Need help with 3S-GE performance

Blowfish

Sifoos and uncles of toyota forums, I need some help. I've recently decided to part with all my savings in acquiring a year 95 corolla SEG with a transplanted 3S-GE Beams (redtop) engine. Thing is, I was happy with the performance after the engine overhaul for a couple of weeks only.

After that I added some light mods such as airfilter and a aftermarket extractor from Fujitsubo. Fitting the extractor was a total nightmare, but I found bliss in the performance once more. Again, it lasted no more than a week or 2. There was increments mostly in the low end range from the extractor upgrade. But it ended there. Car dynoed 174whp and 155 ft/lbs of torque at GT auto.

Thing I have in mind is, its very scarce in the market to find aftermarket cams for the NA redtop 3s.

My questions for the sifus here is whether I can implement aftermarket camshaft kits for the blacktop 3S (altezza) or 3sgte cams into my engine. Currrently I am looking at 264/272 cams for better response and a stronger mid and high end.

And all this will be tuned using e-manage from my satria.

Looking for advise before forking out the cash as I am still a student.

Edit, after checking with the guys at the GT, car dynoed 171 whp not 174 whp as stated. That's what happens when you leave the shop and not taking the sheets.

I will also not mod on handling parts as the car came with Tein's all over when I purchased it. Its rolling on 16" and Dunlop DZ101's which I am perfectly happy with.Other mods that came along included a ported head and a SAFC II which I am still utilising.

waaaaaa ... 174whp sommo u wanna complain kaa ?? hahahaahaa .. worst case scenario go plat 3SGTE lorrr .. NA car all got limitations on maaaa ..
back to your question .. well .. after checking with VISION MOTORSPORTS at bangsar .. apparently the part number for cams for the FF BEAMS same as the FR BEAMS worr ... strange i tot ... but i didnt order anything laaaa ... no $$$ maaa me ...
what kinda exhaust u using laaa ?? straight flow ?? piping size ??? ar u running stock ECU with the emanage ??? this engine very AIR hungry one .. even the change of type of air filter will affect its performance ... the stock extractors oso damm kow big liauu .. and u found after market ones to put in sommo kaa ?? waliauuu ehhhhhh ....

Sifu QiW, thanks for the input. I've been searching and reading a lot on this forum and apparently I think you are running the same engine as me. I've also checked and as I suspected, the cams are interchangeable between the FR and FF variants of 3S NA engines. As for the piping, I am running 2.2 inch following the stock route and using a cap ayam muffler. I got the extractor for a decent deal. I paid 1k for a fujitsubo header shipped from Aussie (used of course). Considering it made me 4-5whp I am more than happy to pay for it.

Currently the car is still running the stock ECU with an SAFC II. I haven't touched it ( previous owner punya kerja).

Sifu pls dun tease me, I am not rich or anything, still student. But I really have a lot of interest in this particular engine. If the cams work right, it should be the last mods on it.

although the part numbers may say the same thing .. but physically i can see they are not the same laa .. the vvti cam abit longer than the one without vvti .. so how can be same part number ??? unless u willing to spend some $$$ test test laaa .. hhehehehe ... then let me know the results oso please .. hahahaahaa

stock ECU with SAFC2 aahh ??? any difference or not ??? what other "wiring mods" u have done when running the SAFC2 ????

if it was my $$$ .. i would go for standalone ECU and not worry about cams just yet laaa .. not cheap .. hehehehe .. u mentioned your engine overhauled liauu .. surely u can see the cams not the same length maaa .. plus what kinda bearings etc etc u using now ?? stock ????

Bro, I am really not sure about the cams, coz when the overhauling was done, the cams were the last thing on my mind. And yes the bearing are stock. I've heard King makes good performance bearings for high revving applications but unfortunately I couldn't find any of them.

As with the SAFC2, I have no idea about the wiring format. It came that way and as for performance, I'd say is satisfactory. Why? Because I have not havent driven a 3S without an SAFC before.

