Nikon D70s vs. Canon 350D

g88

Can any photography sifu here give me some comment about this 2 units of camera..overall...if can be technical specific will help alot more :regular_smile:

first of all.. im not a sifu.. but this may help...
http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/compare_post.asp?method=sidebyside&cameras=canon_eos350d%2Cnikon_d70s&show=all

Canon EOS 350D / Digital Rebel XT/ Kiss n Digital Review:
http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/canoneos350d/

Nikon D70 Review:
http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/nikond70/

btw.. u should not compare D70 n 350D coz both or 'em are not at same level.. D70 will be much better, but of course, it is more expensive. instead, u should compare D50 w 350D..

hahahhaha

20D or 30D..woo hooo~

biggest differences in 350 and d70 is the lense size

one is 62mm(d70) and 350D is 52mm...

well for entry level i always recomend the d70(approx rm3.6k)

so go go NIkon...

check out teh review with teh links provided..those are good reviews~

in terms of processing - canon wins
in terms of lens - nikon wins

so..depends on your need.. hehe..
btw alantan, 3.6k not include lens right?

hmm..the least time i check it was rm3.6 K with lens~...

i'm not too sure if it's the S kit or teh older kit

Nikon vs Canon

sonictheory said:
wat does it mean s kit o older kit? kinda aim second hand d70 year around 2004...any diff between i buy a new 1 ?

Hello everybody,

I`ve bought Nikon D70 early in 2005 ~RM3.5k
Its come with lens. That is why they called D70 body kit.

In 2006, Nikon Inc stop producing D70 and replacing it with new D70s. Features enhanced as well.

Why i chosed Nikon`s?
I was Nikon FM2 user for atleast 5 yrs. (1997). So, i prefer Nikon`s. Nikon`s Lenses is the catch, ofcoz.

But do not underestimate Canon`s, since if u have the correct lens attached, u will get awesome result. (+ good photographer)

Back to the opening thread ; " Nikon D70s vs. Canon 350D"
I prefer D70s.

sonictheory, if u plan to buy second hand D70, i prefer not! DSLR have what they called as "counter". When the counter hit certain number, ur DSLR need to be repaired, or worst ur DSLR`s image sensor need to be changed. The "counter" should we called as how many snaps/photo taken with the DSLR. (counter, we can prefer as our car`s KM counter). We dont know exactly how the previous owner handle his tools aswell. But, if u think it is woth it, then follow ur thought.

DLSR = Digital Single Lens Reflect, known well as "manual camera".

*i`m not kinda of sifu also :_: just sharing information with u guys.

I agreed with ntercity...

I use both D70 and 350d.. I prefer D70 over 350d...
Visit fotowarung at www.bazuki.com for more info..

you may want to try sony alpha now~

10Mp...3.2k with a lens kit~...

not very bad at all~

body is solid..very firm~

actually......i prefer nikon....their normal lens are good.....Canon is only good is u have the budget to get L lens.....

Wat lah.. this topic so out of date lah.

Now people are talking about the following 3 cameras:

Sony Alpha vs Nikon D200 vs Nikon D80

FYI, Sony Alpha shares the same sensor as Nikon D200 because Sony supplies the image sensor to Nikon.

Sony Alpha shocked the whole market with it's value for money features and price ( around 3K++ ) especially it shares the same image sensor of the Nikon D200 which is priced more than double I think.

So recently, Nikon beh tahan bcs feel threaten by Sony Alpha, so decided to come out with D80 which I think will use the D200 sensor but with less feature than D200. Basically, trying to match Sony Alpha in that price range.

400D is overtaking 350D now.....but my 350D said 400D not so good since consump more battery as it's have bigger LCD and more mechanism ??

for me after 15 year with nikon on SLR ( yah i still use negative), seriously i would like to try a canon DSLR in term of prices and sound of the auto focus .....
Basically camera don't make much different, just depend what brands u prefer ......
just bought my first DSLR canon 350D at RM 2450 brands new, pretty worth the prices ......
MB VS BMW

I do have some Nikon ED lens for sale .....

I do have some Nikon ED lens for sale .....[/quote]

what nikon lens did u have.
any 28-105mm nikkor lens or 12-24mm lens? :regular_smile:

very keen to get the sony alpha
but dream of getting nikon d80 now
which one u all think?