Need help regarding carcare for an Evo 7

NOTHING MUCH....JUST TAKE CARE OF THE GEARBOX ESPECIALLY THE CENTER 1. EVO 7 HAS COMMON PROBLEM ON THE GEARBOX.....DONT SPRINT YR CAR TOO OFTEN ESPECIALLY WITH RACING CLUTCH...

Hi Voodoo,

who did you lias with to get the car from japan? how did u manage to check the condition of the car? I'm asking coz I'm looking for one too. but so far cant find any suitable one, or maybe I'm looking in the wrong places. :(

Hi hi, no major upgrades planned as I dont have the budget to do so. Any recommendations for the first upgrades? And also does it increase petrol consumption. As for how I get it... I got a cousin whos into car dealing, selling exotic cars so hes got lots of contacts. If you are really really serious about buying a car tell me i can help you ask my cousin. Ask only if youre really serious cause my cousin hates it when i find him customers that just wanna ask and not buy. Ive had a lot of encounters of those hehe.

voodoo,

budgetting yourself is a wise choice. Prices will vary depending on oil brands and also on what you are going to replace... ie. transmission, transfer case, rear axle, engine oil? etc......

7th son,

what kind of oil are you running on in your tranny and axles? i am very confused of the oils now, especially on the transfer case and the rear axle. i've heard of people using Motul 90W-140 GL-5 on the rear axle, which is way out of the original specification. And yes, raptorie54 is right, there are so many vii's blowing their transfer case.... i presume that is the type of oil that is used in it. Hopefully it aint a manufacturer's fault.

Besides this, the only setback i have in this car is the clutch. it really sucks big time.

Noti, you are right bout that clutch! Mine judder quite violently especially when releasing on sloped road, ramps... or it is the way I drive???
Voodoo, you may want to really look at the clutch. Ask for warranties.

Originally posted by VooDoo@Jan 14 2005, 02:08
Hi hi, no major upgrades planned as I dont have the budget to do so. Any recommendations for the first upgrades? And also does it increase petrol consumption. As for how I get it... I got a cousin whos into car dealing, selling exotic cars so hes got lots of contacts. If you are really really serious about buying a car tell me i can help you ask my cousin. Ask only if youre really serious cause my cousin hates it when i find him customers that just wanna ask and not buy. Ive had a lot of encounters of those hehe.
Yes man....i m very serios, currently also trying very hard to off load my current car as well.....

but like i said....i trying very hard to search for a evo 7, white color my prefered color, must come with sunroof and full xenon, possible nice rims n exhaust or some simple mods i dun mind....nothing drastic such as engine mods...

then maybe can let me know on the loan amount, interest rate or things like dat ?

hope i not asking too much..... :)

many thanks.

Don't forget you need to set aside some budget for insurance too. Mine 180K insured - premium payable about RM4950. Fortunately, my NCB is max 55% - that really save me a bundle :D

Another thing....I dug up this while looking for the insurance cover. Its about the taxes paid for the car -

CIF value (for freight and insurance calculation purposes) - RM116900

Base Value - RM21,932 - (???)

Import Duty - 100% 21,932
Excise Duty - 70% 15,324
Other taxes - 5,921
Total 43,206

How much is the car actually worth??? :unsure:

Okay thanks guys for the replies, at least my head is just swimming with facts and info now.. if any other problem should arise i know who to look for hehe..

DDgreystar what car are you currently driving, give me full details my cousin may be able to help you sell our your car just like how he did for my EK. And about the E7 you want, give me more details on how you want it... reg/unreg? stuff like that

Cheers

Originally posted by seventh_son@Jan 14 2005, 18:30
Don't forget you need to set aside some budget for insurance too. Mine 180K insured - premium payable about RM4950. Fortunately, my NCB is max 55% - that really save me a bundle :D

Another thing....I dug up this while looking for the insurance cover. Its about the taxes paid for the car -

CIF value (for freight and insurance calculation purposes) - RM116900

Base Value - RM21,932 - (???)

