New to Toyota AE111

• Thread starter ibnhazm76
  • Start date
  • Replies 17
  • Views 3K
I

ibnhazm76

Salam..

I just want to ask anybody here about AE111. I'm really love this car but dunno much bout this car. All I want is the best/the worst about this car since I want to angkut one before my wife branak end of this June. Thanks. Any experiences and infos' are really appreciated.

Wah... Original AE111?

In my humble opinion..
If you can find one for sale and can afford it..
I personally recommend that you take the plunge.
Its a dream car for many of us.
We mostly transplant the AE111 engines into SEGs instead..

Wah... Original AE111?

In my humble opinion..
If you can find one for sale and can afford it..
I personally recommend that you take the plunge.
Its a dream car for many of us.
We mostly transplant the AE111 engines into SEGs instead..

i think what ibnhazm76 meant was the local AE111 SEG, and not the levin ae111 la..
right, ibnhazm76 ?

That's right my friend. But its okay since I do not have enough infos' on AE111. Hehehee.. What a worse.

I've come across this website and found some of our friends selling this AE111 car (My knowledge is AE111 = SEG 1.6). Is that right? So embarassing if my knowledge is not right. Memalukan!)

I just want to upgrade my old car with this AE111. My recent car is Proton Saga 1.5S. Hehehee..

I would appreciate if our friends can help me to give opinion on this matter.

thats not matter actually. thats is just a knowledge explore. ae111 is good for family car, bujang car and so on. really durable car. less maintenance and lasak. just get it before regret. i am toyota pax/owner since i was 8 years old. from ke20, bought ee80, bought ae92 and ee100. never regret once. very less maintenance. never breakdown on the jam or long distance. if happen just ball joint, tie rod end, lower arm bush and distributor kong problem. that one small matter for old car like that. toyota moving forward...

go get it as soon as u can bro..but make sure which ae111 seg u want..:hmmmm:because there are 2 models out there..do research first.

yes bro... share some details so that we can help u better...
what year is the car? stock engine?

Since my infos' about this type of SEG is limited, I warmly welcomed our bros' in this thread to explain to me not in full details, just the important things that really matter. I managed to buy SEG year 2000. Yes, from my view I could see there's are 2 types of SEG which the Toyota's logo on the front grill and another one is sedikit atas dari grill depan (correct me if Im wrong!).

I do research on this web and other websites like motortrader and found good SEG car but due to limited infos' I just ignored. May our friends in this thread could help me make wise decision. Thanks bros'!

yup..the last model of seg(crystal light 98-2001) produced untill 2001 before replaced with altis..
another type from 96-97 model.

go for the crystal light ver bro..
u'll b satisfied..:proud:

yr'98 model is kinda cheaper..
u can get for 30k+...

I have driven my AE111 since it was new... since then... between me and my wife... we've had other cars come and go... but we still keep the AE111. Why?
- Cheap to maintain
- Lots of parts
- Comfortable
- Realiable
- Decent fuel consumption
- Adequate power
- Best of all... I can keep kidding myself that one day... one FINE day... I will have enough money to transplant 4AGE :P

Do it man, it is a good car... but make sure you check nicely first lah. You can get a shitty Benz or BMW also (if not well maintained)... but if you get AE111 from someone who previously sayang his car... you will have no regrets.

Since there many of our friends selling SEG in this web, how come we know that car is good condition like never accident, tak tenggelam air/banjir? Hehee.. silly question. Thanks bro for sharing.

for accident type of thing, i think is not easy to find a really 100% non-accident 2nd hand car
perhaps some minor dent here and there.. or small accident (which perhaps have been repaired)
is unavoidable. u should be more worry and check properly if someone told u that his/her used car is 100% accident free!

for flood/banjir, do a simple check of flipping over the car carpet/under-carpet or under-rearseats, and even the spare tyre area to see if got rusted spots,watermark...

and ask for test-drive or ask the driver/seller to drive, with u sitting beside so that
u can observe any squeking sound, abnormal sound from interior, engine, suspension
when the driver accelerates, brakes, turns to get a rough idea of the conditions of those
area, small/minimum sound maybe is acceptable (afterall it is a 2nd hand car). also feel the
car power/acceleration/deceleration when the gears shift (at least to estimate
the condition of gearbox, clutch (for MT) or torque converter (for AT)
test air-cond at all the levels as air-cond system might cost a lot to fixed.

and finally check all those small smal thing (electricals, lights, radio, wipers, power windows
etc...._)

u just need to search and test a few in order to narrow down your selection
to the better condition one in your list.

just some of my own simple inspection checkpoint before even engage in
price negotiation. hopefully is useful for u.

one more thing before buy 2nd hand car,dont forget to check any unpaid summons and speed trap as well..

Hi.. I would like to thanks everybody with their great opinion regarding this issue. Happy CNY. May this year bring more prosperity and happiness. Drive safely.

Regards,
ibnhazm76