NEW car paint, how to take care?

ok in the general market, a polish and a wax are similar items, they clean and protect.

however, on another level, a pure polish is just a blend of oil and other chemicals which enriches the colour of your car. it does not clean the paint at all.

the same goes for a pure wax, it would not clean the car paint also. it is like adding a layer of clear protection onto your car to protect it. If you get acid rain, bird shit, the wax would be the layer to kena and nto your paint, hence protecting your paint. a good wax will make your car look shinier and deeper.

so if your car is new, even 2 months old, i am sure the surface is not as smooth as a car in show room condition liao. rite? this would mean that dirt has landed on your paint and got trapped there. if you wax your car now, it would seal the dirt underneath the wax. and will continue to be there unless it is removed.

The safest way to do that would be to use a clay bar to remove that.

if your car is dirty as in has some small scratches or birdshit marks etc, you would have to use a paint cleaner to remove it. after that, you can polish and then wax.

the best time to protect your car is when you get it. a lot of work done the first time woudl save you a lot of work in the future when you polish and wax again.

a car new from factory would most certainly have paint that is cured. it is only when you get your car repainted that you have to be careful. we dunno how much mixture of paint and other things the painter use (which can affect drying time). And it can be that the painter finished painting that afternoon and you collect it a couple of hours later.

I guess the only reason why painters always give excuses of having to wait two weeks or two months after you collect your car is they themselves do not follow mixing instructions or even bother to read the instructions. hence they cannot say for sure when will the paint be fully cured. Most modern paints dry pretty fast anyway. Do you think the painters will dare to compound the car if the paint is still soft?

Originally posted by popiah@Oct 1 2004, 13:54
ok in the general market, a polish and a wax are similar items, they clean and protect.

however, on another level, a pure polish is just a blend of oil and other chemicals which enriches the colour of your car. it does not clean the paint at all.

the same goes for a pure wax, it would not clean the car paint also. it is like adding a layer of clear protection onto your car to protect it. If you get acid rain, bird shit, the wax would be the layer to kena and nto your paint, hence protecting your paint. a good wax will make your car look shinier and deeper.

so if your car is new, even 2 months old, i am sure the surface is not as smooth as a car in show room condition liao. rite? this would mean that dirt has landed on your paint and got trapped there. if you wax your car now, it would seal the dirt underneath the wax. and will continue to be there unless it is removed.

The safest way to do that would be to use a clay bar to remove that.

if your car is dirty as in has some small scratches or birdshit marks etc, you would have to use a paint cleaner to remove it. after that, you can polish and then wax.

the best time to protect your car is when you get it. a lot of work done the first time woudl save you a lot of work in the future when you polish and wax again.

a car new from factory would most certainly have paint that is cured. it is only when you get your car repainted that you have to be careful. we dunno how much mixture of paint and other things the painter use (which can affect drying time). And it can be that the painter finished painting that afternoon and you collect it a couple of hours later.

I guess the only reason why painters always give excuses of having to wait two weeks or two months after you collect your car is they themselves do not follow mixing instructions or even bother to read the instructions. hence they cannot say for sure when will the paint be fully cured. Most modern paints dry pretty fast anyway. Do you think the painters will dare to compound the car if the paint is still soft?
DAMN AGREED !!!!

Thats y we must use a branded pure polish to polish car.
Pure polish wouldnt cut off the paint..

an affordable choice would be mg dcs step 2 pure polish and step 3 pure wax. about 29 to 31 each. of coz, wouldn't hurt if u go 3 step all the way.... :D step1 paint cleaner, step 2 and step 3. but be prepared for a painful arm at the end of the day. :P

Originally posted by popiah@Oct 2 2004, 09:20
an affordable choice would be mg dcs step 2 pure polish and step 3 pure wax. about 29 to 31 each. of coz, wouldn't hurt if u go 3 step all the way.... :D step1 paint cleaner, step 2 and step 3. but be prepared for a painful arm at the end of the day. :P
so popiah,

like my post at autoworld there,

so i use the MG NXT Tech Wax is enough? :rolleyes:

the polish i use back my Amway Silicone Glaze polish... :P

boleh? :lol:

y not. always try to see what gives you the best results. you can try part of a bonnet with silicon glaze only, part of a bonnet with silicon glaze and nxt wax and part bonnet with plain wax.

see which is better. try viewing the sun under the sun and see which results give you the best finish.

you have got the nxt wax? good choice, its really easy on and off. minimal effort needed to remove it.

one very important thing, use a good cloth. you wouldn't want the cloth to cause scartches after spending so much hard work on your car.

good luck. and if possible tell us how it went. and pics would be appreciated. :P

pls apply all polish and wax on a cool car surface under shade, not under the hot sun. let nxt sit for about 15 to 30 minutes for it to dry, then buff off. if you really semangat, you can add another layer of nxt immediately or wait till the following day and then add another layer of nxt. The polymers needs a few hours to bond on the car surface. so it is important to keep the car surface away from birdshit and rain for at least 1 to 2 hours. In my case, I usually do 1 layer of NXT and follow with another layer 3 hours later. Apply thinly coz it is expensive
I had a bad experience once.It rained when I just finish applying the NXT and it has not dried yet. Half the car got wet. Later when I buffed off the wax, could see some spots on the finish. Require more effort on those areas to rub off the spots.

