Malaysian Road Car hp & performance inquiery

• Fixed New Thread missing Editor: Hi Everyone, the issue with posting a new thread or a reply that shows a missing editor has been fixed. More updates to the forums will be added on in the coming days, we apologize for the inconveniece this has caused

pcdr

i was juz wondering this for quite sum time,ive seen a lot of supercars(moded cars,not those luxury italian)on the street,mainly in hartamas and few other main places but i was juz wondering,is it normal/safe/ok to drive a 600hp car for daily use,im sorry if this topic have been discuss b4,but i cant find any related to it in a way

and btw for a 600hp car,hmm skyline for example wat is the estimated 0-100 time and 400m time,its not that i wanna get a 600hp skyline(mayb i would)but first i must know if its well suited for road driving.

and wats the highest hp figures u ever heard of malaysian Fully Road Car,i mean with seats in it,wit all the essential bits to make sure jpj wont mess wit u(except engine)

plus to make a 600hp car in malaysia,what will the cost be like,im kinda interested in modding car for daily use and ocasional hammering,actually i got my eyes on honda s2000,IF i decided to turbo it wat would be a rasional figure of hp for it.

im sorry but im kinda new guy to car scene,but i am very into it,im the type of guy who dont mind spending for passion.and as im new to the scene is there by any chance any weekly meeting for car to test power or sumting?heard they been doing some draggin somewhere around kl area,can any1 pm me the info,i really wanna see malaysian scene.

thanx in advance,and dun fire me,im a newbie,i came to learn,lets make it a pleasent experience...ciao

600bhp or so machines are not that ECONOMICAL for daily run. thats for sure. and i dont think I ever need those high powered rides at all, even for my weekend drive.

as for me, for daily run, decents like Unser, Waja, Picanto, or even Kancil is just fine. all you need is that a car which will give you the form of transportation from point A to B, and back. safe and comfort.

for weekend drive, something pleasant like S2000 or Celica or SLK would be nice.

well, the case might be different for rubber burners, right?

Depends on what you enjoy..its all up to personal preference.A 600 HP car will never be easy to control and fuel consumption will be a killer.

A S2000 to see 400 HP is hard even with turbo.Unless you convert your engine.

SLK and Celica is too tame for certain people and in my opinion,its a saloon car in a coupe body. Something like a "posers" car. =P

A S2000 wasn't built for 400hp it was built for the track and good handling. People who want ridiculusly fast cars in a straight line would buy a Skyline or Supra instead of a S2000.

A Celica GTS happens to be a close rival to a 98 spec Integra Type R DC2, in my books i wouldn't say that its a poseur car just 'cos it looks flashy.

SLk ... no comment.

There is a website you can check out which calculates estimates 400m or 1/4 mile dashes.

http://www.tunercalcs.com/

Have fun with the site i did. Just take into consideration there is no driver error and no environmental differences to take into consideration. But its semi accurate if you want to try it out in your own car at night with cool air and dry surface.

I know someone who daily drives a 400bhp Euro saloon car. Pretty civilised for daily use ;-)

Deacon, from a Driver's satisfaction view a Celica ain't no match for a ITR DC2. The DC2 is one of the best FWD car money can buy. Dynamically the Celica is nowhere near

horsepower sells car, torques win races....

depends on the power-to-weight ratio la... an iswara with 70bhp is underpower... but if kancil with 70bhp is good power....

big car, 200bhp above is good...
medium size car, 120~150bhp...
small size, around 100bhp...

but then, no one will ever be satisfied with the available horsepower... even if u cant handle that much power, boasting about it in front of ur friends do make u proud... haha....

a 150~200hp car would be just nice for daily driving edi...power to overtake is good enuf...occasionally take the car for a run on sundays for exercise =)

gee guys thanx alot for all the reply,yall been supportive this far.....

well i have to agree on the part where u need a normal decent car to get to point A n B and yeah i do think 600hp is abit toooo much of power.

but juz out of curiousity,is there any skyline for example on malaysian road rocking 600/500 hp,bcuz i heard some1 said his fwen has a 500hp++ road car skyline,he said the fwen is living in ss15 or sumthing like that,juz need to clarify.

and car track day normally held at sepang and pasir gudang,is it weekly basis,i love trackdays,i even went to last track day in sepang during the sg track day,looks heaps cool,is there any other track to play ur car legitly and how much is the charge?

thanx again in advance to all ppl

HanJackaL said:
A celica is a poser car because its all looks and no go.

haha how apt.

There are many monsters prowling on the road. Some are in this forum too :omg_smile:

yeah?

HanJackaL said:
A celica is a poser car because its all looks and no go.

yeah? celica is good. got looks. but, no go? wah. dont go for the auto ones. try the manual.

rm100K plus abit quite good lah for that thing.

celica is nice but i dun kinda like the rear end....its me tho

Celica no go? Have you ever driven a super strut 2 Celica GTS manual 6 speed 190bhp? If not reserve your comments and shift your brain to neutral.

Yes a DC2 is a better car but for a mass produced competitor the Celica GTS is good bang for buck. I stand by my claim ;)

good daily drive/track day ride would be a 4g93p putra with manual transmission. good torque band and decent handling. :D

yes, i'm biased. haha. satrias are alright too. :)

mayb the celica's reputation has bein ruin by most of the presense of "raja apung" no?thus making alot ppl thinkin its a poser car rather than a fast car simply bcuz of its sleek look,but then again few celica owners surely driving it more towards fast driving rather than showing off.but since majority is using it as a show car MAYBE thats y ppl think its a poser car.

well for me i think of it as a poser car when the driver is a poser,other than that no problem,its a nice car man cmon,the looks is cool,ive seen some simple mods wit bodykits on it and im like,omg wth dam cun wei.but sum is juz.omg wtf.....ah beng betul.....not offending any1 in this forum but thats how i feel and im sorry to express my sincierity....

guys try not to fight over it,even if u wanna have a fight,lets do a healthy fight where no blood shall be shed

yours truly

Well at any rate i'd rather drive a celica gts than my POS satria gti with half done mivec heads :P

well, at least celica is an affordable sportscar, although the performance not really up to par with other sportscar....

it is still a head turner compare to gti or any other proton....

Preference for a certain type of car is a very subjective thing. If it is Celica Vs Integra, i would take integra anytime. Nothing beats Vtec in na form. However if u r driving a turbo car, changing into a celica would not be suitable if u r into performance and spirited driving. I wouldn't trade my junk proton turbo just for more cosmetic appeal. To me, i prefer cars with a subtle look and big performance like M3 and evos but not wannabe sports car which looks like one but suffers underpowered syndrome. Sadly to say, a true sports car would not be having this malice.