too much.... else sure patah easily... stock crank has been engineered to perfection to withstand the torture its going to take... lightening it will turn the whole equation upside down... thus it'll then be unable to take as much torture as it did before.

Fortunately there's such a thing called a 'safety factor' where the crank is designed to take on more torture than the engine would normally produce... so there's some allowance la than u can take off... but how much exactly can u take off... well... only the engineers who designed the cranks would know. U on the other hand... will have to go thru a 'trial-and-error' process. =) Hope u don't blow ur engine the 1st time around lar. hahaa...

I know quite a few people who blew their engines lightening their internals already.

ermmm hehehe...sounds risky....
i hope my mech should know what he is doing la hehee....
if not i'll eat maggie mee for a very long time hehee...

Try this instead

Lighten your Flywheel instead.

I have lighten my flywheel from 7kg to 3.7kg.

Mate it with a cerametallic clutch like Triniti and the response is like rocket.

like what tajulsans...the crankshaft is a counter-weight for the pistons and con-rods...so best if u do a complete lightening and balancing lor...make sure every piece of internal is balanced.

effects on normal road and track...definitely ur engine is happier and can rev faster coz its lighter...but then u'll loose torque....especially when going up hill....like genting...:) maybe kelisa also can overtake u :P i got a fren his iswara fully balance and lighten the engine, can on par with stock GTi..but go up genting can loose to kelisa :P

tanxx alot everyone....lighten crankshaft do sound fun hehee...but flywheel??? any one tried it b4??...side effect??....pros? con??...how much??

Make sure to balance all reciprocating engines parts after lightening of crankshaft.

Crankshaft lightening involves shearing of the counter weights.

Highly moded VTECs engines have "Parang" like counter weights. :eek:

InitialD said:
Lighten your Flywheel instead.

I have lighten my flywheel from 7kg to 3.7kg.

Mate it with a cerametallic clutch like Triniti and the response is like rocket.
Woi. Got good stuff didnt tell me la. Very bad lah you. No wander cannot chase your car la. Dont know got what other secrets inside. Haih...
When want to bring me for a ride? Heheheh

expenditious said:
will lightening the crankshaft make the car go faster....
or wat will it do...what are the side effects....
im driving a satria gti...

how much is it...

Gti crank is very heavy my fren, just go for it. And do remember to balance it back. Compared to flywheel lightening crank lightening is more advisable, you can feel the significant improvement on your car "pickup".

oraittt....will take that advice v8_nutter....
i hope nothing bad happen heheh...
yeaaa i hope to improve my timing....
thanksss...