MR-2 or prelude

drew1.0beta said:
93' prelude wif h22a is cool..but depends if u wanna get a t/charged cars or a Naturally Aspirated ones...
for me..if i were to decide these two..i'd go for prelude..cuz its a 4-5 seater..compared wif a mr-2 wif 2 seater..furthermore,its manual wif VTEC..
mr2..i'd get it if i've already got a car...cuz its 2 seater..and auto..powerwise..of cuz the prelude has it all..
converting from auto to manual is costly..if u wanna convert it to turbo, i'd rather get the prelude nad turbocharge it...since its RM7k diff wif the mr2..dump tht 7k into the prelude for turbo..ehhe
if wanna play drift, go for MR2!!
one bad thing bout preludes- ROADTAX! haha
thts just my opinion..hehe..
cheers and hope this helps!
chaoz!

why go for a sportscar if you need 4-5 seater? Prelude is a 2+2 seater and the 2 seats at the back has barely any room for adults

if talking about power, NA MR2 already packing about 180 ponies and will cost you approximately 6-7k to buy a turbo cut to swap in and you have instant 225 or 245 horses depending on which model of 3S GTE you get your hands on. Compare that to turbo charging a VTEC, first of all you need to find a mechanic who knows what he is doing and you will probably end up paying more

among popular believe, MR2 is not fond for drifting and instead more straight line power.

in terms of looks, mid-engined MR2 which had a lifespan for nearly 10 years says it all

i'd actualy say tht MR2 owners and prelude owners should not have a say
coz both will say their car is better
hhahahah
let layman have their words

i kind of agreed with midship there. for me i'll definitely go for the mr2, its not as simple as me being a toyota fan, but if you switch the badge of the two cars, i would go for the "honda mr2" and ditch the "toyota prelude" if you really wanna compare XD.

just a few reasons, pretty much my own preference and taste:
- MR2 looks way more gorgeous compare to prelude, i mean the shape is just so pretty that you wanna look at it a few times more. An mr2 zooming pass me in a flash will attract my attention, while the prelude looks great too, but i would probably have missed it.

- MR2 has an mr layout, how many other cars on the market has them? I know that i don't really need an MR layout car, but its the uniqueness that attracts me.

- having tons of power in an FF car makes it hard to drive also, same with just about any other car. mr2's stock body can handle just that much power, thats why you see the turbocharged version with 3sgte also had the engine detuned to lower hp even when they have higher hp 3sgte. And with mr2 kinda easy to have snap oversteer as in teh older version, too much power is a bad thing too.

- refer to the last reason, "snap oversteer" characteristic of mr2 kinda make me wanna drive it even more. maybe its just me loving challenges.

- v6 NA mr2 is way cool XD....

i do agree if,why bother if seat is the problem? better buy kancil.. more space + can bring people sit inside to compared with prelude or mr2. even tho prelude is 4 seater,but behind, even dog also cannot sit. behind sit is just for looks only. no use at all..

mr2 n prelude both are = SPORTS CAR .. in terms of sports car .. off coz POWER/PERFORMANCE + 2 SEATER only .. u wont bring all ur family,uncle,auntie,friends all ride.. u will bring ur GF or WIFE to ride next beside u. or else u drive alone.

Definations for sports car:

a small low car with a high-powered engine; usually seats two persons

Prelude & MR2 both have pros n cons,good n bad.

what i always say is

"your money,u decide whats the best"

honestly IF you have to ask... buy prelude.

most would be midship owners knows what they want (mid engine RWD drivability).
they just know. not to be blunt but of course everyone will have their field of pro & cons.

Of course there are owners who may be clueless on whats ahead (mid engine / snap oversteer drivability) & may wondered if they are making a right choise.

i didnt care if some considered Mk111 as ugly but as I know very well the reward of the "drive" far exceeds the "perceived" uglyness. mods are something to consider. brand attachment could also "personal"

FF or RWD. your heart knows.

both AW111 and SW20 are sleek looking sportcars, as for the MR-2 Spyder, foooh....I've been dreaming to own one, not just because of the looks, but also the considerable lightweight, reasonable power plus it's handling ability.

