Need advice on tyre selection

nommiey

From Facebook
I need advice on selecting tyre size and brand of tyre to be used for my AE101. I really am new and still learning about cars. Currently using 15" rim. i don't have a big budget, just need for normal daily driving through the hill area.
1. What brand is quiet and have nice grip in all weather?
2.What size of tyre best for the car with 15 inch rim?

Hope anyone can help me with this. I m a lady driver and scare always get cheated when go to tyre shop to install new tyre. Thanks

I am in the market in searching for tires for my 15in wheels too.
Which I have shortlisted 2 kinds, Michelin Pilot Sports 3 and Bridgestone Re001. Which somehow it all depend on your budget.

regarding your question,
1. I highly doubt that there will a tyre which is quiet and nice grip in all weather. If there is a all rounder performer, it should be coming with a high price tag.
2. I will recommend 195/50/15 for you.

Which now, based on my shortlisted choice of tires, maybe you can go for Michellin Pilot Sports 3 which is bout 240-260 per pc. You may wanna look into Yokohama A drive, 210-230 per pc, pretty good overall performance just kinda noisy for me on certain surface.

thats my 2 cents, shall see what other taiko will say bout their tire choice later.

I need advice on selecting tyre size and brand of tyre to be used for my AE101. I really am new and still learning about cars. Currently using 15" rim. i don't have a big budget, just need for normal daily driving through the hill area.
1. What brand is quiet and have nice grip in all weather?
2.What size of tyre best for the car with 15 inch rim?

Hope anyone can help me with this. I m a lady driver and scare always get cheated when go to tyre shop to install new tyre. Thanks

:driver:go find for Bridgestone Potenza or MY01. 195/55/15 looks better if your car have lower not very down & its at reasonable price. gripp on all surface & weather.:hmmmm:{{dont drift at Pasirlah}}

Yokohama C-drive. It should not cost more than RM190 per piece -- just asked a not-so-cheap shop last week.

juz changed tires last week..
michellin pilot sport 3 RM245 per piece, 195 55 R15
if 195 50 R15 cheaper abit, RM215
for yokohama A drive and bridgestone MY01, not that worth, can only use till 50%, lesser than that, slide like hell
among these 3 tires, i still prefer michellin, for my last PP2, use until kena the safety spot handling still better than yoko A drive and bridgestone MY01

good price for good tyres. where did you buy your PS3?
you are right about A Drive & MY01. i would say hankook evo12 is better than them too. take a drive up & down genting can tell the difference among these 3.

PS3 and A Drive/MY01 are not in the same league.
MY01 is Bridgestone entry level sport tyre only, grip is so so, as well as A Drive. While PS3 is Michelin's ultra high performance tyre, you would be surprised with its dry as well as wet grip performance. IMHO.

You may also consider Kumho KU36 for track use and KU 31 for daily use. Am using KU31 for daily driving, thumbs up!

erm, no one here is comparing PS3 with A Drive/MY01....

we all know PS3 is in different league altogether. my wild guess of A Drive/MY01 for 195/55/15 should be around RM180?? for that price, might as well cough out another rm20 for hankook evo v12. Sunway Tek Ming selling for RM200 each for V12 this size.

btw, it has been 2 weeks. wonder if @nommiey has got her new tyres. if yes, which set did you get? if not yet, you can also browse through lowyat.net for latest tyre price list. quite up-to-date i would say.

glad you went with michellin PS3, i love mine too, havent really got a chance yet to put it to the test until RCA on 10 June:rofl:

Ivan,
speaking of that yokohama A drive, now I only realized why I keep having handling problem when i was on my old set. Thread looks ok but handling is horrible, tot it was just getting old and turning into plastic. And you got really good price on the PS3, i got mine at RM230 a pc of 195/50/15, where did you get yours?

falken ze912 also not bad..have tried it. very good in dry n wet..i dunnola wats wrong wit me, but i think ze912 feels like ps3 huhu..coz now i use ps3..

falken cant perform well in wet...
sometimes in dry they juz slide like drift ass...

no compromise in safety and handling... as it's the only contact with the road...
using Potenza Adrenalin RE001 195/55/15...:biggrin:

using hankook ventus v12...very good and no complains so far...got it for rm200 at tek ming...tested both on wet and dry, so far so good!!! much better than any falkens which i've used...