If the car finish is shiny enough, you will notice when you park it under a light, a lot of insects will land on your car since it is shiny and insects are attracted to shiny things like lights etc. :D

And good thing about a slick finish is when it rains and your car gets wet, all you hav to do is go for a drive, enjoy your music and let the water flow off the car. :lol:

Originally posted by popiah@Oct 2 2004, 10:49
y not. always try to see what gives you the best results. you can try part of a bonnet with silicon glaze only, part of a bonnet with silicon glaze and nxt wax and part bonnet with plain wax.

see which is better. try viewing the sun under the sun and see which results give you the best finish.

you have got the nxt wax? good choice, its really easy on and off. minimal effort needed to remove it.

one very important thing, use a good cloth. you wouldn't want the cloth to cause scartches after spending so much hard work on your car.

good luck. and if possible tell us how it went. and pics would be appreciated. :P
hihihi, not yet buy the MG NXT Tech Wax... :P , currently PK kao kao, yesterday receive a call by the painter, they ask me to go and look at the bumber bracket, sighz, have to buy new 1(RM65), somemore those bumber clips. the clips can only buy from Honda only, somemore RM5.50/pc and need 11pc. WTF... then i teach them to use screw to replace the clips, the screws all only RM1.50... cheap siao~~~ :D

hmmh, no $$$ to but other wax, MG is the BEST liow... :P
but i got the Cosway wash and wax car shampoo... :lol:

i think i just wax my car after received my car. do a thin layer 1... later when CNY near liow then baru polish and wax 2 layer... hihihihi...

the perma glass cloth ok? or those cheap polish cloth ok?

:D

sorry to hear about your bumper. the pins cannot be reused after sprayinf your car? y have to get new ones?

a good 100% cotton cloth will do. i personally find the permaglass cloth a bit too thin. it gets clogged with polish material quite fast. So if you want to use permaglass cloth, make sure it is safe fo ryour car and get at least 4 pcs.

you can search for a thread on the cd test which you can read up. it will help you decide if your cloth is really safe. the link is http://users.boardnation.com/~shinycar/index.php .

Originally posted by popiah@Oct 4 2004, 08:10
sorry to hear about your bumper. the pins cannot be reused after sprayinf your car? y have to get new ones?

a good 100% cotton cloth will do. i personally find the permaglass cloth a bit too thin. it gets clogged with polish material quite fast. So if you want to use permaglass cloth, make sure it is safe fo ryour car and get at least 4 pcs.

you can search for a thread on the cd test which you can read up. it will help you decide if your cloth is really safe. the link is http://users.boardnation.com/~shinycar/index.php .
all the pins cannot use back, previously bumber got langgar, so the metal bracket senggek and it break most of the clips...
and the previous farker painter didnt told us about this, the bracket senggek liow still paint use back, until now the oringinal bumber leg all spoil caused by the senggek bracket...
now go other shop spray then baru realise this thing...

fark that paint shop!!! :angry: :angry: :angry:

My advise will be before wash with cloth...spray away all the solid things away from ur car first like the big sand...after that u wash with cloth and shampoo...thats what i did to prevent to scratch my new paint..as my putra just got a new paint..metallic black...and i wax once every 2 week..use kit wax..ok ?

calling popiah, calling popiah~~~ :P

i just found some info on meguiars website which make me feel scared when i wanna wax the new paint on my car... :(
here is it, http://www.meguiars.com/faq/_index.cfm?faqCat=Product%20Questions&faqQuestionID=38&section=_38#_38

or maybe i wax my father's new car 1st, his car is around 1 and a 1/2 month old liow, since is a new car which come by factory, so the paint must be able to wax liow. :D

is it i really need to wait 2 months to wax my car with the new paint? or shorter time? cause malaysia weather is hotter then US, so the paint will be dry/hardern faster...
1 or 2 weeks is enough?

:(

Send it to glare polish with 18 months warrantty.

http://glare.com.my/

Few friend and myself done that.
Pretty coolz. Check it out. ;)

Originally posted by banq@Oct 5 2004, 13:25
Send it to glare polish with 18 months warrantty.

http://glare.com.my/

Few friend and myself done that.
Pretty coolz. Check it out. ;)
no $$$ la bang... :(

just receive my car today...

the car was silver colour, but unfortunately there some places looks like got some white colour habuk-habuk on it (look like haze stick on the paint) this can be easily spooted when having direct sunlight on that area. its looks like those paste compound habuk stick on the paint already. is this true?
i wash with clean water but it still there... :( how to remove this?

and some place got a some swirl mark too... :(

how to remove these ar?

will WD40 harm the car paint? cause a place got a staint of the cellophane tape, then i use water to rub also cant gone, somemore become worst, then use WD40, easy easy gone... :D

thanks... ;)

Sorry for the late reply, have been off on MC for the past two days. :(

Anyway, the best is to check with your painter. Your painter will know best what paint he used and how long it would take to cure. IF you do not intend to wax your car, please make sure you wash it often.

