Looking for advise on RX8

Very soon I will be an owner of a 2003 RX8. Liked it when I read about it in the auto magazines and fell in love with it when I saw it in the flesh. Had a thrill when I drove it. Now that I am getting one, been surfing the web to get info about the engine which I know nought about.

Saw a thread in a US auto forum that said the following:-
i. should use non-synthetic oil only for the engine;
ii. should check engine oil as often as pumping petrol as it runs out quite fast; and
iii. should rev engine up to 3000 rpm before switching off to flood engine with oil especially after very short trip;
are the above fact?

Further, what's the best petrol for these type of engine? I am not so much bothered about the running cost but more so about the tlc I need to give to the car.

Experts and current users out there, please help. Cheers :tee:

P/s any user in JB that I can meet to talk to and the place to service the engine? Saw one silver JJJ ?? recently.

Hi mrhjb

We have a number of rotary people in jaybee where you might get some useful tips for yer new RX8.... We are planning to meet up on 29/12/05. Feel free to join us and we can definitely share with you some experiences as well as mechanics that work on rotaries. PM me yer contact and I can put you on our list. We are also in close contact with the MRS lot where we regularly meet up for some events. So it will be interesting to have some more people in the group. In response to yer questions, I am sure there are few threads around regarding the type of oil to use. As for me, I will stick to semi-synthetic although some people might beg to differ :P

As for engine oil, I don't think you really have to check it that regularly as pumpin petrol.. duhh... I don't but I have an FD, so not sure for an RX8 although their engines are similar. I guess the general rule is to check if yer oil is black or still somewhat clear, and change oil regularly at its defined intervals.

Regarding the engine flooding, I think installing an auto timer will help with clearing away any excess oil that may wet yer spark plugs. Maybe some sifus here may throw in a few pointers.

Hope this helps.

Adios.
:P

mrhjb,

>>>semi is good... I heard someone did go FULL syn.

ii. should check engine oil as often as pumping petrol as it runs out quite fast; and
>>>once a week to be safe.Coz eng oil are use to lub the rotor and it tent to deplete gradually. Err right?

iii. should rev engine up to 3000 rpm before switching off to flood engine with oil especially after very short trip;
are the above fact?
>>>It aint gonnna work for rotary. Infact this will flood the engine with petrol. I think this question was posted somewhere. Run a search on it.

donKey is right, please join us, next week gathering.... Ok?

mrhjb said:
Very soon I will be an owner of a 2003 RX8. Liked it when I read about it in the auto magazines and fell in love with it when I saw it in the flesh. Had a thrill when I drove it. Now that I am getting one, been surfing the web to get info about the engine which I know nought about.

are the above fact?

Further, what's the best petrol for these type of engine? I am not so much bothered about the running cost but more so about the tlc I need to give to the car.

P/s any user in JB that I can meet to talk to and the place to service the engine? Saw one silver JJJ ?? recently.

Thanks guys. Hope will be available to join you guys. My contact no. is 012-7868168. Don't think will get car by then though. Running to JPJ 2moro to get car number. :smile:

its good to have an rx8 owner in our group. you need not worry bout technical help as many owners here have long standing ownership with rotary powered vehicles and be more than willing to chime in when needed.keep us posted when you get the car!!

Baaah, you can join us even without your RX8 dude (you will be getting it anyway)

Do try to keep yourself free next thurs nite yea...

mrhjb said:
Thanks guys. Hope will be available to join you guys. My contact no. is 012-7868168. Don't think will get car by then though. Running to JPJ 2moro to get car number. :smile:

jason i will not be able to make it for the JB RE trip. my car will be going under the knife for some pretty extensive surgery. after operation i need for her to rest and recover. Hopefully if all goes well we can arrange for a trip down to JB!! Lets start planning after you Jan trip. I'll table this proposal at tonites meeting and see how we go!!

