Perdana V6 Community Forum *

Thanks all ..
I have already registerd at vsixers but still waiting
approved by admin .. and I sent mail to admin but still no answer
and still can't log to vsixers , (maybe only invited can log in kot)

haha TT ? wa long time no TT coz no time to lepaking malam2
coz having little baby hahaha

So in that case in pv6 2002 , 2003 or SEI still can reliable depends on
car condition la a
the Vsixers admin will only approve registered members. i will PM u on this.

ala, i also have baby but for 1 day every week, i go for TT.
the other times, stay at home la. heheh..

yes, any car can be reliable, depends on the condition and the previous owner la.
if previous owner takes really good care of the car, that the best..

Hi Guys,

I'm a new proud of owner of the V6....year 2000 in good condition, but has gearbox issue..

doest respond fast and doesn't shift to "4" gear at highway....confirm kena tukar GB? and i still wanna have an AUTO :)

not yet...sent the GB for overhaul....RM1650 all in with ATF cooler n comes with 6months warranty, ok or not? :driver:

i read here that Toyota ATF is good, shall i go with it?

also...Pv6 is 3 or 4 gears?

should be ok....
make sure its original ATF toyota type 4 le...
perdana is 4 gears OD on.. OD off = 3 gears.

suddenly mech. tells me its a wiring issue! LOL

tukar Gb ECU and some wires....should be less than 1K

Thanks DanzEterna! been seeing your name for some time on ZTH :driver: will definitely join ur TT guys...but dont abuse me leh...its just stock PV6 with no plans to mod :biggrin:

suddenly mech. tells me its a wiring issue! LOL

tukar Gb ECU and some wires....should be less than 1K

Thanks DanzEterna! been seeing your name for some time on ZTH :driver: will definitely join ur TT guys...but dont abuse me leh...its just stock PV6 with no plans to mod :biggrin:

haha...are u previously driving that celica st on your avatar...seen it around before....
the gbox ecu is known as TCU - transmission control unit....no matter wat u do, make sure ask for warranty....at least 2-3 week minimum.....

abuse u? no la...i like to racun those driving std pv6.....haha...within a year can c your car with mods compared when u 1st bought it....alot of ppl kena edi......

i still drive the celica turbo:driver: PV6 is my daily driver...not so sure for how long...cause makan minyak like me celica :banghead:

Well i just got my car....GB seems ok...smooth shifts and all, but just sharing my experince with you guys regarding servicing the GB:

the bill came as follows

computer box service RM450 (which didn't make any sense! cause can buy for RM350 if im not mistaken)
wiring from ECU-TCU incl. socket wiring RM180
sent GB for diagnostics RM60
GB oil RM160 (he said used 6L, 2x4L toyota ATF)
GB filter RM80
Labour RM400
ATF cooler and bracket RM150

Total RM1480

the GB got some sound when RPM goes from 2K-3K, mech says its normal in PV6 :stupid:

i feel ripped off....hope the GB can tahan

i still drive the celica turbo:driver: PV6 is my daily driver...not so sure for how long...cause makan minyak like me celica :banghead:

Well i just got my car....GB seems ok...smooth shifts and all, but just sharing my experince with you guys regarding servicing the GB:

the bill came as follows

computer box service RM450 (which didn't make any sense! cause can buy for RM350 if im not mistaken)
GB filter RM80
Labour RM400

Total RM1480

the GB got some sound when RPM goes from 2K-3K, mech says its normal in PV6 :stupid:

I recently bought used ECU & TCU for RM120 each. Outside, ATF filter kit is only RM25. Looks like he did nothing but flushed your GB, changed oil/filter and added a cooler (this one looks very cheap, btw). There also shouldn't be a sound from 2-3k rpm, so he's talking nonsense. Sometimes, flushing your GB for the 1st time after more than 100k KM does more harm than good. The flushing may dislodge all the hardened dirt and scum accumulated over the years and choke up your valve body unit. I never flush my GB. Only change oil & filter.

yep agree with sarled.
i hate to say this but i think u've been taken for a 'ride'.

what kind of TCU 'service' they did?
ATF no need 6L, if include ATF cooler, maybe 5L.
GB filter max RM50. this RM80 is like a rare Mitsu ATF filter like for my gb..
labour rm400? did they take out the gb from your car?

the bill came as follows

GB filter RM80
Labour RM400

Total RM1480

keep your reciepts bro.......if you're not happy report to tribunal,
Neuro....im not sure bout autobox maintanance....is it really that expensive?

if your gbox got sound from 2-3k rpm, means the gbox got problem......

get your mech to check out the parts/workmanship costs...if its far more expensive than other places. will assist u to file a claim against that workshop.

keep your reciepts bro.......if you're not happy report to tribunal,
Neuro....im not sure bout autobox maintanance....is it really that expensive?

if your gbox got sound from 2-3k rpm, means the gbox got problem......

get your mech to check out the parts/workmanship costs...if its far more expensive than other places. will assist u to file a claim against that workshop.
well, its quite expensive but depends on work basis la.

- TCU service RM450 - what kind of service the pomen is doing? dusting off habuk? or replacing the electronic components on the TCU board? u can buy good condition 2nd hand TCU for less than RM350.

