new local car company

johndoe

Why not open another local car company?
Both Proton n Perodua had their pros n cons on their car. they fare 60 mark(my opinion).

We should open a new local car company wif collaboration wif toyota/honda.

Most car if u notice only comes wif 12-16 valve or 4-speed auto/5-speed manual cars. How expensive would it be to produce a 5-speed/6-speed car?

How much expensive to install ABS/Airbag/EBD/TRC into a car which cost less than rm80k. so far there none.

How much expensive to install 20/24valve engine into a car which cost less than rm80k. so far there none.

Local cars are less in quality n getting more expensive.

For me the cost to built a BMW 5-series is only less than RM100k. but they are selling at 3-4 times the cost which partly is the govenment high excise duty imposed to help local car manufacturers.

What u guys suggest??

-->How much expensive to install ABS/Airbag/EBD/TRC into a car which cost less than rm80k. so far there none.

naza citra..about 80k if im not mistaken..

perodua is collaboration with toyota and daihatsu.

myvi: abs + dual airbag < 50k manual version.

but there are no production of car wif a 20valve engine, wif steptronic, wif ABS/airbag/EBD/TRC , wif 6speed auto gear box.

johndoe said:
but there are no production of car wif a 20valve engine, wif steptronic, wif ABS/airbag/EBD/TRC , wif 6speed auto gear box.

malaysia car manufacturing not till that leval yet. malaysia just begin introduce air bag and abs into there car i think more 10 year lah mayasian car will have 6 speed gear box, 6 air bag,abs,ebd,20/24 valve engine. triptronic gear box etc....... etc.... japan already long time ago using GPRS navigator... but malaysia bayang pun tahdah........

Most of the foreing car companies are not interested to set-up more factories in Malaysia due to certain policies decided by the Malaysian goverment.

Mainly the share equity issue and tax.

They are all flocking to Thailand.

imagine a car wif everything u want but less than rm80k. how nice.

johndoe said:
Why not open another local car company?
Both Proton n Perodua had their pros n cons on their car. they fare 60 mark(my opinion).

We should open a new local car company wif collaboration wif toyota/honda.

Most car if u notice only comes wif 12-16 valve or 4-speed auto/5-speed manual cars. How expensive would it be to produce a 5-speed/6-speed car?

How much expensive to install ABS/Airbag/EBD/TRC into a car which cost less than rm80k. so far there none.

How much expensive to install 20/24valve engine into a car which cost less than rm80k. so far there none.

Local cars are less in quality n getting more expensive.

For me the cost to built a BMW 5-series is only less than RM100k. but they are selling at 3-4 times the cost which partly is the govenment high excise duty imposed to help local car manufacturers.

What u guys suggest??

I think that infant industry such as Proton and Perodua is trying to achieve economies-of-scale ( the decrease of average costs of production as output increases ) ~ which I think both of these firm (in the world market) have not been able to compete with other intra-industries and haven't even reach a satisfactory stage yet. It might be costly for them per unit costs.

As long as they have not done - I don't think any other infant industry (automobile) should venture / enter to such industry as it'll costs more deadweight loss ( costs beared by consumers).

Deadweight loss is the loss in consumer surplus ( it's also the prices of what consumers are willing to pay and what consumers actually pays ).

Government should have imposed direct subisidies to Proton/ Perodua rather than imposing tariffs on imported cars. ( In conjunction with competing with other carmakers especially from industrial county). Because it's easier to remove in the future because import tariff, import quota leads to consumers being burden by costs of protections.

Sooner or later, Proton /Perodua will have to compensate back those monetary losses / deadweight loss to justify the protections costs by the government. The gainers are the government and the losers as consumers at large.

Just my 2 cents.

R.C. said:
Sooner or later, Proton /Perodua will have to compensate back those monetary losses / deadweight loss to justify the protections costs by the government. The gainers are the government and the losers as consumers at large.

Just my 2 cents.

How will they payback the G??
I dont expect it to happen anytime soon.

i believe if there are no corruption happen between the car manufacturer and the parts supplier... our national can have a DVD player come with the car also..

actually the cost to produce a fully accesory car wif good powered engine is very cheap. gov add sales tax, excise duty, import tax, etc. all cost makes 30-50% of the overall car price.

R.C. said:
I think that infant industry such as Proton and Perodua is trying to achieve economies-of-scale ( the decrease of average costs of production as output increases ) ~ which I think both of these firm (in the world market) have not been able to compete with other intra-industries and haven't even reach a satisfactory stage yet. It might be costly for them per unit costs.

As long as they have not done - I don't think any other infant industry (automobile) should venture / enter to such industry as it'll costs more deadweight loss ( costs beared by consumers).

Deadweight loss is the loss in consumer surplus ( it's also the prices of what consumers are willing to pay and what consumers actually pays ).

Government should have imposed direct subisidies to Proton/ Perodua rather than imposing tariffs on imported cars. ( In conjunction with competing with other carmakers especially from industrial county). Because it's easier to remove in the future because import tariff, import quota leads to consumers being burden by costs of protections.

Just my 2 cents.

wah bro, can u pls dun use so much economic terms ar? feel like im reading a case study for my exam wei -.-"' hahaha anyhow, i think what u say is true especially this line "Government should have imposed direct subisidies to Proton/ Perodua rather than imposing tariffs on imported cars."

they can at least, lower the price of our local cars. that would help alot in choosing :D