Permanent Speed Traps in Malaysia.

how about the cops hiding behind makcik fruit stall?

• speed-trap.JPG
    speed-trap.JPG
    33.5 KB · Views: 252
If they're serious about reducing accidents caused by speeding, they should make themselves visible to speeding drivers, so that drivers can slow down. Hiding means they wanna collect more money... :flute:

I think 110km/h speed limit is too slow on the highway nowadays. Cars have improved over the years in terms of safety and performance but the speed limit is still the same. Come on lah you slow-thinking Mr. G, at least increase it to 120km/h... Tol rate increases almost every year, but highway construction is not up to international standards. On top of that you'll get summon even if speeding just 5km/h over the speed limit.. WTF..!

Even they themselves in their car with the traffic lead don't drive this slow lo... always at NSE, saw them travel in group with traffic police open the road for them.. i think the speed should be well over 140km/h or more lo..

hi... i am suprised to see got people kena saman going over the speed limit 5kmh...

this is what i got (did not translate to english to maintain originality):

Kategori pertama - Kesalahan yang menjadi penyumbang utama kemalangan, keselamatan, pengguna, kesesakan lalu lintas dan perkhidmatan pengangkutan awam

Contoh Kesalahan - 1. Memandu laju (melebihi 40km/j yang ditetapkan
2. Melanggar lampu insyarat

KAtegori Kedua - Kesalahan berkaitan tingkah laku negatif pemandu dan kesalahan teknikal pada kenderaan yang boleh menyumbang secara aktif kepada kemalangan, kesesakan dan perkhidmatan pengangkutan awam.

Contoh kesalahan - Memandu laju (lebihan kelajuan kurang dari 40km/j dari had yang ditetapkan)

ok now here is my argument:

i totally agree on category A.
however, for category B, it seems that if we tend to cucuk people and get caught in the act, we should be penalize. if we suddenly change lane we should be penalize. so that means the only valid reason for speeding summon is in category A. So why do they issue summons to us if we only exceed 5kmh?? what is it mean by "speed trap".

if really they want to summon us less than 40kmh over the speed limit, they should call it " Attitude trap" instead. And they must produce aq picture of us doing the misconduct!

Agree with the above that being summoned for just going over the speed limit by 5 km/h is not really sensible. Cause even the speed guns and speedometers have tolerances/might not be 100% accurate and the roads are also not always even. So a driver should only get fined if being too obviously much faster than the limit cause that definitely shows true intention of speeding. Even in the US which is very strict in applying the rules, they still tolerate if you go around 10% over the limit (5-7mph)!