Mechanical Engineering vs. Automotive Engineering

I actually like both Mechanical and Automotive eng.... but i still dont really know what each of them does....
but it doesnt matter anyway... still got a long time for me to gather more info.
if can, maybe take both automotive and mech eng... but its gonna be veerrryyyyyyyyyyy tough.... and long too

Originally posted by AE-86+Mar 21 2005, 15:13 -->
QUOTE(AE-86 @ Mar 21 2005, 15:13 )
Originally posted by AE-86@Mar 21 2005, 15:03
Originally posted by AE-86@Mar 21 2005, 14:48
--QuoteBegin--e f i n i-
@Mar 21 2005, 14:45
Hmmm so lets see....
First i take diploma on Mech engineering, which only covers the stuffs on general...
then later, take a degree on mech engineering?

Kinda in a dilemma now... take automotive, but dun get taught on engine internal parts manufacturing... but.. getting a degree on Mech eng. specializing would kinda sort out the prob, wouldnt it? is it that degree on mech engineering covers whats taught in automotive eng. and also plus manufacturing?
i dont wanna like... take automotive then dunno anything bout manufacturing....
or is that in another different specializing degree, like bro escaflowne said...
However, when u r in ur degree,u can choose to major in automotive,aerodynamic,thermodynamic,manufacturing,material,aeronautical.
aiseh man... really blur now laaaa
[snapback]827324[/snapback]​

:lol: :lol: :lol:
[snapback]827341[/snapback]​

not bully lah....actually mechanical got lot of apportunity in work....they are many type of work that need mechanical knowledge but automotive is different....if u study automotive...then after u finished the course then u have to work for automotive line only....but mechanical is different....u can either work for factory,workshop,machine shop or even automotive also can.... :lol:
[snapback]827401[/snapback]​

yeah...i agree wif this....anyway...if u really wish to furthe rur studies...pls choos the courses that u prefer....do not regret.~~~!!! :rolleyes:
[snapback]827440[/snapback]​
[/b][/quote]

yeah....u have to think for future bro....choose wisely...don be like me...i m regret what i choose...i study automotive engineering but now i m not working as a mechanic but designer....damm pissed off cos the salary too low already....i can survive...

Originally posted by AE-86+Mar 21 2005, 15:28 -->
QUOTE(AE-86 @ Mar 21 2005, 15:28 )
Originally posted by AE-86@Mar 21 2005, 15:13
Originally posted by AE-86@Mar 21 2005, 15:03
Originally posted by AE-86@Mar 21 2005, 14:48
--QuoteBegin--e f i n i-
@Mar 21 2005, 14:45
Hmmm so lets see....
First i take diploma on Mech engineering, which only covers the stuffs on general...
then later, take a degree on mech engineering?

Kinda in a dilemma now... take automotive, but dun get taught on engine internal parts manufacturing... but.. getting a degree on Mech eng. specializing would kinda sort out the prob, wouldnt it? is it that degree on mech engineering covers whats taught in automotive eng. and also plus manufacturing?
i dont wanna like... take automotive then dunno anything bout manufacturing....
or is that in another different specializing degree, like bro escaflowne said...
However, when u r in ur degree,u can choose to major in automotive,aerodynamic,thermodynamic,manufacturing,material,aeronautical.
aiseh man... really blur now laaaa
[snapback]827324[/snapback]​

:lol: :lol: :lol:
[snapback]827341[/snapback]​

not bully lah....actually mechanical got lot of apportunity in work....they are many type of work that need mechanical knowledge but automotive is different....if u study automotive...then after u finished the course then u have to work for automotive line only....but mechanical is different....u can either work for factory,workshop,machine shop or even automotive also can.... :lol:
[snapback]827401[/snapback]​

yeah...i agree wif this....anyway...if u really wish to furthe rur studies...pls choos the courses that u prefer....do not regret.~~~!!! :rolleyes:
[snapback]827440[/snapback]​

yeah....u have to think for future bro....choose wisely...don be like me...i m regret what i choose...i study automotive engineering but now i m not working as a mechanic but designer....damm pissed off cos the salary too low already....i can survive...
[snapback]827514[/snapback]​
[/b][/quote]

dude try to apply politeknik....they have diploma mech engineering (automotive)

