Our Salaries........

No problem at all ... peace :adore:

I do admit, would not dare wonder what will be increased (again) for 2008 ... Even milk powder at Tesco also chained like precious commodities ... grrr ...

Ooooo.. din notice pulak..
as i seldom walk thru the milk powder section row..
cos i cant drink milk..
nor stand the taste & will puke..
if u ask me abt choc & ice cream, i sure know..
hehe..

Neither do I have to buy milk powder yet, but kinda just noticed while walking thru some of the isles ...

HL milk I like ... yuuuum ...

there is a interesting comparison which compare how long in average for a person in a country need to work in order to buy a mcdonald big mac...

Malaysia is not so bad in Asia Pacific ranking,
Australia —17 minutes;
New Zealand — 28 minutes;
Hong Kong — 41 minutes;
Malaysia — 1 hour, 26 minutes;
South Korea — 1 hour, 29 minutes;
Philippines — 2 hours, 19 minutes;
Thailand — 2 hours, 45 minutes;
China — 3 hours, 58 minutes;
Sri Lanka — 5 hours, 53 minutes;
India — 8 hours, 34 minutes; and the winner is Pakistan, where it takes a McDonalds worker 14 hours, 14 minutes to buy a lousy burger.

Rest easy carnivores in the U.S. it only takes you about half an hour to make enough wages to pay for your heart attack special.

you guys can find the 2006 world cities income comparision by UBS here : http://www.workinginhongkong.com/download/ubs.pdf

try to comfort our self that msia is still "not so bad".....

HL milk is my fave, too..
i may hv lactose intolerance..
but thank God, i hv no problem with other dairy products..
such as cheese, ice cream..
hehe..

thanx links..
very interesting info..
so Malaysia is not that bad compare to others..

Better don't let the govt see this. Else, they'll think we're still the best and our country will go backwards even faster and even worst.

dont be so happy, may next year need to work 2 hours for big mac in msia already.

living cost in msia is not so high and its catching up by china and india is following. but in terms of income increase msia is not performing better than other.

actually the whole asia is exepriencing the similar problem, the pay cannot cope up with the increase in living cost.....i think this year top country in pay increment is india.

links,
Personally, i kinda feel that living costs in malaysia is high for me. I mean, I'm doing a comparison of living costs versus my current salary, which kinda makes living cost high for me. If looking at just the price of basic neccesities, like rice, vegetable, etc., then it's not all that expensive. But given a person with just-enough salary, then living costs would be high. So to speak, something like that la. hehehe

Darn living cost sucks considering there are items like Nismo, Greddy, Tomei, Cusco, Ohlins, Brembo, AP-Racing, Recaro, Bridgestone, IWC, Rolex, Patek Philippe, Omega, Ferragamo, Fendi, Gucci, Guess, Timberland, Nokia, Maxis, Oakley, Dunhill, etc .... and of course Petronas.

If got good spending control, it is comfortable to live in malaysia. Probably most of you never pump US$1.6x/L of petrol and buy raw common vege for US$2.5/kg before. 1 small chicken cost about US$4.5 each. 1 500ml Coke cost US$1.70. Salary? Average people earn about US$600-800.

Please don't compare to those 1st world countries. They sell 1 fighter jet = we sell 10 thousands of potong cars. Sell 1 bolt = 1 piece of Michelin Pilot tire here. 3rd world economy in 3rd world country has nothing to be shame. But with 3rd world thinking, no one can help you. If got no money, live more humble la. Gaya mesti ada will ruin your life. Please don't use big mac to compare. We are consider richer if we cook at home and bring the food to eat during office hour. Rich or poor, mostly depends on how much your wallet left at the end of the month. Not what car you are driving. If you don't control your urge of spending or lazy to do things, whom to be blame?

20 Golden Rules for Any Office!!

1. Rule 1. - The Boss is always right.

2. Rule 2. - If the Boss is wrong, see rule 1.

3. Those who work get more work. Others get pay, perks, and promotions.

4. Ph.D. stands for "Pull Him Down". The more intelligent a person, the more hardworking a person, the more committed a person; the more number of persons are engaged in pulling that person down.