The car is mostly stock, can you pls explain why a standalone is beneficial?

And I dunno if any of you guys know Mr. Benjamin Woon. He did his car in batu caves, not sure which workshop but his 3S runs on a toda high comp piston kit and 272 amuse cams and god knows wat japanese ECU. Doesn't hurt that he is a halfcut dealer la of course. Senang get parts. His 3S makes tonnes of power. We had a friendly acceleration and speed test. 1st - 4th gear, my SEG kena from his about 5-6 car lengths. Dulan gila. But wat to do, student no budget.

errr ... this mr woon .. he oso running 3SGE BEAMS FF kaaaa ???? with cams + standalone .. that one more than enuff for NA upgrades liauuu ... almost considered the ultimate NA upgrade .. hehehe

as for your SAFC2 with stock ECU .. i have done that b4 ... now running without the SAFC2 .. no diff in performance except pocket emptier when purchasing the SAFC2 laa .. aahahahahaaa .. unless u have done some wiring mods laa like i mentioned ... but even with that something else will be lost when u gain something laaaa ... this one thru my one trial and error ..

now my engine is not as healthy as it should be laa after so many years of trashing the car ... hehehehe .. dunno whats wrong exactly and oso dunno what to do with it oso ... but if we can always compare notes laaaa .. or compare car ... come to next ttt laaaa

Port the head and get a 3-angle valve job done. :biggrin:

u want extrapower for 3sge? nitrous it.. i've nitroused my 3SGE previously with NO ILL EFFECTS.. d only effect is brain damage and addiction
m
muahhaahahhaa

Bro MK, can I ask where I can get a proper head porting job done? As in they actually test the volumetric efficiency and have proper porting procedures. Most of the mechs here do with with hand grinding and I don't like the idea so much.

Nitrous ah BlackHowling? Don't think so ler for me. Cause I wan better linear performance.

well, linear performances can be gained.. but the significant change is not as apparent as d installation of the nitrous.. end of d day.. a person could spend almost d same amount.. but only for a fraction of gains..

;)

Blowfish, check with Toby or Thomas at GT Auto. Your options are only limited by your budget.

i agree with sifooo MK ... budget is the LIMIT !! huahahaahahhaa

...... I just got a car with one of my dream engines, already got comment to drop in V8. Haiihh.

I will be sure to call Toby when time and my wallet permits.

TRD got Group N-spec for 3s-ge. Here is the link...http://trdparts.jp/english/parts_engine-3s-ge.html

group N ?? hehehehe .. budget baby .. budget .. :p

That's for the Altezza's 3S-GE. Not all parts can be used with other 3S-GE/GTE.

Note : The SuperGT GT300-spec 3S-GTE uses some of those parts.

Blowfish said:
Sifoos and uncles of toyota forums, I need some help. I've recently decided to part with all my savings in acquiring a year 95 corolla SEG with a transplanted 3S-GE Beams (redtop) engine. Thing is, I was happy with the performance after the engine overhaul for a couple of weeks only.

After that I added some light mods such as airfilter and a aftermarket extractor from Fujitsubo. Fitting the extractor was a total nightmare, but I found bliss in the performance once more. Again, it lasted no more than a week or 2. There was increments mostly in the low end range from the extractor upgrade. But it ended there. Car dynoed 174whp and 155 ft/lbs of torque at GT auto.

Thing I have in mind is, its very scarce in the market to find aftermarket cams for the NA redtop 3s.

My questions for the sifus here is whether I can implement aftermarket camshaft kits for the blacktop 3S (altezza) or 3sgte cams into my engine. Currrently I am looking at 264/272 cams for better response and a stronger mid and high end.

And all this will be tuned using e-manage from my satria.

Looking for advise before forking out the cash as I am still a student.

i get to know that blue emanage not suitable for 3s-ge but diff with emanage
ultimate