then later do a degree course...in local or private u part time or fulltime,,,,,politeknik damn easy.... half ackademic half practical.....so you wont lose interest....very soon... politeknik fees also damn cheap only rm200 per semester....must get bm maths credit then only can enter..... :)

kinda 'funny' seeing u guys sharing each other's point of view (not trying to be rude) but i've gone thru what u guys r going thru now. ;)

i'm a mechanical engineer and i've already worked for 4 years.
here's my point of view. if u really really really wanna go for cars and nothing else, i guess the choice is very obvious. BUT if u wanna keep your option open like what i did last time, go for mechanical engineering.
here's what i did. i opted Mechanical Engineering. its a 3 years course, did a twinning programme at Inti College. 1st year all engineering courses are the same (be it Mech, Elec, Civil). 2nd year onwards i went overseas (you can choose to finish your entire course here as well).
so during my 3rd year, i chosed Automotive and Power Plant. meaning to say its not a very specialised field, but at least u learn a bit here and there. in Automotive we learnt on Turbo/super chargers and ergonomics (how to design a safe car for the driver and passangers). Powerplant was more on thermo-dynamics, which is kinda boring n tough for me.

in automotive engineering, if u can't get a job, u'll be having a tough time searching around coz u're too specialised. on the other hand mechanical engineering has got a bigger scope. you can venture into design (i did design for SONY tv for the past 3 over years). mechanical engineering deals a lot of structural strength.

BTW i got an offer from Proton recently to do design for them but i rejected bcoz of some reasons. what i'm trying to say is, you can still venture into automotive even if you choose Mech Engineering. I have lots of friends in Proton as well, some in Lotus too doing design.

1 more very important reminder is, there's more to learn in the working world than your reference books in Uni. i've encountered many freshies who just graduated and they think they know hell of a lot... but in reality, they know only peanuts.
So don't worry so much on ensuring that you will learn on manufacturing side and things like that, all these can learn while you're working. mind you my uni never taught me anything on Injection Molding but in real life, you gotto know a lot on Mold before you do any design.

just my 2+ cent, hope you guys can choose the things that you like and be happy with it :)

Originally posted by Raikkonen@Mar 22 2005, 08:53
kinda 'funny' seeing u guys sharing each other's point of view (not trying to be rude) but i've gone thru what u guys r going thru now. ;)

i'm a mechanical engineer and i've already worked for 4 years.
here's my point of view. if u really really really wanna go for cars and nothing else, i guess the choice is very obvious. BUT if u wanna keep your option open like what i did last time, go for mechanical engineering.
here's what i did. i opted Mechanical Engineering. its a 3 years course, did a twinning programme at Inti College. 1st year all engineering courses are the same (be it Mech, Elec, Civil). 2nd year onwards i went overseas (you can choose to finish your entire course here as well).
so during my 3rd year, i chosed Automotive and Power Plant. meaning to say its not a very specialised field, but at least u learn a bit here and there. in Automotive we learnt on Turbo/super chargers and ergonomics (how to design a safe car for the driver and passangers). Powerplant was more on thermo-dynamics, which is kinda boring n tough for me.

in automotive engineering, if u can't get a job, u'll be having a tough time searching around coz u're too specialised. on the other hand mechanical engineering has got a bigger scope. you can venture into design (i did design for SONY tv for the past 3 over years). mechanical engineering deals a lot of structural strength.

BTW i got an offer from Proton recently to do design for them but i rejected bcoz of some reasons. what i'm trying to say is, you can still venture into automotive even if you choose Mech Engineering. I have lots of friends in Proton as well, some in Lotus too doing design.

1 more very important reminder is, there's more to learn in the working world than your reference books in Uni. i've encountered many freshies who just graduated and they think they know hell of a lot... but in reality, they know only peanuts.
So don't worry so much on ensuring that you will learn on manufacturing side and things like that, all these can learn while you're working. mind you my uni never taught me anything on Injection Molding but in real life, you gotto know a lot on Mold before you do any design.

just my 2+ cent, hope you guys can choose the things that you like and be happy with it :)
[snapback]829496[/snapback]​

reikkonen,i totaly agree wif ur point...u cant probably learn everything in uni...actually what everybody need is the cert,don u think so? without cert u hardly to get a job...this is serious....experience is to get from outside u work wif....in uni what u learn can be counted as basic lah....like rekkonen said peanuts.... :lol: :lol: :lol:

dude

go with Mech Eng.... reason being it's more of a general side of things mechanically. you'll need all the info from Mech E before u can venture into specialised fields like Automotive eng.