Guys, so where and what time is the meet in JB on 29th. Can't wait to talk to you guys. Need the advise for the tlc needed for my new sweetheart. Sms me the location & time at 012-7868168. :rock:

mrhjb said:

are the above fact?

mrhjb
Join us at rx8club.com http://www.rx8club.com/forumdisplay.php?f=38 at the Malaysian database we have a few members in johor as well, i think they will be a lot of help as they are driving rx-8s as well.

i. most of us use fully synthetic ( i'm using Motul 300v competition 15w-50)
ii. I check mine every 2 -3 weeks good enough
iii. I just normally let the engine warm up before any trip minimize the chances of a flood
(been driving an rx-8 for one year and still loving it)

petrol wise most of use use the normal shell there is no difference btw v-power and the normal ones octane are the same actually. i get roughly 480kms on shell so far the best fc compared to others

rotaries are mostly the same all over. there have been debates going on for engine oils. most ppl use Castrol GTX 20W-50 which is what i use. reason is that full synthetic oil are too thin and it may cause leakage to older rotary engines. some uses full synthetic and does find it pretty good and no leakage was found. i guess is just luck at times.

check your oil frequently. rotary are high combustion engine and it WILL consume a little bit of engine oil instead of just lubricating. the correct amount is a quart every 500 miles. that's the distance between L-F on yer dipstick.
*sorry...pls do the conversion yerself. i'm too lazy.... :P

^^said above by boonyloh is true. make sure you warm the engine up. don't kill the engine off after a short trip like driving yer car out of the porch for a shower. make sure the tempreture meter is at the standard operating tempreture.

gasoline is also another thing where many debate of. rotaries in FC can go as low as 87 octane. In Malaysia, all u find is 97 for green pump. In BP 92 is the blue one. reason: high octane causes excessive backfiring for rotaries. it may not harm the engine, as long as it is not detonation. some mix kerosene to drop the octane. i don't do that and i don't know about the mix ratio.

few more advice:
-break in a new rotary well. pretty sure u can find information about breaking it in from this forums or other rotary forums.
-never overheat the engine. don't even do it once!
-a redline a day keeps the mechanic away. after the engine is break in, make sure u redline the engine everyday. not overrev but merely touch the redline.
e.g. mine redlines from 8000-9000 rpm. i push it to 7500-8000rpm once every day.

why redlining it?
rotary are high combustion engine, once again. combustion creates carbon. high combustion creates more carbon. carbon kills rotary. to prevent, redline to push those carbon out from the engine. :D

hey tks for the advice,its helping me loads."My" RX-8 has reached 20500km allready,the last service was at 9975km..lol dah lama dah overdue nie

Tell me something sensei aspec_fc about the viscosity thing thats all my smart friends talking about.I remember my dad's old Silvia S13 got some problem with certain engine oils
He concluded that certain fuel have different viscosity which effect the engine responses..

Please answer taiko

eh....don't call me sensei or taiko lar... not qualified yet. i'm only sharing what i know. man...u really need to change yer engine oil. is only doing the engine harm. lower viscosity engine oil kinda meant lighter oil in weight. for example if u use 5W 30 engine oil, u'll notice yer car revs up to about 4000rpm pretty quickly (feels light) but it doesn't pulls as hard as it should be at the higher rpm. heavier viscosity such as 20W 50 pulls hard at higher rpm giving u all the Gs u need but respond a tad slower at lower RPM.
during winter, lighter visosity is needed as the tempreture kinda makes the oil heavy and resulting slow reponse in engine. so, u don't want heavy viscosity engine oil during winter. it kinda makes heavy oil MUCH MUCH heavier. but in summer/Malaysia, i personally find that heavier viscosity suits the engine better. this is also because rotary is high revving engine and it performs best at high rpm range.

hope i answered yer question

tengkiu.oh macam tu rupanya so my dad was right.. ok
taiko ke sensei ke,orang lagi tua kena hormat..im just 17 anyway,ppl would think im showing off i dont respect ppl though i know some things bout cars lah..lol

father always pesan,see smart ppl,act stupid,learn from them
hahah father's son lah katanya..hahaha

Guys,

Discovered this in the 8 owner's manual ( 2005 US version, bought from e-bay), only use unleaded fuel with octane rating of more than 91 or above 96 RON. Do not put any fuel additives or add cleaning agents unless approved by Mazda!

In terms of engine oil, it is recommended to use SAE 5W-20 oils. However, note that this is a manual for the US. I am using 10-40 Petronas and so far (3 weeks) and no problems or any loss in performance.

The recommended scheduled Maintenance for change of engine oil + filter is every 4 months or 8,000km, whichever is earlier.

Now my question, anyone taken the speed limiter out from their 8 and where and for how much (preferably in JB)? Mine can go fastest at 187km/hr, after that it can't go faster. Any risk in doing this?

you can..if its a downhill hahahah
so far i hit 192kmh before in :-

(you know the PLUS highway in the Kuala Lumpur heading towards Damansara?There is a slight downhill after the interchange that points either to Ipoh or Johor Bahru.Went there in 3.50 in the morning and did an WOT session.We managed to hit 192kmh there.