Loud S-flow mufflers

kweng84 said:
i read an article regarding backpressure.. backpressure is not useful in any case...we change exhaust system to minimize backpressure... we r worried only when the exhaust gas get cold inside the pipings and causes the engine power loss on pushing the heavy cold air out of the exhaust pipes...thus, bigger pipings will cool down the air faster if it is a n/a car..

yeap.. tats why ppl say dun totally eliminate backpressure ma.. still need at least SOME. but not too much...:regular_smile:

Im driving a wira 1.5 auto fuel injection
Want to change my muffler and maybe the piping to 4-2-1
Im staying in SS2, PJ
Anybody know where to get things done cheap nearby?
I went around that day but could not find
Im in a tight budget
So what will be the cheapest way?
I want an improved engine performance and nicer sound la
But not too loud as the police n jpj very hardworking lately ler
So around how much for the 4-2-1
And also for the muffler
Thank you

yo guys i am researching about 4-2-1 also

there are 2 types of 4-2-1 right?

1 is the 1st and 4th link together, 2nd and 3rd link together

2 is the 1st and 2nd link together, 3rd and 4th link together

and is there 1 link to 3 and 2 link to 4? lol no idea

so which 1 is better?

421 extractor... i recommend Zenden because cheap and nice..hard to find chrome extractor with 'that' price...pm kent20 for best price...

nitrus: ideally, we would like to have null backpressure..but we cant do that..what we can do is just minimizing it...

gohkokeng: zenden xtractor is using 1-4 3-2 design...the power is obvious after installing the extrator and bullet...

tuckz: u can use zenden xtractor and bullet...then go to my regular place in setapak for 50bucks installation for both xtractor and bullet..do new pipings to maximize ur exhaust flow rate(shouldnt exceed 15% than ur original piping) and muffler wise,if u take straightflow, ready to accept the noisy atmosphere in ur car ...else, take sflow...thats what this thread is talking bout...good sflows will not give any sound unless u rev until 5k-7krpm... get some aftermarket stuff...dun go for exhaust shops in kampung area as they might install cap ayam stuff for u even it is sflow..and that is what loud sflow will come out...bad quality mer ;)

But where do i get the zenden extractor n bullet?
Must i buy it den bring to the shop?
Dont they have it there too?
So roughly how much will be the cost?
So if i get straight flow, even if i dont rev, during normal drive it will be noisy?
I see some honda v-tec normal drive they have a nice sound also
But when they rev, the F1 sound comes out
Does this mean they use S-Flow?
I actually want moderate sound anbd makes a nice sound when my rpm goes up

gohkokeng: yeah there's such combination (1-3 2-4).

check out this site. very informative.
http://www.team-integra.net/sections/articles/showArticle.asp?ArticleID=50

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/showthread.php?t=36392&page=29

ZENDEN= kent20

tuckz: ask for best price from kent20....regarding muffler, vtec kicks strongly when the revv...of coz the sound different ...if u wan something soft at idle ,sporty when rev...get something like zenden n1...bout the products, u might need to find fstrader from jian hang motorsports...this sifu will help u find a good muffler i supposed ;)

tuckz said:
But where do i get the zenden extractor n bullet?
Must i buy it den bring to the shop?
Dont they have it there too?
So roughly how much will be the cost?
So if i get straight flow, even if i dont rev, during normal drive it will be noisy?
I see some honda v-tec normal drive they have a nice sound also
But when they rev, the F1 sound comes out
Does this mean they use S-Flow?
I actually want moderate sound anbd makes a nice sound when my rpm goes up

when they have F1 sound it is because of,they reach 5.5k rpm Vtec
(Variable Valve Timing and Lift Electronic Control)
start operating....so defenetly the sound is coming from the engine not from the muffler/exhust system..

more infor from:
http://auto.howstuffworks.com/framed.htm?parent=question229.htm&url=http://www.leecao.com/honda/vtec/index.html

http://auto.howstuffworks.com/question229.htm

so in the case our normal 4G1x Engine is uncompareble with Vtec Engine no matter on sound/speed

Kent20, how much will be the cheapest way to mod it?
If i change the muffler only first leh?
What will be a value buy muffler?

now you got PTEC already ma..hahah chin chai la..
Proton Technology

hehe...gary's wira auto can be saved liao... he will get back the pick up by adding a bullet with silencer inside which make 1.2" inlet for 4 inches length...then he will shift zenden bullet more near to the extractor and add the new bullet in the middle...and logically thinking, pick up will be surely come back and middle end power by 421 and a bit high end power with sflow...nice setup...all things can be done with RM XX only.. cheap la ...i went to talk to him my ownself...special price..

i was wondering if lai exhaust in SS2 or Wai Heng in Subang will accept credit card
Because sometimes it is quite costly

subang branch i dunno la
but setapak guarantee dun have...mayb their new shop will have...

tuckz...wat u did ? until u need credit card in such places? if u go JFA motorsport then reason acceptable la...but wai heng place need cards meh??? lol:) u dun kena tipu wor...

aiya...u can ask ppl how much the things u wanna install..pm here la..sure got sifu sifu can answer u ...or maybe u get them from merchants here la..jian hang ,zenden..u name it u got it...

i plan to get zenden edi
but dunno how much the shops charge me for installation
usually just install s-flow muffler, how much they charge for installation?

After seeing the posts
I realised the center bullet is to minimize the sound
Is it really true?
Will it create more power for the car?
Thought of getting a center bullet and s-flow muffler
But if i want a nice n moderately loud sound, is this setup right?
Coz the sifus say s-flow is silent n bullet will minimize sound
Or i need to go for a straight flow
And also whats the standard price to install muffler n bullet
Coz planning to get zenden edi but need to plan financially also