klipsch:
i'm just trying to give back to the industry what its given to be.. albeit it was a different country.. i started off with nothing more than interest in fast cars.. but it turned into an obsession that i struggle to control. so yes... we might be able to work something out.. i always believed in the power of people, provided they are given the correct direction and nurturing..
xtremeleo:
getting your hand dirty is a start.. but remember you have to keep asking why, when, who and how... you have you know why you did what you did..even if you followed someone else.. you have you ask why they did it..
to address your question regarding materials....
chassis materials in malaysia is terribly difficult to come by... but that is not to say its not possible... never underestimate the power that a university or an educational institute holds...
i only wish i had a university backing up my current ventures...
the first step is to find out what materials to use for your chassis.. if you plan to build a monocoque (and you really should) you need to speak to boat builders.. boats are usually made of composites, so they are the first guys you should speak to.. find out what proccesses they use (resins, composite weaves, cure times etc.. aluminium is an acception..which is why i think its the best way to go in malaysia).. if you take the conventional space frame.. you will need to find the treasured chromoly tube... we're talking cold rolled steel tube.. which is next to impossible to get (again.. if you can get it.. please let me know because i am dying to get my hand on it for my current projects).
i know that brian palmer from WRC (the guy thats popular for building roll cages for rally cars at exubrent prices in shah alam has the tube... but alas.. at far to large a diameter and gauge for FSAE)..
do not be fooled into using steam pipe (mild steel) for your chassis.. not only will it be weak it will also be extremely heavy...
the magic number you are looking for is EN704 is COLD ROLLED form.. at this point in time i can only find this material in solid and barstock form.. not in tube.
another serious problem with FSAE is that you get a new group of people each year.. so the developments are never recorded.. or some genius has an idea that goes way out of the direction of the car... so my advice is to keep tabs on the evolution of the car.. keep the direction certain and log everything that is of use.. so the new batch of students have a document to refer and to add to.. this ensures that teh car is ever so slightly different each year to satisfy the judging panel....
......................................................................................................................
now refer to the two pictures of formula varsity... no doubt alot of time, blood and sweat went into these cars.. so i salute those who put the effort into building these cars.. i've spent many sleepless nights building my own just to see the chequered flag let alone the podium...
these two cars lack the fundamental importance of a race car (among the other issues you guys have raised).. the chassis.. more importantly the torsional rigidity.. suspension and chassis guys will tell you that a perfect race car gets ruined by the driver and the engine.. this is because of the cavity needed to house these two items.. the example is simple... is you have a match box with the drawer of match in it.. it is a strong structure.. when you remove the drawer (where the matches lie in) the whole box becomes flimsy.. these two cars are essentially the match box without the drawer...
there is not enough triangulation in the chassis.. particularly where the engine lies and where the driver sits in.. if you disregard the shocks and replace them with solid shocks.. i would bet my ass on the line that the chassis would flex in bending and in twist...
so what happens then is that the energy needed to conduct the weight transfer from one shock to another is taken up by the chassis in twist.. hence resulting in an inefficient chassis ie a 'lazy' car....
i tell all my clients that engine power is important.. but it doesn;t win races.. you need balance..
but for what i see in F-varsity.. an overengineered, light chassis is the winning formula.. afterall.. how much power can you crank from a mat rempit engine?
not bad.. at least i got you guys thinking...
now the next step is to prove that i am wrong.. how do we measure tosional rigidity? afterall.. what i'm saying is just words.. we're all men of science.. how do we obtain a scientific result to prove that our chassis is indeed strong?
for those that think that aero at such low speed is unimportant.. let me refer you to this picture...
this is Monash Uni... they came in 3rd in FSAE-A 2008
heres my chassis in 2005/6
the areas where you see that have just gapping squares were filled in with carbon panels..
in a traditional space frame sense.. they would have had a diagonal member to connect the chassis at the nodes to spread the loads generated by the suspension..
not what you would see at F-varsity...
ideas starting to sprout now?
heres my chassis in 2005/6
the areas where you see that have just gapping squares were filled in with carbon panels..
in a traditional space frame sense.. they would have had a diagonal member to connect the chassis at the nodes to spread the loads generated by the suspension..
not what you would see at F-varsity...
ideas starting to sprout now?