Import Duty - 100% 21,932
Excise Duty - 70% 15,324
Other taxes - 5,921
Total 43,206

How much is the car actually worth??? :unsure:
these values are mostly under declared. I'll have to check on mine too... all i know import duty was roughly bout 40k.

price for a used unit in japan for evo vii? roughly bout 1.1-1.5mil yen.

DDgrey,

my friend's friend just bought one from ming heng, at 176k, with varis front lip, rear boot, hks rs air suction kit and a little more nitty gritty stuff. better buy than what i got...sigh....

Originally posted by NoTiGuY@Jan 14 2005, 04:53
voodoo,

budgetting yourself is a wise choice. Prices will vary depending on oil brands and also on what you are going to replace... ie. transmission, transfer case, rear axle, engine oil? etc......

7th son,

what kind of oil are you running on in your tranny and axles? i am very confused of the oils now, especially on the transfer case and the rear axle. i've heard of people using Motul 90W-140 GL-5 on the rear axle, which is way out of the original specification. And yes, raptorie54 is right, there are so many vii's blowing their transfer case.... i presume that is the type of oil that is used in it. Hopefully it aint a manufacturer's fault.

Besides this, the only setback i have in this car is the clutch. it really sucks big time.
The oil spec for g/box and transfer case i'm using is Torco GL-6. It says - suitable for GL-4 and 5 applications. Good for drag, racing etc... all that marketing BS <_< A higher spec is not good you reckon?

This is all getting a little too technical for me.. dam need to read up more.

Noti, when you smoked the reflectors, does that affect the brightness of your headlights? or did you upgrade to HID xenon bulbs?

not that i noticed. i did not smoke the reflectors, i only smoked the clusters. the reflectors are still intact. My car came with HID, dont tell me urs didnt?

errr...mine came with yellowish beam. don't think its HID. Xenon should be white/bluish color right?

Would any of guys happen to know where the standard Xenon HID Kit for the Evo can be obtained? and the price of coz.

VooDoo,
My fren is a salesman with 'Jeff'. Same showroom. I was asking him last week as another fren of mine wanted to buy E7 also. He mentioned some potential buyer is in the process of loan approval and considered sold lor..lucky u bought it first. hehe..didn't expect it to be our ZTH forummer here.

Fyi..Evo uses H4 HID. Nothing as bolt on lar..all HID is also add on mah. There's no such HID for evo only. Correct me if I'm wrong but I remembered except for RS version, all GSR e7 comes with HID.

Xenon is just the brand anyway.

Hahah icic... yeah was lucky to be able to get to the E7 first hehe. All thanks to my cousin who seems to have loads of contacts here and there. So you're saying that all E7s should come with HID? I really have no idea on this, any other Evo owners out there would like to share their personal experience as to whether they have had an Evo with no HID at all? Cheers =)

Not sure about that - my GSR doesn't have HID. the brightness is ok but not the white/bluish color you see from a HID kit. Anyway, i checked with the manual - doesn't say anything about the HID is standard item :(

This is what it says:

EXTERIOR LAMPS
1. The large lens adjusted to the exclusive body has been equipped with model specific 4 bulb type headlamp incorporating front turn signal lamp, position lamp. The low beam is a projector type used as a compact but efficient wide light distributor.
2. The front turn signal lamp adopts an aluminum metal evaporated reflector to improve visibility.
3. The tail lamp and stop lamp make use of complementary colors to emit white color from the red lens to improve visibility.
4. The inner lens of the tail lamp has been set with a reflex reflector to improve appearance.
5. Rear fog lamps with outstanding visibility have been installed.
6. A high mount stop lamp has been installed to the rear shelf.
7. The lighting system is provided with headlamp auto-cut.

Specs:
High Beam - Halogen bulb HB3
Low Beam - Halogen bulb HB4

Ic... dam would love to have the HID lights.. still have not got my car yet as the guy buying my EK has just settled his loan arrangements yesterday so just waiting to finish a few formalities before I actually get my hands on it.. hehe. Anyway seventh, any idea where I can hook myself up with the HID light thingy? Oh and is the light beam that comes out from your car the normal yellow beam?