Perfect Singlish! :)

Tohsan

This is what arrived in my e-mail to be shared with everyone here!

> >Dear Ah Lian,
> >
> >
> >
> >Thanks you for your letter. Wrong time no see you. How everything?
> >
> >
> >
> >For me, I am quiet find. You say in your letter your taukeh soh want
> >you to chain your look? Somemore you must wear kick kok soo, hope you
> >can wok properly.
> >You know, Ah Kau Kia working in a soft where company now. Last week,
> >
> >he take I, Muthu & few of his friend to May Nonut to eat barger. After
> >
> >that he take we all go to kalah ok. Muthu sing and sing no stop until
> >
> >the sky bright.
> >
> >
> >
> >Next week, my father mother going to sellerbread 20 years annie wear
> >
> >sari. My father mother going to give a fist to all the kampong people.
> >
> >So you must come with your hole family.
> >
> >
> >
> >I only hope one day we no need to write and send letter to you and to
> >me.
> >
> >Better I e-meow you, you e-meow me.
> >a
> >I will ketchup with you soon. And when you got time, please few free
> >
> >to call me.
> >
> >
> >
> >Goo bye.....
> >
> >
> >
> >Worm regard,
> >
> >Ah Beng
> >

you guys can find more on singlish on http://www.talkingcock.com

they even got a very complete singlish dictionary....

wa say singporean really kiasu, everything they wanna be the top this include talk cock n cock talk!

sad to say that, even some of my lecturers speaking this way. Makes me wonder, how they get their Masters and furthermore, Cantonese during classes are annoying especially when there're foreigners or non Canton in the class.

when i was working with the western offices in china, An american told me that they have problem to understand the "english" from singapore offices, so he asked his secretary to communicate with mandarin to the singapore offices...surprisingly, his secretary told him she cant understand the "mandarin" emails and telephone conversation from the singapore...

so he asked me which languages can he used in the communication with our ppl.....i told him "hokkien"plus "cantonese" may works better.....then he stoned...haha

but really, for those who think we are bilingual..its time to think again...does our english or chinese really comprehensive for the Western people or chinese..

i have to learn again my chinese when i come to china and drop off the "singlish" phrases when communicating with those western people....

one more thing to mention, i always seeing those parents conversate in english with their childrens, and they are so proud of it. The problem is, 90% of what i saw are speaking "singlish" to their children but not english, this has caused the english of their children become Singlish. So for those "in-gle-lish" speaking parents, please make sure your language is good enough or it will be better for you just to use hokkien or cantonese to talk to your children, atleast they can pick up proper languages in school.

when i was working with the western offices in china, An american told me that they have problem to understand the "english" from singapore offices, so he asked his secretary to communicate with mandarin to the singapore offices...surprisingly, his secretary told him she cant understand the "mandarin" emails and telephone conversation from the singapore...

so he asked me which languages can he used in the communication with our ppl.....i told him "hokkien"plus "cantonese" may works better.....then he stoned...haha

but really, for those who think we are bilingual..its time to think again...does our english or chinese really comprehensive for the Western people or chinese..

i have to learn again my chinese when i come to china and drop off the "singlish" phrases when communicating with those western people....

one more thing to mention, i always seeing those parents conversate in english with their childrens, and they are so proud of it. The problem is, 90% of what i saw are speaking "singlish" to their children but not english, this has caused the english of their children become Singlish. So for those "in-gle-lish" speaking parents, please make sure your language is good enough or it will be better for you just to use hokkien or cantonese to talk to your children, atleast they can pick up proper languages in school.

i agreed with u

my foreign bosses has problem understanding our english the first few months he was here...
they tend to ask about our "lah" and "loh"....
hahaha