Oil Filter questions

chinozie

Very Young Member... :D
1) Do we have these oil filter product in our market ???

- Champion
- Clean
- Biltema
- Purolator
- Teho

2) If got what the equivalent code for Toyota 90915-YZZC6 and 90915-YZZB6

3) From where to get it ???

E2 ???
For Celica n Sportivo right ???

have anybody spotted those kind of oil filter...???

yup...saw that...
that one sure better performance...

forgot to mentioned...the article that i found out mentioning those oil filter are better then OEM...is way back in 1995...hahahah...

soo.. i think nowdays OEM oil filter are better then those in the old days...i supposed...

Sorry,
Anyone can get the 100% original Toyota OEM oil filter? I know the market got alot of fake one with selling price range from RM15-RM20.

Part Code:
1.90915-YZZC6
2.90915-YZZB6

i am using B6,
is all B6 is market is a flake ??

how about the following filter in the market all are flake ?
90915-YZZC6
90915-10004

For 90915-YZZC6, I can hv an option for 2 type of this filter, both also same part o. and of course with the different price.
From the filter, you can see one wth grease on the bottom and another one is empty. I can feel that both weight also different.
Thats why im curious abt this.
Just to share...

i heard from a mechanic that
for the original filter, dont need to apply a cost of oil to the oil seal/ring before install
for flake filter, must apply oil to coat the oil seal/ring

if oil filter made in Thailand (even printed that made in japan), it cost rm 18 - 20
if filter made from Japan, it cost rm25

that's the different i know

AFAIK,
nowadays toyota produce oil filter at thailand. still got at japan ka?
so, made in thailand is E2.

can ka made in thailand but print made in japan? can tipu like that ka?

Applying oil on the seal does not make it fake or original! Certain engine requires you to lubricate the seal first before installing. Certain does not. Cartridge types ones like from Mercedes does not need because because it is housed inside a container.

The reason some need to pre-lubricate the oil filter seal is merely for installation sake. Also remember some oil filters are pre lubricated and pre filled. Some are dry and require you to fill it and lubricate it first.

one toyota mechanic said the toyota original filter is ''pre-lubricated '' so no need to lubricate it. However, the flake one has not ''pre-lubricated'' process during manufacture.

can ka made in thailand but print made in japan? can tipu like that ka?

can you check the one you bought is printed made in japan or thailand or malaysia ?

Can check the manufacturing bar-code for box ?
4 = Japan
8 = Thailand
9 = Malaysia

The following statement was extracted from previous thread from ZeroToHundered

For your reference

First publish 29th May 2003 - Updated 5th October 2003
Mr. Wong Yee Yong once pointed out the importance of getting the correct oil filter for the 4AG engine or else it could cause mechanical failure. Some even mystically report that VVT operation improved to smoother engagement after using the correct oil filter. Personally, don't know???
90915-YZZC5 vs. 90915-YZZC6
o1.jpg

The C5 box (namely 90915-YZZC5) specifically print for A type engine application but excluding 4AG. Therefore if you care enough what Toyota engineers got to say, don't use the wrong oil filter.

There is another model 90915-10004 which also state suitable for 4AG.
The C5 is priced around Ringgit Malaysia (RM) 18 while the C6 is priced at Ringgit Malaysia (RM) 28 each.
o2.jpg

UPDATES
Allot of oil filters above can be fitted to 4AG, but not all are recommended, so don't get the wrong one.

Summary of usable filters
90915-YZZC6
90915-10004

Cannot be used list
90915-YZZA2
90080-91058
90915-YZZB2
90915-03001
90915-YZZC5

http://i100.photobucket.com/albums/m37/sincere777777/o3.jpgApparently, if it is not big BIG, it is not suitable for 4AG.

A friend's MR2 SW20, 1st gen car but using 2nd gen engine running on 1st gen ECU (AFM) experience "Engine Warning Light" for around 20 seconds of start-up because the oil filter is not the correct one. This is a rare but serious indication of the need to use the correct oil filters.

90915-YZZB6 Big Oil Filters for Toyota Corolla Levin / Trueno 4A-GE
Presenting Oil Filter model B6: -
o4.jpg

The white filter is not 90915-YZZC6 but please see the box on the left which is for C6. Hence this white filter is a quick comparison to the size difference between C6 versus B6.
The B6 unit is taller as well as larger in diameter. I do not know if it is real versus I just want to fool my self with psychology. The big filter feel better for the engine.
VVT operation seems to be like improved ........ like no delay ...............like seemless ..........you've got to try it to know it :)

Saying this allot of people have been very worried about oil pressure drop when using big ass oil cooler or big ass oil filter. Just some figures for you to reference.
My engine oil pressure at idling is around 80 psi in the cold morning and 40 psi in the hot afternoon. Oil return from cooler temperature is 50 celcius.
The engine oil pressure above 3,000 rpm is over 100 psi in the cold morning and around 80 psi in the hot afternoon. Oil return from cooler temperature is around 70 celcius.

Only extremely long traffic jam stops like over 30 minutes of really non movement and very very hot afternoon will see oil temperature max out at 83 celcius. In this case oil pressure still above 40 psi at idling and around 80 psi above 3,000 rpm.
The readings are surprisingly same for many types of engine oil class as well as brand. There is no modification made to the original engine oil pump. This is a completely fair test.

High revving the engine also does not create oil temperature above 75 celcius. Dam good big ass oil cooler. However mineral oil (normal cheap brands) died around 1,000 km travel. 4A-GE 20v cannot use normal mineral oil.

o5.jpg

Summary
A lot of oil filters above can be fitted to 4AG, but not all are recommended, so don't get the wrong one.

Summary of usable filters
90915-YZZC6
90915-10004
90915-YZZB6 (big - good)

Cannot be used list
90915-YZZA2
90080-91058
90915-YZZB2
90915-03001
90915-YZZC5

That post looked familiar. hehehe.

Not necessarily fake filters are not lubricated. There are so many fake brands out there. I personally use fake filters for my 2T (not 4A ah).

In some packaging it is shrinked wrapped and contains a plastic cap. that model is pre-lubricated. The non lubricated ones either only had a simple plastic bag or no plastic bag but in a box. I dunno if Toyota packages the original filters in either way. sometimes my mechanic gets me these Toyota filters for 2T. Yet we dunno if it is original or not because the packaging is shrinked wrapped, non lubricated. But only cost RM15. Maybe because phased out model or something.

but i dunno la, i dun operate a spare parts shop. hehehe.

That said, Chinozie looking for high flow filters liao. Want to make a 10000rpm engine ah?

netmatrix - it's not about high flow folter...it's about the filtering it self...how many microns can the thing filters...but somehow the article i found out was 12 years ago...heeeee...an old articles...hahahaha...

banzai - hmmm...i wonder...!!! heeeee...(tanduk sudah keluar)