- ECU to TCU wiring RM180 including socket - this is subjective (really do or not?)

- gb diagnostics RM60 - just take the car (without taking out the gb) to a workshop with a diagnostic equipment (MUT or laptop). plug into the diagnostics socket, then see if any fault code comes out. its not like the workshop doing pressure test or something else, that will cost more..

- gb filter RM80 - it should be lesser. i have ask a sparepart shop for a local ATF filter for V6 and quoted RM50. my ATF filter (RVR turbo auto) cost me RM75. maybe can be cheaper but i dont have any choice coz sudah penat carik. hehe..

- ATF RM160 (2 x 4L Toyota ATF-T4) - i think this is ok. but i would only buy Mitsu SP3 compatible ATF.

- ATF cooler + bracket RM150 - for a 2nd hand cooler, i think this is ok. but look at the size and condition.

- labour RM400 - this is also subjective, but considering if they do have to do diagnostics, check whats wrong take a lot of effort and time..

what i would really be asking the questions are for the TCU service and labour charges. the others i think ok kot..

if not mistaken i also did the ECU tuning....not sure they call it diagnostics anot...
but skali cucuk for ECU tuning rm60....

yep, dulu i pernah buat ECU tuning for RM60 also (long time ago in 2006-2009).
plug in MUT to diagnostic port, short/ground the TB to body, then tune ECU to get optimum AFR.
while doing that, the MUT can also check any other problem depending on the fault code such as gb, ABS, etc...

in 2009, i pernah buat diagnostic for gb only (plug in a laptop) and cost me RM25.

thanks for the input guys!

i just got the updated bill...

1.computer box service RM450 (which didn't make any sense! cause can buy for RM350 if im not mistaken)
2.wiring from ECU-TCU incl. socket wiring RM180

3.ECU Reset and diagnostics RM60
4.GB oil RM160 (he said used 6L, 2x4L toyota ATF)
5.GB filter RM48
7.ATF cooler, bracket and hoses RM165
8.Radiator Fan RM120
9.Labour RM450

Total RM1633

RED ones are the ones which im not satisfied with...anyways im happy to drive the Pv6 :driver: hope not much of probs

thanks for the input guys!

i just got the updated bill...

1.computer box service RM450 (which didn't make any sense! cause can buy for RM350 if im not mistaken)
2.wiring from ECU-TCU incl. socket wiring RM180

3.ECU Reset and diagnostics RM60
4.GB oil RM160 (he said used 6L, 2x4L toyota ATF)
5.GB filter RM48
7.ATF cooler, bracket and hoses RM165
8.Radiator Fan RM120
9.Labour RM450

Total RM1633

RED ones are the ones which im not satisfied with...anyways im happy to drive the Pv6 :driver: hope not much of probs

Well, I guess what's done is done. You learn from it (albeit a bit painful). Maybe you should start DIY'ing. That will save you all your problems of getting ripped off. I never send my Yr2000 V6 to a mechanic anymore. If I did these things myself I can tell you how much they will cost:
1.computer box service RM120 (I will buy used one from private seller at Mudah.my)
2.wiring from ECU-TCU incl. socket wiring RM0 (I can't see how this needs to be done, so I won't do)
3.ECU Reset and diagnostics RM0 (I will just unplug my car batteries for 1/2 hr, this will reset my ECU/TCU. Diagnostics I will read with a multimeter, this one you need to know how la)
4.GB oil RM135 (I buy Mitsu Diaqueen for RM90/4L)
5.GB filter RM25
7.ATF cooler, bracket and hoses RM350 (using Hayden, same size as Proton ori).
8.Radiator Fan RM60 (I think you mean the motor?)
9.Labour RM0 (best of all!)

Total: RM690.

Time to learn how to get your hands dirty, eh?

Well, I guess what's done is done. You learn from it (albeit a bit painful). Maybe you should start DIY'ing. That will save you all your problems of getting ripped off. I never send my Yr2000 V6 to a mechanic anymore. If I did these things myself I can tell you how much they will cost:
1.computer box service RM120 (I will buy used one from private seller at Mudah.my)
2.wiring from ECU-TCU incl. socket wiring RM0 (I can't see how this needs to be done, so I won't do)
3.ECU Reset and diagnostics RM0 (I will just unplug my car batteries for 1/2 hr, this will reset my ECU/TCU. Diagnostics I will read with a multimeter, this one you need to know how la)
4.GB oil RM135 (I buy Mitsu Diaqueen for RM90/4L)
5.GB filter RM25
7.ATF cooler, bracket and hoses RM350 (using Hayden, same size as Proton ori).
8.Radiator Fan RM60 (I think you mean the motor?)
9.Labour RM0 (best of all!)

Total: RM690.

Time to learn how to get your hands dirty, eh?

i like your last one :biggrin: next time i send to you leh

Time to make a business out of this. hehe. But maybe when I start making business then I will also start being a cheating mechanic.......:proud:

i second that...seems like im gonna do perdana V6 service workshop...margins are just sky rocket high:burnout:

guys, anyone installed these (lamps)?

MJ12-1_zpsaa68f4cb.jpg

MJ11_zps97d0fad0.jpg

hows the LED life span...cause those "brothers" kindda barang...LED cant tahan :P