like in US, u can do Mech. Eng as your major degree... then take auto eng as your minor concentration. ;)

so... you'll end up having 2 cert... one for major and one for minor. :D pretty cool huh?

anyway, like esca said.... strong foundation is necessary especially in ENGLISH, MATH AND PHYSICS.

maybe i should do like topui said... double degree and get on mechanical eng. first...
but then... im only interested in car related stuffs... industrial machines... nah... not really... but then if like waht Raikkonen said... hard time looking for jobs if i go automotive.. :(
im not really into designing cars or what.. just wanna specialize in performance, and maybe a lil bit of bodykit designing....
its so hard this way....

should i just hop to auto eng. or take mech eng. first then auto eng. or just mech eng.?
if i chose the second... wouldnt it be too time consuming? if the first... how if what needed there are those taught in mech eng? but how if i chose the third... and im not taught what im expected to be taught?
i still kinda in doubt after what u guys have said...

mechanical engineering like u guys said is more versatile... but maybe its not versatility that matters to me, cuz i only wanna work with cars...
but like u guys said, only manufacturing is taught in mech. eng. and automotive learns

or like what bro esca said...
Originally posted by escaflowne
from wat i know...automotive din learn how to manufacture a camshaft.that is mech eng.

dun blur..it is very simple.. basically u r in diploma in mech eng.u learn nothing about cars( wat i said learn nothing about cars is, u din learn detail about engine,chasis,transmisstion etc etc).However, when u r in ur degree,u can choose to major in automotive,aerodynamic,thermodynamic,manufacturing,material,aeronautical.
So judging by the bold out lines... If i choose the take automotive in degree for mechanical engineering, i am taught of some, if not all, that is taught in automotive eng.?

just like bro raikkonen, he chose automotive in his mech eng.,third year...
but only force induction and ergonomics? i was expecting more than that....

or
is it what that is taught every other Uni is different than the others?

every uni teach the same thing.. dun worry to much la fren.. how about after your spm, come to inti college and join mech eng. with me..how bout that? :P

like raikkonen said, on the last year or sem, they ask you to choose what course you want to major in.. for you, automotive, no probs!! just make sure to pass all the finals and get the "CGP points higher than 3.5"..

i only dare to say..but me kinda "tak kena" enuf this time..LOL! :lol: :lol: :lol:

:(

:o :o waahhhh!! must get 3.5 and above to be secure...

that is a tough challenge.

doin my mech eng now. just finish 1st year in UMS. darn boring...
later on... going to get automotive eng. hopefully..

math and physic is not so tough as long as you do your exercises.

tell you the truth... i take mech just becoz i need the degree onli.. after graduate maybe i do other jobs... teaching or doin business

so bro efini....

if you come from a rich family.. you can choose the private uni becoz they are more specialize unlike the local uni.. if can u try to take overseas uni. but above all of that, experience is the main Knowledge u should learn.

cheers...

bazet, that points not a must la.. acctually that will make ppl respect you when you finish your study with great points...

everyone can get the certs, but they wont get the same points rite? .. so employers will look more on to who gets the most points.. :)

Originally posted by farique@Mar 23 2005, 10:34
bazet, that points not a must la.. acctually that will make ppl respect you when you finish your study with great points...

everyone can get the certs, but they wont get the same points rite? .. so employers will look more on to who gets the most points.. :)
[snapback]833167[/snapback]​

yeah...they will probably look at the points but not all employer look at it...some they like experience more than ur cert... :lol: :lol:

ok guys, heres the lowdown. this is my opinion after some research and through expirience. first yes automotive engineering (AE) is a branch of mechanical (ME) but crossing over from ME to AE takes more than just understanding how the engine works.

although theres are a few local uni and colleges that offer AE but because of its derived from ME, the outcome is a AE engineer that does not know the basics like tyres, how they are made and components that goes into making them. dont even think about asking them how diffrent parts of the tyre works and why.
this is one of the basics things that the ME engineering student lack. one of them even ask me how to jump start a car.

but there are good colleges like FIT or MFI that teaches the correct and complete subjects. but it is more of the basics and the diploma you get is for vehicle maintainance and repair. this would only qualify you as a automotive technician.

the real stuff will only start at the degree level where you will get to choose specific subjects that you want to focus on, aerodynamics and design, cooling, braking, manufacturing, ignition etc.

but to get to the engineers that works to built cars you have to be a PHd holder. of course expirience is one of the things they look at.

