Lower Arm

simplythebest

Hi :rolleyes:

If lower arm has this ekk ekk ekk sound, if don't change a new one is it ok? why there is ekk ekk ekk sound? bent? :unsure:

Mine used to have this problem. My mech said its not dangerous, just the worn out mounting or something creeking. Change only when you feel like it loh... just dont use it for like forever until it breaks la, use for like a few months should be no prob. :)

oh? yesterday only i found out that when i press my left rear suspension side..got ekk and ark ark ark.....

I think ur bushing worn out already so there is direct metal contact. last time my arb bushing worn out also got that sound.

lolz last time drift drift ended up right side of car in longkang cuz understeer lower arm have to change 100+ only mah for protons absorber also tukar haha not a scratch on the body.

Originally posted by Charles@Sep 22 2004, 17:34
absorber got leakin?..if not...check the bushings.
Yeap, maybe the absorbers too. Gonna change a new one in 2 weeks time. If there is still ekk ekk ekk noise .. then early next year only I change a new lower arm. :lol: .. still not sure absorbers or lower arm and also the bushes (but bushes no prob I'm getting new absorbers so everything is new :D :lol: ). Hopefully after changing the absorbers everything is ok. :D

Thanks all. :D

actually the rear suspension system got how many arm ??
how much to change all??
because my car 10 years liao still not yet change the arm (except the ABS)
any one can help??

Originally posted by badguy@Sep 24 2004, 12:23
actually the rear suspension system got how many arm ??
how much to change all??
because my car 10 years liao still not yet change the arm (except the ABS)
any one can help??
The rear one is bigger than the front, front (left, right), rear (left, right) so all together 4 pcs. For protons, front one piece should be around RM 60. :rolleyes:

protons' original lower arm bushings are not so good. Go chopshop and get the original Mitsi lower arms... the Japanese bushings are tougher. I felt different when driving using Japs lower arms.... better control of the car.

Front RM35 per piece, and rear oso around that...

STB : do it the cheapest way first..u might not know the cheapest stuff is the prb of it..lower arm if condemn still can be driven but it is oni irritating..make ur car looks old and junk..haha..and yes get a good one imported from japan..second hand oso no prob i guess..depends to ur luck le..good luck

what if like.. got grug grug grug sound? i get it sometimes when i go over to 1 utama's new parking lot (they have all that tiles thingy)

that could be ur brake pad rubbing the disc rotor. mine was like that, very loud until i changed to new brake pads. basically the pads thin liao

mebi ur sterring rack got free play..alot of possibilities dude..culd be abs kong ... lower arm i dun think so cus it will produces eek eek sound..but im not veri sure if thats the oni sound cus i experienced b4 lower arm kong ..