Here's a general useful tip:

If you are into spirited driving and decide to push the car once you get it, and you don't know how a midship will react or wanted a more predictable driving, get the prelude, its "safer" in a way.

snap oversteer of earlier sw20 is very unpredictable when you drive it fast, proves to be hard even on seasoned driver (even tsuchiya spin out in an MR2). Later sw20 fixed that, but the steering response is not as sharp as those of earlier version, which means it made it feel less sporty.

Brother... the NA MR2 is not 180 HP lar... the 180 HP is the beams engine... which only came out in 1997... Malaysia only got 1.. the Normal MR2 N/A engine is churning only 145 HP lar... which is actually quite standard lar for a 2.0 engine .... the prelude which is a 2.2 is churning out 190-200 HP.. depending on modifications and is running on a low compression engine.... H22A is an engine filled with potential.. and is up to the owner to push it to the max....

Though if u are getting an MR2... u should look out for those with targa tops... as those cars are pretty old and the rubber hardens... the targa tops will leak lots of water into the car during heavy rains... I experience this in my friends car and apparently all MR2's with Targa tops face the same problem... the only way to solve is to change the rubber... but where in Msia u can find a new rubber for ur targa tops lar.... :p

Both these cars are great choices... and again it would depend on the buyers preference at the end of the day.... no doubt that both cars are sportscars therefore practicality is thrown out the window.... but then if u are driving it on a daily basis, then u would have to consider the practicallity of luggage space for ur stuff be it lap tops of work or such... MR2 is just a lil too compact for that.

MR2 ,2.0L = 145HP

Prelude 2.2L H22A = 190-200HP

wow.. lots of different. its like driving MR2 2.0L with 145HP .. just like driving GTI 1.8L only..

i dont know on MR2 parts n etc etc.. expensive n rare? might be?

but wat i know bout prelude. lots of parts. my mouth too tired to tell again n again n again ..

SPOON,MUGEN,FGK Fujitusbo,JUN,CROWER, bla bla bla .. lots lots lots of parts out there for prelude / H22A VTEC

* what i concern of buying sports cars like Prelude or MR2 is that:

1) is it easy to get parts? engines, h/cuts , bla bla
2) is there any mech who is good with this type of cars n engine
3) terms of HP-WHP, performance ..

If so, why not consider a better choice, an EK9. A b16b can pump out about 190hp without much hassle. It's a newer car with a lighter and stronger structure. It maybe slightly more expensive. But bear in mind you are paying a 1.6 litres road tax compare to a 2.2 litre's.

Like we've mentioned, an MR2 is a much nicer car to toy with whereas the Prelude is more to like a normal car. If you're looking for space, neither cars are good at it.

thteh86 said:
If so, why not consider a better choice, an EK9. A b16b can pump out about 190hp without much hassle. It's a newer car with a lighter and stronger structure. It maybe slightly more expensive. But bear in mind you are paying a 1.6 litres road tax compare to a 2.2 litre's.

Like we've mentioned, an MR2 is a much nicer car to toy with whereas the Prelude is more to like a normal car. If you're looking for space, neither cars are good at it.

* alo bro. the topic discuss is about Prelude & MR2. not bout asking buying other cars. if like that, better i ask the Topic Starter (Buyer) to buy EVO 7-8-9,Silvia S15,RX7,DC5,NSX or others.. :mouth_closed:

*EK9 B16B 190HP. better i ask the buyer to buy other monster with minimum 240hp,260HP,280HP,300HP,320HP,400HP.

sorry just my no cents at all.. :shades_smile:

mrbear said:
* alo bro. the topic discuss is about Prelude & MR2. not bout asking buying other cars. if like that, better i ask the Topic Starter (Buyer) to buy EVO 7-8-9,Silvia S15,RX7,DC5,NSX or others.. :mouth_closed:

*EK9 B16B 190HP. better i ask the buyer to buy other monster with minimum 240hp,260HP,280HP,300HP,320HP,400HP.

sorry just my no cents at all.. :shades_smile:
*bro, no offence, buying a car with a higher capacity but giving out almost the same horses, that's something different. A B16b is only 1.6litres whereas the H22a is 2.2, what's wrong with you?