Originally posted by AE-86@Mar 21 2005, 14:42
i study automotive engineering in FIT at cheras last time....actually i should study mechanical engineering cos after u finished study u have more choice to choose but automotive just can concentrate in 1 choice....nth else.....
[snapback]827311[/snapback]​

whats your intake number la brother?

Originally posted by buck-7+Mar 23 2005, 11:53 -->
QUOTE(buck-7 @ Mar 23 2005, 11:53 )
--QuoteBegin-AE-86
@Mar 21 2005, 14:42
i study automotive engineering in FIT at cheras last time....actually i should study mechanical engineering cos after u finished study u have more choice to choose but automotive just can concentrate in 1 choice....nth else.....

[snapback]833394[/snapback]​
[/b][/quote]

my batch is AE/185 intake.....what bout u??? automotive engineering... :lol:

Originally posted by AE-86+Mar 23 2005, 12:12 -->
QUOTE(AE-86 @ Mar 23 2005, 12:12 )
Originally posted by buck-7@Mar 23 2005, 11:53
--QuoteBegin-AE-86

[snapback]833449[/snapback]​
[/b][/quote]

ooo, junior la. i'm a AE/164.

ok ok, after readin all of the stories, here is my opinion. u should just concentrate on ur spm first, as it is the most important of all... u need the result to apply to uni.. back then i wasnt so enthusiastic as u are.. good job!

any if im not mistaken, if u take diploma in automative engineering in UTM, u cannot persue degree later on (if u are chinese).. that is according to my brother, he was in UTM doin diploma and quitted cos he found out that he cant do degree later on.. anyway, just my thoughts, dont know much, dont bang bang me if wrong yah? =)

maybe u can try some private uni in malaysia like petronas universiti, UNITEN, or MMU. these unis offers engineering and u can choose ur own majoring as well and there is automotive. its pretty cheap too, and it provides facilities as good as overseas.. as im in utp(petronas) now, im doing chemical engineering and it sure is very tough.. life is very tedious, stayin up at least 2am to finish works..

anyway, if i were u, i will just take mech eng first.. just get the damn degree first and do whatever u want later.. work your way up in the working field.. gaining experience is the most important and should be your first priority.. just my 2 cents, hope it might help

:) :) :)

Originally posted by buck-7+Mar 23 2005, 15:09 -->
QUOTE(buck-7 @ Mar 23 2005, 15:09 )
Originally posted by AE-86@Mar 23 2005, 12:12
Originally posted by buck-7@Mar 23 2005, 11:53
--QuoteBegin-AE-86

[snapback]833449[/snapback]​

ooo, junior la. i'm a AE/164.
[snapback]833972[/snapback]​
[/b][/quote]
nice to meet u here....cheras campus??? cos pj have 1 but i donno where is it... :lol: :lol:

OK...
here are my point of view as a Mech Eng. student. Currently I'm in final semester now (have to extend liao, suppose graduated already). Suppose taking Mech and Automotive but ended up Mech and Petroleum :P

Basicly ME did help a lot in AE to be frank. As for thermodynamics, in AE it is related to the engine (compression ratios, turbocharging, AF ratios, 2 strokes and 4 strokes). As for fluid mechanics, it involves in flow of the AF ratio of the car (PnP, exhaust pipe sizing blablabla), aerodynamics (drag force, lift). U'll learn also about parts (basic) calculations, heat transfer (related to thermodynamics, car cooling system, a/c) and material (involve with safety in design of the chasis, suitable material for engine block, light materials for car body). U'll learn also about manufacturing as this is part of the course. U'll learn also basic fabricating jobs using lathe and milling machine.
The most important is how u can relate what u've learn with the real situation. But still being an Mech and Automotive Eng u still have to rely on person with diploma in AE to help u out. Basicly it is a symbiosis relationship that will help both parties reach the desired outcome as both parties have advantage and disadvantage.

Hope this can enlighten you above ME

p/s: P_driver...which batch u're from?