Platinum OR IRIDIUM plug for v6

dreamZz

Dear experts,

I'm perdanan owner currently think'g of change timing belt so i wonder which plug should i go for platinum or iridium? which one gv more power and save fuel? Tq..~!

iridum lasts longer then platinum plugs, and since its gonna be a biatch to change the plugs on the v6, its better to get a set of iridium sir. fyi, iridium plugs arent better then the so-called normal plugs, heck they are more prone to fouling then the normal oem's, but they last longer because of the iridium tip. if u can afford to change the plugs regularly, i wud suggest u go for the normal plugs jer

sir, thx for ur replied. Think'g of get platinium plug as iridium mahal. Is normal plug = platinium plug?

normal plugs isnt platinum plugs sir, shud lasts longer then normal ones. from what u wrote, iam starting to assume dat u r using the 4g63 inline4 instead of the 6a12 v6? if u r, then the normal plugs shud be a better option, i always suggest to regularly change items such as plugs, cables, etc

bro, am 6a12 owner, wish to use 4g63 too but can't efford at time being. Haha..thx for shar'g ur plug experience bro~!

As'salam xtremeleo,

Base on your statement, it would be cheaper/better to use normal plug (change every 5,000km)?Rather then using Iridium type.

Lets take an example for engine 4G63T. I've clocked almost 13,000km and the plug cable almost 30,000km. Base on my record, I change the plug every 20,000km (using Iridium).
But base on the NGK Iridium, it would last up to 100,000km ex proximately.

Please advise. Some said Iridium type much more better then normal other then lasting for longer period. This Iridium type will generate/produce more spark?

salam sir, accordin to my experience, its better to use normal plugs and regularly change them.

iridium just lasts longer sir, in fact they tend to foul more then normal plugs when tuning is done for high end engines. it doesnt produce more spark, or sumthing similar. they just last longer jer, thanx to the iridium electrode. fyi, iridium isnt one of the best conductor around, so the usage isnt to perform but rather for the plugs to last longer imo. if ur plugs are easy to access, then just use normal plugs jer. it may seem like iridium makes sense in the long run, but i prefer to change them regularly..

---------- Post added at 11:18 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:17 PM ----------

salam sir, accordin to my experience, its better to use normal plugs and regularly change them.

iridium just lasts longer sir, in fact they tend to foul more then normal plugs when tuning is done for high end engines. it doesnt produce more spark, or sumthing similar. they just last longer jer, thanx to the iridium electrode. fyi, iridium isnt one of the best conductor around, so the usage isnt to perform but rather for the plugs to last longer imo. if ur plugs are easy to access, then just use normal plugs jer. it may seem like iridium makes sense in the long run, but i prefer to change them regularly..

bro,
for v6, it will costs a bomb for workmanship to replace the spark plugs, so i suggest u go for iridium, it will lasts till 100k kms.....means u change your plugs, timing belt & water pump 1 shot....to save on workmanship, for iridium plugs, rm45 per pc. or u might opt for bosch fusion plugs. lasts up to 100k kms also, bout less than rm250 for 6 pcs.

rev performance sell around rm 37.00 . but of course you need to buy 8 lor :biggrin: