'N' and 'P' for auto cars

' xZ "

i'm wondering will it spoil my engine or gearbox if I off my engine at the status of N for auto car, since all manual cars off their engine at N(Free Gear). While for auto cars, P is like it will stop your car at the ground so it can't move forward or backward. Sifus out there please explain..

If N or P, no problems... if D then u might...

got one time.. my car suddenly died when i jus put my gear into D at the traffic light... why ah?

acbc said:
If N or P, no problems... if D then u might...

so next time i can just off engine at N?
coz N so next time start engine and wanna switch to D dont have to go through R

i always off my engine when it is at N.Habit though for me...dun worry N is just stands for neutral,when you are driving a manual.Normally you can off your engine either it is engage in 1st gear or Neutral wert.Just the same

It wont spoil your gearbox, but put in P better so the car wont move, especially on a slope.

craziechild said:
got one time.. my car suddenly died when i jus put my gear into D at the traffic light... why ah?

low rpm......might coz due to cold engine.....haven warm up yet...

if u off engine N or off at P also no prob...wont harm ur engine......P eventually is engage in gear u electronically wen u start the car wont move but wen u let go the handbrake..the car still cant roll.....but D is first gear but wen start ur car jerks.....N is free gear..means the gearbox didnt engage any gear....so no harm done

If level at D, car can't even start! This is a safety feature. On manual, the car will jerk if gear is at 1st.

yalor... when put in D, means ur car is in gears... when u let go the brake, the car will automatically move... same goes to manual car.. try moving the car by slowly depressing the clutch pedal without pressing gas pedal... car also can move ma...

N or P is the same lo... N is more or less like free gear... but P stops the car with its gears... something like when u park ur car at steep slope, u tend to put into gears to prevent it from rolling down.. same theory here...

my rpm was around 800, air-cond was on, in the noon time when i was on my way back home... so malu la tht day...

can explain more on the pressure thing ah?

craziechild said:
my rpm was around 800, air-cond was on, in the noon time when i was on my way back home... so malu la tht day...

can explain more on the pressure thing ah?

Check ur transmission fluid

p dont have to pull handbrake while n must pull handbrake.. all the same, p for parking... n for neutral

na_power said:
p dont have to pull handbrake while n must pull handbrake.. all the same, p for parking... n for neutral
I think for proton and perodua you still have to pull the handbrake. Its just not strong enaugh. I've tried it and on my friend's merc, you dont have to.

i also got bad habit always put at N mah but put Pis better so your car wotn me moving away hehe.....

acbc said:
If level at D, car can't even start! This is a safety feature. On manual, the car will jerk if gear is at 1st.

oppsss...ECU gone case liou...hhhe..yah D suppose to electronically stop ppl frm starting...

its actually not that sophisticated. every auto car have a device known as neutral start switch (also known as inhibitor switch) to prevent engine starting during in gears.