need advise on GSR

wildboar

me running on 0.8bar...lately for the past week or so..my car cannot 'go' like it used to...when i whack the throttle, as the rpm climbs, the car will jerk or semput when it reaches say abt 4-5k rpm...was running fine previously...a bit difficult to describe..its like this (i illustrate by using the sound fr exhaust):

prraaaaaaaaaaaa (until abt 4-5k rpm) pa-pa-pa-pa-pa (here it starts to jerk)...
sumthin like this la...car doesnt actually jerk...but like not enuf fuel supply...i dun think its anythin to do wif turbine cos boost meter shows the boost level at 0.8bar...im thinkin it has sumthin to do wif ignition or perhaps fuel supply..just washed my t/b last 2 wks...

so wat could be causing this eh?? this is wat im thinkin...
1. need to change spark plugs (still using plugs & plug cables which came fr h/cut)
2. not enuf fuel?? i dun think its this unless fuel pump kong...
3. injectors clogged??
4. any other possibilities??

question:
1. wat brand of cold plugs (7) are recommended?? n wats the price like eh??
2. in case not enuf budget for cold plugs, wat others would be recommended?? bosch super 4 good enuff?? or iridium plugs??

If this only happen when you're boosting... then its pretty sure that its the fuelling of ignition that needs to be fixed. You actually answered your own question! :P
Either you lower boost or fix the fuelling and ignition..

Anyway, check fuel pressure and also maybe just 'upgrade' to a colder plug. Price wise its almost the same as the other plugs, just that rating is different, that is if you're not going for Iridium which will cost you between 180 - 200.

Originally posted by stuka@Mar 18 2005, 15:57
change fuel filter.
yaya,very true.this is normally people left out.
change ur plug also la.got money go for iridium.low budget just throw in normal plug.a worn plug will only cause misfiring and more carbon deposit.
also buy the injector cleaner additive.
after that see how is the result.as u dont boost over 0.9bar.i think u no need to up size ur plug heat range first because colder plug also cause more carbon deposit when idling speed/low speed.

hmm...im facing something quite similar...me rpm around 4K then like fuel cut...everything stops...only at 0.5 bar...also pa pa pa pa sound...misifirng i guess...my mech said spark plug....im going for denso iridium...so will let you know if it solves the problem..

what did your mech say?

last time my car had this symptom too,at first i tot it was fueling,but turns out to be clutch worn out tht causes the jerk,no pick up feel at all.tht time on 1st gear also it was jerking a bit,but din tot it could be clutch problem since i was using Exedy racing clutch and it memang jerks a lil bit on 1st gear when u're getting off from a halt

if yours only jerks at high rpm,then i guess u're rite lo,fueling :)

it could be a 2 things, electrical or fuel prob.

electrical could be ignition probs on mid-hi rpms, plugs, coil, dizzy etc.

fuel injectors, or fuel pump.

thanx for all ur suggestions...problem solved...it was the plugs...changed to ngk g-power...my plugs fr the h/cut kantoi liao...took them out n immediately knew it was the plugs causing the jerking...they looked like hell... :D

Originally posted by wildboar@Mar 21 2005, 11:28
thanx for all ur suggestions...problem solved...it was the plugs...changed to ngk g-power...my plugs fr the h/cut kantoi liao...took them out n immediately knew it was the plugs causing the jerking...they looked like hell... :D
[snapback]826669[/snapback]​

yo bro.. ur NGK G-Power won't last long... trust me... get those iridiums spark plugs... currently I'm sourcing for it.. Price would be around RM220 for 4 pcs... how is interested please drop me a PM I will order it for u will a small deposit.

Originally posted by ftzone@Mar 21 2005, 17:49
yo bro.. ur NGK G-Power won't last long... trust me... get those iridiums spark plugs... currently I'm sourcing for it.. Price would be around RM220 for 4 pcs... how is interested please drop me a PM I will order it for u will a small deposit.
[snapback]828019[/snapback]​

i oso wanted to get iridium plugs ma..but now kinda dry ler...u used g-power b4 ar?? lasted u how long?? should b ok oso ma since the tip is platinum...

wats the heat range for denso iridium ik24?? u got notice any significant effect after using ik24?? or issit just dat they last long??

wei, wat plug cables u using ar??

The plugs look good.

Have u checked and set the correct plug gaps?

Wrong plug gaps causes miss under boost load.

yeah seriously the plugs looks like there is notting woring with it . my plugs also that kind of colour , but much lighter colour .

brother ez ,
the g power not iridium meh ?

well, ive neva actually used a set of plugs to this extent before...but then again perhaps plugs take much more beating in turbo engines compared to n/a (my previous 4g13p)...this is the 1st time im changing plugs since my transplant...n oso these plugs were fr the h/cut..they din look 'healthy' to me...i've neva seen plugs this banged up b4 ma... :D

vestax..the g-power is platinum, not iridium...price difference is huge....

for me,i've changed to a new set of plugs,forgot wat brand dee,but its those normal ones tht u can get for RM20+ to RM30+ la....after only 10,000km, took it out to check,quite banged up also,then changed to Bosch Super 4,coz din have budget for iridium plugs mah :)

I think use the spark plug brand that came stock in the engine,not sure what the correct gap is.One range colder doesnt hurt as well.Cheaper la than using iridium.

in workshops usually they have the fuel gauge thing,where they check the pressure(connects near to the fuel rail somewhere) so they can check wether fuel pump is malfunctioning or not.

If u do a power run on the dyno,its even easier to check.If the a/f shoot straight up to lean,then the fuel pump dead(danger),if it shakes alot like(as if got earthquake haha),then its ignition problem somewhere.

hope u fix the problem soon

i got the ngk iridium from one stop option. for around 180 for 4...

alex..u going for the cable soon?

Originally posted by S1997@Mar 22 2005, 11:10
i got the ngk iridium from one stop option. for around 180 for 4...

alex..u going for the cable soon?
[snapback]829929[/snapback]​

not till they kong... :D