Horses aren't everything k? Most people nowadays take horses so seriously that they think that without more horses or with a better car I can tapao anyone I want. Sure, straight road if you mean. But when you take something else into account such as weight? The Skyline can be a fast car, but a bulky car. You get what I mean?

I'm just suggesting that kinda car to prove that H22a isn't everything. An evo 7, s15, rx7, dc5, NSX...most of them are more than 2.0 litres other than the rx7.

problem is everyone wants a bigger dick. so the bigger the number the better.

so the bigger the HP number the bigger ego inflaming.

as i said, if one must ask, buy prelude. end of story.

mrbear said:
i dont know on MR2 parts n etc etc.. expensive n rare? might be?

1) is it easy to get parts? engines, h/cuts , bla bla
2) is there any mech who is good with this type of cars n engine
3) terms of HP-WHP, performance ..

just for everyone's reference for mr2.

1. Being a toyota, you don't have to worry about this. MR2's part might be rarer than other toyota if you want to hunt for them in halfcut shop, but if you are willing to spend on new aftermarket products, there's alot of them, even more if you plan to order online and have them delivered from USA.

2. Engine wise, its a friggin 3sge. Body wise, a car is a car, any good mech should be able to figure out what goes in where. so seriously i won't worry about this.

3. 3sge easily 240hp+ if you are rich and buy all the aftermarket bolt on part you can find, and 300hp is posible with profesional work. turbocharged no need say lar.. just look at top secret's 3sgte supra.

i will not argue about stock vs stock since it is a fact that vtec do produce more power due to a higher profile cam engaging at high rpm. but when you talk about all out racing, its really another matter already, involving tuning skill and driver skill rather than just which car is better.

*still jelous at titanium valves easily available to honda vtec but not toyota at the west.. grrr...*

koolspyda said:
problem is everyone wants a bigger dick. so the bigger the number the better.

so the bigger the HP number the bigger ego inflaming.

as i said, if one must ask, buy prelude. end of story.
thats why should bring out the torque figure as well...

hi all bros & cfoo!

few Prelude/Accord Performance Parts for SALE:

H22A ONLY!

1) MUGEN 4-2-1 Extractor (JASMA) no dents = RM1500 NEGO

2) TEIN FLEX 4PC Adjustable for Prelude,BB1-BB8 = RM2500 NEGO
TEIN FLEX 24 Adjustment points,high-low,soft-hard, good condition,bought brand new

3) GAB Sports Absorber 4PC for Prelude BB1-BB4 = RM1300 NEGO
GAB Sports absorber,custom made,can fit 4WS & NON 4WS + EIBACH Springs,bought brand new
(With Warranty) 50% Performance + 50% Comfort = Same like adjustables,but this is "SPORTS VERSION"

* other parts will be updated.
* for serious buyer only
* all item are 100% owner used,not h/cut,chopshops items
* all items removed due to upgrade to others,ie TITAN,bla bla bla..

thanxx!

thteh86 said:
*bro, no offence, buying a car with a higher capacity but giving out almost the same horses, that's something different. A B16b is only 1.6litres whereas the H22a is 2.2, what's wrong with you?

Horses aren't everything k? Most people nowadays take horses so seriously that they think that without more horses or with a better car I can tapao anyone I want. Sure, straight road if you mean. But when you take something else into account such as weight? The Skyline can be a fast car, but a bulky car. You get what I mean?

I'm just suggesting that kinda car to prove that H22a isn't everything. An evo 7, s15, rx7, dc5, NSX...most of them are more than 2.0 litres other than the rx7.

* if u said B16B only 1.6L and H22A is 2.2L. different is B16B is on EK9,how much is EK9? i ask u .. where H22A 2.2L Prelude is not more than RM40K?

is it EK9 is cheaper than Prelude? u buy 1 EK9 also can get 2 Prelude with H22A.

in terms u got RM50K cash in hand,not more than 50K price of cars u want to buy. Would i suggest u buy Evo9?

is it EK9 is cheaper than Prelude? u buy 1 EK9 also can get 2 Prelude with H22A.

lolx true true.. with the price tag of ek9, one can buy a prelude and turn it into some monster already...