5. If you are good, you will get all the work. If you are really good, you will get out of it.

6. When the Bosses talk about improving productivity, they are never talking about themselves.

7. It doesn't matter what you do, it only matters what you say you've done and what you are going to do.

8. A pat on the back is only a few centimeters from a kick in the butt.

9. Don't be irreplaceable. If you can't be replaced, you can't be promoted.

10. The more crap you put up with, the more crap you are going to get.

11. If at first you don't succeed, try again. Then quit. No use being a damn fool about it.

12. When you don't know what to do, walk fast and look worried.

13. Following the rules will not get the job done.

14. If it weren't for the last minute, nothing would get done.

15. Everything can be filed under "Miscellaneous".

16. No matter how much you do, you never do enough.

17. You can do any amount of work provided it isn't the work you are supposed to be doing.

18. In order to get a promotion, you need not necessarily know your job.

19. In order to get a promotion, you only need to pretend that you know your job.

20. The last person that quit or was fired will be held responsible for everything that goes wrong

the reason for comparison is not to self comfort ourself. Most of the time we use our own experiences to judge the things around us. sometimes we need comparison to know where are we, what are we and what we want to be.

you can said its meanless to compare with 3rd world country. but if you dont know how different are we from 3rd world country then we might not even know when we are falling back to 3rd world country living in another hand, if you dont know how good is the best then how you want to improve? comparison did serve as an alert and guildline for decision making and most importantly, provide direction for people who need it.

The reason that the Economist use big mac to compare the income and purchase power is the availability of big mac is common in most of the countries in the world, so that it has some common platform to measure the difference, also, they did adjusted the selling price of the big mac to justify the currencies differences.

you can choose to spend or save to suit your own life style but its always better to know how much does your dollar worth, whether is inflate or deflate and so you can adjust your saving/investment plan for your retirement.

ofcourse, those index may not be appropriate all time as analyst cant look into too details individual situation but it did provide good picture of the world we are living in.

sincerely, i met quite a few fellow msians in overseas. Our fellow mate seems to get behind the global vision. Many are always live in the wonder of their own world and like to use the msia standard to judge other countries. We are into a global competition era and it will be necessary to learn to judge things with more widen vision.

eyong,
what has those stuff got to do with living costs leh? hahahaha Makes you buy those stuff, is it? hehehe

Well, that's part of living right ..... Houses, and Apartments included ....? Without all the life's little pleasures, what would life means at the end anyway ...?

Do we just eat to live only?

Why not compare how much our sawi cost per kg and how much other country need to pay per kg? :hmmmm:

Actually if you compare in overall, we are not that bad. But most of the people does not live within their means. Or better say that they don't know there was such a phrase exist. We are in a developing country. Not a 1st world country. 1st world in genting got lar. Since when you can find a singaporean complaint their double storey link house more expensive than malaysia? Not because they are rich. But they know where are they standing. If you want more income and you are not intelligent or having rich parent, you have to work extra. Not keep on asking for free lunch / pay raise with the current productivity efficiency level. If the horse died, we have to walk. We are not consider going backward because of that. But to survive in order to have a chance to strike back. Pride worth nothing.

ofcourse when you are having lower income or not born rich then you have to adjust your lifestyle. But the reason for having lower income is not necessary because of low productivity or the poor econ. Our country promote lower productivity higher income (for those putra) and higher productivity lower income (for majority rakyat)

after the economy crisis, the general business community are very "frightened" by the fluctuation on the economy so even when the businesses is up the employee also have little chance to share the profit. ofcourse, in some very good profit industry such as energy, healthcare or investment , MNC tends to have good payout to the employee.

But in general business sector. You will see the business improved, profit growth but not so much on pay increase and bonus. When business down abit, the pay cut will quickly come in place.

Comparison can serve as a reference. Not all people need it but its always good to know hows other like.

A good profit sharing did help to increase productivity a lot. But not many have the chance to experience it in msia. :)

wow... this is turning into indepth economic discussion...

any 1 study economy in the universiti....??

the only economy lesson i learnt so far is....
more $$$$$ = more horsepower... hehehhehehe

Poor people in Western country eat fast food. Poor people in Malaysia eat standard meal (nasi campur count as standard meal) . Who is better? So, we need to adjust our thinking on certain thing 1st before we can continue. Every RM we pay for the cheap local food, we get at least 50% worth of food. But pay for a good image fast food, we are consider lucky to get 20% worth of food. You know the advertisement and the packaging and misc cost are not cheap. But in those western countries are different. For example, in Hannover, Germany, the cheapest food is not a plate of EU$7 fried rice or a piece of EU$4.50 pizza. It is McD. Some more got the rib meat version cost only EU$3.80 (I paid EU$6.80 for a 3 zone day ticket and round the whole town to search for cheaper food cuz need to survive there for 3 weeks with minimum expenses. And please don't laugh at me because I walk about 1 hour to mcd and tapau 3 meals everyday for full 3 weeks). It is totally the other way round compare to our local food. RM4-6 for a complete meal compare to a RM7-10 value meal. How to compare?