Mercedes Kaki..

hey people... mercedes 110 owner here.. can i join the clan? i need to build up my mercedes to perfection beyond expectations.. but i am in scotland now. i am starting to collect information about the availability of body parts for the car... once i am back.. a major project is going to start.. info anyone one???

any info where i can spares such as brand new lights - front and back, new or second hand ; chrome trimmings but if not chrome it is ok as long in good shape, doors, booth, rubber linings, door-arm rests / full trimming which just needs conditioning.. in tacted dashboard with or w/o meters as long the dash is still in good trim condition and the wood work is good, if possible any info on how to make the front seat into left and right? because i want to drop in a japanese motor, so i need the gearbox arch for the shift-stick.. or any good mercedes engines which will fit in?? how about the 190E 2.3 24valve engine... but manual.. and my car is a column gear.. hope u knew that..

CHeers lads..

p/s: mine is the 200 4cyl petrol version..

Bro..my suggestion is that u just maintained the original engine as the original engine has beens erving the car since it rolled out of the factory. Very difficult to find a classic merc with shift stick gearing system.

yeah man.. i wish i cud.. there are holley webbers for mercedes here in scotland which can fit my twin carb engine.. but the engine has been rebored 3 times since factory production.. it cant be rebored anymore.. the piston rings are fried.. the cylinder walls are thin and the head is almost due for scrap.. and if i continue with the benz engine.. you tell me untill when will there be spares for that car? i am not destroyin the value of the car.. i am never gonna sell it... it has been in my family since the day it rolled out the showroom.. i dont think a japanese motor will kill it.. as i love great horse power and a sr20 motor will do just fine.. also it wud be better if i cud get a more powerful conti motor in it, but conti's are bloody expensive to maintain... you get my point?? why dont u recommend me a good conti motor, 4cyl with at least 200++kW... and as cheap to purchase and maintain as a japanese motor...

Cheers mate..

wanna ask, how to convert 230e to e230? what to change? how much? planning to upgrade my mercs

Hi Sarb,

If you want a 4 cylinder engine that would be at least 200hp, I'd say get the 2.5-16v engine from the 190E. They are at least 204hp and with room for improvement as well as it's a stick shift (auto available). Or the cylinder 24valve engines from the 124. They have good horsepower as well.

ignorex, No idea on the answers to your question unless you go to the shops and ask.

Hi guys
would like to ask about C200 kompressor year 2002.
are there any good modifications to recommend?
suspensions?, lowering,
type of tyre to use for more grip but not sacrifice too much comfort?

Nasscmw,

yeah man.. thats a good idea.. the 2.5 if i am not mistaken is a Merc's version of a "cosworth" rite? 204 horses is not bad.. for a n/a 4cyl 2.5.. there must be a lot of torque in there.. yeah!! i like!! but u know the jpj now days are a bunch of fannys!! can i get approval from a 2.0 - 2.5? i have no idea as i have been in scotland for a while now.. any sources for the half cut? i am damn sure it is gonna be hard to source.. and it'll be a wee bit too expensive..

Hi 0123,

You can find some parts for the C class. I think there's a shop called Sportline in Sunway. They might have some parts for your car as well as Kleemanns. I found springs for my car at a shop in Batu Caves, the brand is H & R. For your C class, I also happen to saw a C class that was modified to look like a DTM car. That was REALLY GOOD!! I think he used Carlsson Rims and Carlsson twin tail pipes as well. This is not the Japanese quality stuff, this is REALLY EUROPEAN looking stuff. And the bodykit was really awesome. IT's really damn good!! As for rims and tires? I think the thinner the tires the worst the comfort. That's my opinion anyway. I am using 17s, I think 18s can make your ride worst. But then tires are expensive anyway.

Hi Sarb,
I think approval from 2litre to 2.5 should not be a problem. And also you are using a Merc engine. A friend converted his 190E to the 2.5 Cosworth engine with no problems. I did that as well. As for the halfcut, you have to source it out and the key word is bargain. I called Stuttgart Halfcut shop, those cuthroats wanted 18k for the 2.5. I told them to forget it. I found another one for 12k and managed to bargain till 5k. Like I said lah, just bargain. Another friend did find another 2.5 for 7k. And I have seen two 2.3 Cosworth for 8k. Am sure can bargain.

rite.. how about the installation in a 1968 benz.. i mean the complexity of the wiring and gearbox? as it is the car is a column geared, thats what bites me.. how do we go about this?

Hi Sarb,

You're right, how do you change it to a column gear, and is that possible? Mountings might not change but you would have to check with the mechanic on this. But there would be ways to make it work, whether it would be easy or not is another question.

As for wiring, wiring from the halfcut will have to be transferred to the car. Should not be so much of a problem. But let's talk to a mechanic on this as only they can answer this question. You might have to custom make the long shaft and stuff like that.

A friend put a 2.3 Cosworth engine into his 123, that worked out fine but the block was similar to the 123's other engine.

I guess since you know what your options are, when you come back have to ask a mechanic.

there are 110 column geard automatic shifters.. but i dont think that will work.. but if the half cut is automatic, is the automation electronic (like modern days) or is it mechanical (connected directly to the gearbox) ?? if it is electronic then we can just mount it on the greabox arch.. but if its mechanical, a mother of a hole will have to be drilled..