problem on my 180sx..

ahpaul

Hey guys..i need help..last week i was changing my exhaust to full 3 inch...but after i drive for an hour like that..i was parking at the shop and white smoke come out..how come like that ar? last time before changing exhaust..no white smoke leh..plz help me all sifu..

before u change ur exhaust...u drive politely
after u change ur exhaust...u stepped on the pedal everytime ??

white smoke is sign of...1) turbo KO
2) Piston Rings KO

just my centssss

after i change my exhaust i still drive normally lo but of coz got full pedal la coz change exhaust wan to try the power. but me really that soi meh Haha. me still student leh . no money to repair . expensive ka if change piston ring ?

if changing piston rings,better to overhaul the engine lor...then need engine bearing +timing chain+ workmanship +etc i think its going to cost a bomb:emoticon_U:

better check if it is ur turbo...turbo still cost a few hundred bucks though

If my turbo and piston all those things good leh..wat might be other possible causes leh?

does the white smoke still comes out from ur exhaust..sometimes, u need to understand that when u change to a new exhaust, there will be temporary white smokes due to the new pipings and exhaust..if after few days still same, then u better check for ur turbine or piston rings.

I believe u bought used exhaust to fit in ur car.Sometimes there left a lot of old oil inside the used exhaust itself.When ur exhaust hot, the white smokes comes out. U check the exhaust condition or not before buy?If turbo blow, u can check tru boost meter, engine blow check tru engine oil press meter.

Ok ..i will try wait again lo..if continue like that i better bring it to the shop and check..i bought this used exhaust ..i din check the condition coz im from sarawak mah and i buy the exhaust from KL by postage..and the seller say good condition as the fibre is good he say so i buy lo..If there is oil left at the muffler..will it be gone?

Oh kaminari..how to check the turbo through the boost meter?? i cant check the engine since i din install oil pressure meter..

I suggest doing a compression test on the engine..get ur mechanic to do it ..Low compression on any particular cyclinder could mean piston damage, erratic compression could mean valve seals ..but if everything is ok, then most probably its the turbo that is causing the smoke.

The oil inside exhaust will take some long time also to dissappear. I having fren more worst, like spraying mosquito smoke all the way.hahhaha...

Turbo cond,premierly can monitor tru boost meter, if turbo blown, the boost meter will not kickin or max till 0 bar only.If turbo fin damage or not in gud cond,will kickin arnd 0.2~0.3 bar only from normal boost pressure 0.6bar.

Engine blown or piston ring gone can monitor tru engine oil pressure meter.Some car standard comes with engine pressure gauge, like skyline :regular_smile: .
Blown engine showing 0 (x100)kPa. 1st starting warm up 4~5(x100)kpa then maintain arnd 3(x100)kpa on normal idle rpm.When revving/driving the oil pressure will going up abt 0.6(x100)kpa each 1000rpm. If the meter shown maintain 3(x100)kpa all times means u need to change ur oil already.Damaged main or conrod bearing or faulty oil pump or leakage will give abt
Other sort u can check easiest way is compression test on each cylinder to comfirm the condition of the engine.

Ok..Thank you guys..really appreciate u all ar..maybe tomolo or next week i will do compression testing la since my turbo still givving a good boost.I will update to u guys after i done with the compression testing.

i think is our vavle seal damage la,your ca r still as power as before??if piston ring worn u will feel lack of power but vavle seal will only come out with white smoke..

fei said:
i think is our vavle seal damage la,your ca r still as power as before??if piston ring worn u will feel lack of power but vavle seal will only come out with white smoke..

YUP i agree with FEI ..........!!!!:_:

Hey guys im back..last week i sent my car to the workshop and yesterday i went there to see my car and surprisingly my mech told me no problem leh. He test my car and he say engine no problem..turbo still healthy..i wonder wat when wrong..maybe left some oil at my used muffler?..next few day i will go back again since i tell him to check properly again.

Dear,

Thank you for reading our message.

We want to inform you of the method of buying a Japanese car and parts very
cheaply.

Please contact us by E-mail.

Email: [email protected]

Regards,

Japan Vehicle Service Co., Ltd.
URL: http://japanvehicle.secondstep.biz/