OS Giken Super Single

hattech-v

what so good using this clutch? anyone like to share his experience?
whats the diff between pressed steel type n billet aluminium type?
how much it cost n how long it can be used?

Got 'ching-ching' sound when depressed.. I think that's the most distinguishing feature that I remember.

As for the types.. I have no idea.

Price oso not sure.. bout more than 3K, I think. Could be more.. I really am not sure... but got a shock when heard the price.. I remember that one!. (the incident, not the price)

Mie, tumpang... Anyone tried JSRacing clutch?

mie,if u want change to OS Giken clucth...ur clucth sell to me....i book first...hehehe

The "cheng cheng king king" sound will scare the hell of other road users stay away from you... Then they will think your vtec need major maintenance.....kekeke...

eddie_vtec said:
mie,if u want change to OS Giken clucth...ur clucth sell to me....i book first...hehehe

Don want his one lah. His Exedy koyak liao... u knew how fast his car already clutch sure koyak one. :mouth_closed:

haha... my previous exedy i bought it sekenhen n left about 50%...
after 6 months i'm using it it still look like the condition when i bought it... haha
now change to new edi laaa... i hope it will last for another 10 years... due to nilai 3 close edi... haha

I never used OS Giken Super Single before, but using the Ogura Super Single.

The main benefit you get from this is the flywheel supplied normally are very light giving u faster acceleration and deceleration as well the very strong and immediate grip when you dump your clutch.

Before i used these super single clutch system i only used exedy 3 puck type, and once i used these super single system, i don't think will go back to 3 puck type.. Power transfer to the wheel is so much more and faster, it felt like it had less loss of power to the wheel.

Disadvantages is its noisy with the cheng cheng noise but some people like it, haha..., and the pedal is heavier..

Advantages is more direct power transfered to the wheel and faster and they last quite long. Used it for one MME race, about 6 sunday practice and 3 MSS race. Clutch system still good but change the cluthc bearing once last month.

btw, why they call it super single? is it bcoz it come together with the flywheel?
is it the pedal will heavier then 3 puck exedy? or almost same like 3 puck?

Yup, using it in the DC2. But changing them next month to ATS Super Single. ATS Japan claims they clutch system has the biggest 9" flywheel, lighter and much quieter than the other competitor. I still got a few set for the B-Series and K-Series if anyone interested. hehe.. :)

I really don't know who started the Super Single name. Seems like every manufacturer is using them like exedy, ogura, os and ATS. But commonly used by Japanese companies.

When they say super single, it is a single clutch plate with uprated cover and a matching light flywheel.

I would say the Ogura ones are lighter than Exedy racing red box ones when new but after a few track sessions it seems it is slightly heavier than Exedy now.

The ATS catalogue says the stock EG/EK/DC2 stock pedal pressure is 16kg. ATS has 3 different cover pressure to suit different usage.

ATS 1000kg cover has pedal pressure of stock of 16kg.
ATS 1300kg cover has pedal pressure of 18kg (hehe only figures don't know how much heavier pedal)
ATS 1600kg cover has pedal pressure of 24kg (should be very heavy)

Different cover for different Power handling capability. ATS 1000kg for 230hp, 1300kg for 300hp and 1600kg for 360hp! We only brought in the 1300kg cover so its not too heavy and withstand till 300hp which is good enough most people.

You can check the english web for more info to understand better how these clutch works.
http://www.a-t-s-usa.com/ats-products/clutches-metal.shtml

chris, good info... appreciate it very much...
now i'm wonder pedal pressure for 3 puck exedy... hehe...
but i believe it still bcome a good leg muscle development training... haha

chris,

do u know where i can get off the shelves the OS Giken Super Single clutch bearing? at the moment i only know singapore.

No idea bro.. For my Ogura bearing i search high and low in spare part shop and apparently its a special bearing. Got to get it from Joe who sold me the Ogura and it cost me a cool Rm350!! Dammit!!

Luckly, the ATS super single uses a Honda bearing and in future when my bearing goes and can just get the OEM ones from Honda parts stockist.

well for your info the os giken clutch bearing is around RM5XX if u order it from one of the shops around(they gonna take it from singapore also). abit too expensive. joe doesnt have them either.

ATS sounds good.

i changed my ogura super single bearing also last time the price was rm450...damn