Lowerin my ride

M3NG

Thinkin of dropping my height but dunno whether to get just springs or the springs and sport suspension or adj. suspension. Is the Adjustables worth the money? How about our local boys APM? Are they worth the money?

If anyone also drivin the same 1.7 civic and has the open heart to share their mods experience, tell me ya.

Adios
:rock:

from my exp...ECONOMY you should get springs only (++ comfortable, -- stablity)... AVERAGE your should get set of performance suspension system with nothing to adjust (--comfortable, ++ stability)... EXPENSIVE or a set of adjustable hi/lo, soft/hard (++comfortable, ++ stability, and extra advantage for those who own 2 sets of rims)...

If you prefer comfort u have to sacrifice stability and vice versa.... :wink:

Thanx for the replies...Hmm but I heard stock suspensions don't hold with race springs and will most likely blow :P Looking at spendin around 1.5k max for everythin so dunno what to get. Somore heard that a chamber kit is advisable as well...goodness...so many things to do to get a decent low rider ar?
Any brand preference that fits well with this car?

try japanese brand. after all, ur driving a japanese brand car.....expensive but worth it.... a set of adjustables hi/lo soft/hard will cost about 2k - 4k++ and i know that is serious.... u can try their optional sport spring...like TEIN. that is a very recommendable brand. no worries la bro..... the spring is the toughest part of your suspension system. if not check out TITAN suspensions.....fully customized and fully local made too... one of the best too....

I think you should first ask what you want...

if its just to make it look nice/ lowered.... than don't blow your hard earned money on expensive performance adjustables.... on the contrary if you want to make your car corner like nobody's business....

Here's the rule of thumb (for me la) when it comes to lowering one's ride:-

1. SAFETY to yourself, occupants and your car

2. Comfort

I'd go for adjustables anytime rather than using aftermarket springs etc etc...
APM is quite good. There are tons of other brands in the market. Check another of our local experts : TiTAN

If you're prepared to fork out RM2K ++++ then go for it. I think TiTAN will suit you cos based on your 1st post up there, I take it that you are not familliar with adjustables. The guys at TiTAN will walk you through in getting the correct setup in terms of height and damping for your car.

minivan said:
I think you should first ask what you want...

if its just to make it look nice/ lowered.... than don't blow your hard earned money on expensive performance adjustables.... on the contrary if you want to make your car corner like nobody's business....

True true...havent thought about that. Actually main purpose is to make it look nice and lowered like u said...but dun wanna screw the whole suspension up as well...and wear out my tires super fast...17" not cheap ler...
:hmmmm2:

17" rollerss ??? ouch !!! Then you're gonna need super duper good shocks......with 16" and above you're difinitely gonna lose some degree of comfort..

crower75 said:
Here's the rule of thumb (for me la) when it comes to lowering one's ride:-

1. SAFETY to yourself, occupants and your car

2. Comfort

I'd go for adjustables anytime rather than using aftermarket springs etc etc...
APM is quite good. There are tons of other brands in the market. Check another of our local experts : TiTAN

If you're prepared to fork out RM2K ++++ then go for it. I think TiTAN will suit you cos based on your 1st post up there, I take it that you are not familliar with adjustables. The guys at TiTAN will walk you through in getting the correct setup in terms of height and damping for your car.

Almost on the dot with the criterias dude. But I got one more to add: Tyres unevenly wearing out

Heard a camber kit is needed if gonna change the whole suspension system. Where can I find this Titan fellas? Damn newb here :P

Appreciate all the info! :top:

crower75 said:
17" rollerss ??? ouch !!! Then you're gonna need super duper good shocks......with 16" and above you're difinitely gonna lose some degree of comfort..

Serious ar? :eek:
Okla, comfort not the most important priority to be honest...looks, safety and whether it's freakin worth the time lowerin...dun wanna go screwin up the whole car in the end...keke

crower75 said:
go for 15"s ....cheaper, lighter, more comfort.

Nola dude, I switched from my 15's to 17's and now change back ar...erm, cannot la...looks on the car velly important..

Silly but sadly true...

M3NG said:
Thanx for the replies...Hmm but I heard stock suspensions don't hold with race springs and will most likely blow :P Looking at spendin around 1.5k max for everythin so dunno what to get. Somore heard that a chamber kit is advisable as well...goodness...so many things to do to get a decent low rider ar?
Any brand preference that fits well with this car?
I'm using APM too, dun expect magic from it, but its decent if you are looking for a comfortable and height adjustable suspension. But after sales service sucks ler...

EGfan said:
I'm using APM too, dun expect magic from it, but its decent if you are looking for a comfortable and height adjustable suspension. But after sales service sucks ler...

Hey EGFan, how bout cambering? did ya need to for ur car? how is the overall ride and noise level of the suspensions?

bro,

I believe only in BILSTEIN + eibach or BILSTEIN + H&R (stiffer a bit)
becoz... I'll for comfort plus stability... BILSTEIN will bring u there...

other brands... are exceptionally good... but... sadly to say... adjustble is not for me.... coz no comfort at all... esp w 17" rims... with my driving styler... nANTI dashboard jatuh loorrrr

SnooPDoGGY said:
bro,

I believe only in BILSTEIN + eibach or BILSTEIN + H&R (stiffer a bit)
becoz... I'll for comfort plus stability... BILSTEIN will bring u there...

other brands... are exceptionally good... but... sadly to say... adjustble is not for me.... coz no comfort at all... esp w 17" rims... with my driving styler... nANTI dashboard jatuh loorrrr

Ofcourse la SnooP..u rich guy can laaaaa

U had Bilstein and Eibach made custom shocks for you huuu huuuu