What wax did u get? As for the swirls, i think you should bring it back to your painter and ask him to touch it up.

Did those white spots come off with washing? If not you might have to try something like Paint cleaner or Claybar. Does it feel rough to the touch?

I see that you have been going through meguiar's site. good, do try other forums like http://www.meguiarsonline.com/forums/index.php and http://www.detailcity.com/forums/index.php?s=.

Its a good collection of experiences not only with meguiars but other products too.

I am not sure if WD40 will harm the paint, never try before :D . But doesn't hurt to wash it off after you have removed the tape marks.

Originally posted by popiah@Oct 7 2004, 08:07
Sorry for the late reply, have been off on MC for the past two days. :(

Anyway, the best is to check with your painter. Your painter will know best what paint he used and how long it would take to cure. IF you do not intend to wax your car, please make sure you wash it often.

What wax did u get? As for the swirls, i think you should bring it back to your painter and ask him to touch it up.

Did those white spots come off with washing? If not you might have to try something like Paint cleaner or Claybar. Does it feel rough to the touch?

I see that you have been going through meguiar's site. good, do try other forums like http://www.meguiarsonline.com/forums/index.php and http://www.detailcity.com/forums/index.php?s=.

Its a good collection of experiences not only with meguiars but other products too.

I am not sure if WD40 will harm the paint, never try before :D . But doesn't hurt to wash it off after you have removed the tape marks.
Ooh, MC ar, so now ok already? ;)

The painter said the car can be wax after received. Cause i saw they got do a compound paste with machine before i take the car, if the paint didnt cure then they cannot compound right? :rolleyes:

I getting the NXT Wax, waiting for my sister to pass to me. :D
Actually that is not swirl mark, is like those light scratch which caused by those washing cloth, maybe their cloth a bit rough when washing... These light scratch mark can be removed by polish and wax? I prefer do it by myself. Cause i more carefull then them :P .

The white spot didnt come off, normally is hard to see, but once got sunlight at that area, then can be seen. Ya, i can feel a bit roughly when touching it. So the Quik Clay and Paint Cleaner can remove these? Roughly how much for that 2 ar? Hope is not expensive, near PK liow... :(

:)

hmmm, maybe it is paint overspray. If you like, can set a time n place to meet up and try the clay I have first, no need to buy and then only to find that it is not suitable. 60 ringgit is not something to be thrown around. Oh, btw I am in puchong.

as for the light scratches, does it look like it is in circles?, for very light marks, NXT wax should be able to hide them pretty well.

Compounding is different from waxing. Waxing will form a layer over the paint to protect it from contaminants. Compounds will not do that. Compound is used to restore a surface to a smooth finish. From what I read at the meguiar's site, it is not a problem about the paint being hard enough. It is about the chemicals used in the paint that will evaporate.

If in doubts. try on a small portion of the car first. Maybe your front fender. Or bumper. Try applying NXT on it and leave it for a week or two and see whats the effect like.

Originally posted by popiah@Oct 7 2004, 11:34
hmmm, maybe it is paint overspray. If you like, can set a time n place to meet up and try the clay I have first, no need to buy and then only to find that it is not suitable. 60 ringgit is not something to be thrown around. Oh, btw I am in puchong.

as for the light scratches, does it look like it is in circles?, for very light marks, NXT wax should be able to hide them pretty well.

Compounding is different from waxing. Waxing will form a layer over the paint to protect it from contaminants. Compounds will not do that. Compound is used to restore a surface to a smooth finish. From what I read at the meguiar's site, it is not a problem about the paint being hard enough. It is about the chemicals used in the paint that will evaporate.

If in doubts. try on a small portion of the car first. Maybe your front fender. Or bumper. Try applying NXT on it and leave it for a week or two and see whats the effect like.
Thank you popiah~~~ Thanks man~~~ :D

Probably next week can? Cause this week i a bit busy, friend going oversea and need to help him a bit... :P

Wow, the clay RM60? Siao expensive :o , somemore i still student. But if is can works for my problem then is ok, hope MG will set up a some kind of service centre at here, then we can test a bit before we buy... :lol:

I living in klang, but i going to bukit jalil for my class. Currently are u working or studying? Normally i will pass by puchong there if i going to class. But i not familiar with puchong, just know's how to go there from the road sign :P . Or we meet in a famous places that can easily get there, like this ok? Will PM u later for discussion... :D

The light scratches doesn't look like in circles, more like in a straight line, maybe their cleaning cloth is rough...
So we try some experiment when we meet up la... :P :D

Thanks man~~~ :D