during the last holiday i was heading to Taiping on NSE. Just before the Changkat Jering exit, where i'm supposed to exit, there was a road block by the police. the road block caused a massive jam. i knew i was gonna be stopped because i was speeding all the way. eventually, i was stopped and i pulled to the side. but u know i stopped at post, he looked at my plate, looked back at his piece of paper and told me to stop at the side. so quickly he spotted my car reg. no. on a paper he was holding. noticed all big cars. no saga, no myvi, no kancil, no waja. i saw mercs, bimmers, hondas, camry's and so on. the bigger cars. the number of cars stopped were easily more than 15 at that time with only about 4 or 5 policemen. so i had to wait. this gave me time to think n react. i quickly gave all my RM50's to my wife to keep. only had bout 60 bucks left in my wallet. i was thinking how come so quickly that guy can spot my car reg no in that list. i felt that it was not right. a policeman came, wound down my window. gave him my ic n license. he said i was speeding. i asked where. he said in Ipoh turun bukit. speed limit 80kmh. as usual, he pretended like he was writing something in his summon book. i quickly admitted and said i didnt realise the limit was 80kmh there. i said sorry la i didnt know. he said the summon for speeding is rm300. i said no money. i opened my wallet and showed him. he said "bagi 5"(he meant 50 bucks i guess). i told him i got no money. need to pay toll. how? i asked. he said jalan. i said terima kasih encik n i jalan.
i just feel that the whole road block thing was not real. all they wanted was money i guess. it was deepavali eve and they prolly knew many would fall for their trap. if it was for real, summon me since i cant pay the 50 bucks bribe. why let me go? maybe he was a nice and understanding guy. maybe he let me go cuz i said no money and at the same time he saw a bigger car that was stopped after me. hoping to get money from that driver. i dont know la. these police, not all of course, are not good fellows after all.
recently i read in the papers, 7 policemen were arrested for misusing their power in roadblocks and extorting money from drivers. so when things like this happen, how to have faith in police?
anyway, it was another lucky escape for me. guess that by saying sorry, showing ur pitiful face and telling sad stories work. policemen are understanding, no doubt about that. my advice is to do this, if it doesnt work, just ask for the summon. dont bribe them. i'll nvr bribe police. for all u know, it might just be a trap. and for trying to save a few hundred bucks, u pay a fine, go to jail, and the embarassment is the worst not only for u but ur family as well.
So, JANGAN RASUAH.
i also would like to know, driving bigger cars make u more vulnerable to be stopped by police right?