Problem with DSL and a switch

glozz

Just need some advise and thoughts. I've got a DSL connection with a standard ADSL modem. It's connected to a pc firewall and in turn; to a switch. Now, this setup was working fine until recently when telekom came and changed the modem.

Now, the pcs sharing the connection are having inconsistent internet connections. At any one time, there will be AT LEAST 1 pc which doesn't have internet connection. And if you restart the pc, the internet connection would then be working. However, after a couple of hours, the cycle COULD recur again. The pcs are all running on windows 2k.

Any thoughts? I'm suspecting either the settings on the firewall, router or modem. Thanks alot!

Router may not be compatible with the new ADSL modem. I encountered this many times b4.

Linksys BEFSX41 - same problem as yours when connected to a Time Broadband DSL modem (ZTE?) but it works perfectly when connected to a Streamyx DSL modem (a Hyundai HASE-220).

Since too lazy to buy another router, I ended up making one from my pile of PC junk running on IPCop. Works damn well for a year plus with an uptime of 300 days! Woohoo! :D

Hmm; I suspected configuration, but not conflicts. I think it's an intel switch. Can't remember the model; but the new dsl modem's the ZTE. And it is a streamyx connection. :lol:

I'm thinking of doing a test with the modem to confirm it is the modem's problem. Any other possibility?

Thanks!

Nope. Only the DSL modem, a pc being used as a firewall and a 16-port switch.

Hhmm... if possible, borrow a router n test it out.

If it fails, the modem is conflicting with both PC (I assumed u are running ICS) and router.

Another solution is to upgrade the modem's firmware.

No internet connection sharing as far as I'm aware. The DSL's connected directly to the pc firewall and then outputted to the switch. I haven't checked the pc firewall yet, but any thoughts?

Hmm, need to check whether i could get a router plugged in into it.

LOL....basically you can have a junked 286 with 8mb ram be a firewall/router/switch/proxy/email server/anything you like but i wanna know whats the power consumption difference with monitor off?

coz i'm using dlink router with hyundai modem + streamyx
everything seems to work nicely
i think i've been using the same ip for days coz never off the modem and router :P

but if off modem, turn it on and it logon within a few minutes
so far no problems.
pesky thing is everytime i boot i logon to the internet and my IM logon too.
doing work or playing game then suddenly gf IM me say i dun choi her also when i go online :(

check your computer host , make sure the static ip is correct and the default getway is correct , and then check all your clients pc , make sure it has the same getway ip as the host . im assuming , your clients runs on DHCP mode , so when you restart your host , other clients are looking for a new ip to get connected but they can't find one cause ur host has lost connection , so they are preset with blank meaning no ip is been prefix . so u`ll have to restart your client pc to get it connected back to the host .

i use to have the same problem with my network at home , cause i use to run my clients on DHCP , but now i run them on static .

vestax,
I think you've got the nail on the head. It appears to be a problem on the host machine which is set to be the DHCP server. Have fixed that by using another machine as DHCP host because the current host machine is using outdated configurations. Hopefully this will solve the problem, if not; will revert to static IP.

Thanks alot guys for the suggestions and advise!

i've got a win xp pro desktop, imac, win 98 desktop, win xp home notebook and linux box all using DHCP no problems on my D-link (DL-704P) router. macines rebooting and all everything works smoothly.

but i had problems getting my Linksys wireless AP router to work, sold it and bought my current d-link. funny, thought linksys would be better than d-link since it has its roots from cisco <_<

if using a router won't be a problem , cause router acts as the getway to the internet , if your using a hub / switch , the host must have an static ip cause its the getway to the internet .

But what if you're using one of those standard aDsl modems with routing function, but no ports?