My Engine got ECU or not ?

kent75

Hi all sifus,jz wanna know n ask u all whether my ZC Dual Carburetor SOHC Engine got ECU or not? Below is the pic of my engine bay....

a carburettor does not need ECU. on the other hand EFI does need ECU to calculate how much fuel must be injected according to input made by various sensors.

ohhh,so it means that fuel injection only need ECU n carburetor no need ? .. ok i understand..thx...

some particular carby do have injector which control by a ecu but it is very rare to find.By just looking at your pic it looks like just carby.

that ZC of yours dun have ECU ler... ahahaha... sidedraft twin keihin!!! yaaa dey... take that box filter off and replace it with two HKS 150mm Powerflow...

... I miss my Honda....

kopi,
yo man, i also saw ppl doing that way without pipping right ? how they connect the air filter behind the carburetor huh ?

escaflowne said:
some particular carby do have injector which control by a ecu but it is very rare to find.By just looking at your pic it looks like just carby.

it is actually a single point EFI. one injector at the place of carburettor and spray fuel accordingly for every cylinder needs. the injector cant think by itself, therefore needs an ECU.

99% of all cars now are using multi point EFI. meaning every cylinder has its own injector.
sumthing that proton is very proud of in the 90s...multi point ECI. he he he :lol:

yup it is carb...thus no engine management needed...hence no ecu...

escaflowne said:
yup zan..exactly what i want to said!! hehe ^_^

actually i dont know about this at all.

but i had read ur mind.... remember, i am dangerous!! :lol:

p/s i know u want Rm1 mil..am i rite or not?:D

yah yah... carby no need ecu... unless if u really want one, convert ur TB to EFi lo... then can add ECu adi...

hi all the sifu here.. wanna ask a super basic question here..what is ECU stand for and what the function?

If not mistaken stands for Engine Control Unit.

Functions as a brain to the car. As important as the brain to human body.

hahah ZAN!! wah..you are dangerous!! cabut cabut
ECU,electronic control unit if i'm not mistaken..
Yeah it is same as our human brain.

escaflowne said:
hahah ZAN!! wah..you are dangerous!! cabut cabut
ECU,electronic control unit if i'm not mistaken..
Yeah it is same as our human brain.

ha ha ha i was pulling ur leg laa... i cant even read my own mind.

thks bro kher and escaflowne... hmmm.. but how does it really function to the car..but human brain can think!!!.the machine think???..n do u mean all the car have ECU. Is there "good" and "bad" quality ECU sold in accesories shop. Can sifu explain specifically.thanks

ECU is normally an OEM item. comes together with the car from factory.

EFI is actually an intelligent system, designed to give optimum performance with good fuel consumption in return.
ECU is needed to calculate how much fuel must be sprayed into the combustion chamber.
the more the loading, the more fuel needs to be sprayed. but how? and when?

sensors do the job. for example water temperature sensor, cold start sensor, lambda sensor, throttle position sensor, camshaft position sensor (to determine piston TDC).
air flow sensor among others.

imagine like this.....he he he

in one classroom the teacher is the ECU. students are the sensors. when one student dont submit his homework, the teacher will take action rite? same laa..with engine.

when engine is cold, sensor will tell the ECU and ECU will increase the engine speed just like auto choke. ECU also function to reduce engine knocking during acceleration.