Problems!

player

Hi there..Not sure if anyone of u guys experience this b4 buy my car tps sensor is giving me lots of problem...my car jerking when i drive around 90-100km bcos my throttle position keep changing from 25% to 10% to 8% randomly even i didnt move my feet at all...check light come out when i rev my car to vtec and it blink 6 times means tps sensor...change a few tps sensor already but the problem still occur...anyone can help or any better workshop recommendation? TQ!

Check the distributor, 1 of the honda common problem. Car jerk all the way during high rev and can't engage vtec. RPM not stable, let said while u cruising 4000rpm without moving ur feet, ur RPM will drop to 1000,2000 or 3000 then back to 4000rpm again. And engine will die off sometimes.

I assume you're reading the tps reading off somewhere? VAFC?
As with all sensors reading the TPS, it needs to be calibrated, since the voltage for off-throttle and full throttle is different.. it's not very accurate, but it's usually not very far off.. maybe in the region of 1%.

I'd say check the wires.. and I assume you know the correct reading for the resistance of the TPS sensor at shut throttle plate when you mount the thing on the throttle body already?

If it's already correct, it might be that irregular voltage going into the TPS sensor due to various other problems (wiring/short-circuit/etc/etc)

Use the VAFC sensor check feature to find out (assuming you did wire the thing correctly)

Could be other problems though. I'm just pointing out what it seems like to me from your description.

good thought there woodykids. but then again for the case u mentioned it would be a CEL 4 instead of 6.

since the tps sends signal to the ecu and he is getting odd reading, i suggest u can pull a new wire direct from the tps to the ecu and see if you still get erratic readings since u have change the problem physically. it could be your wiring towards the ecu or the socket itself.

just my 23cents.

woodykids said:
Check the distributor, 1 of the honda common problem. Car jerk all the way during high rev and can't engage vtec. RPM not stable, let said while u cruising 4000rpm without moving ur feet, ur RPM will drop to 1000,2000 or 3000 then back to 4000rpm again. And engine will die off sometimes.

frm my database:-

6 ECT - water temperature sensor
7 TPS - throttle position sensor

FYI,
my TPS(CEL 7) oso sumtimes sot sot 1 but no problem watsoever b it during idling or WOT..car still runs smoothly......

Dunno about you guys, but I'm not truly sure what the TPS sensor does apart from telling the ECU about the throttle position.. esp for the ones using cables.

(is talking about bone stock engines)

From what I learned, the fuelling is decided mainly by manifold pressure, (with other sensors thrown in the mix)

The only reason for the TPS is to recognise WOT, if I'm not mistaken, where the ECU goes into closed-loop mode.

Still learning.. maybe you guys know more.

So I'm curious as to the jerking... but I'm assuming he wired some form of piggyback unit (I think it's the VAFC) that is TPS and Manifold pressure based, which my throw his fuel enrichment/leaning off, causing the jerking.

Try recording your pressure map on the VAFC/piggyback unit, and see if the pressure fluctuates or drops, which might give clues on what problems it might be.

The manifold pressure can give clues as to what's happening before the air enters the intake, and also what's happening to the air being sucked into the intake manifold. A too rich setup on a piggy back unit can throw a CEL because the fuel being injected decreases manifold pressure, and when it hit positive, you get a CEL. repeatedly hitting positive pressure in a span of time makes it blink.

How did you check your CEL?

Bro shiroi thanks a lot for your reply...but i cant GET all what u say coz i not very good in this kind of thing....haha...how to record pressure map on my AFC NEO?...Is it normal for my TPS to jump non stop after the engine started...One thing i notice is b4 i start my engine (just ignition ON) the TPS running good... just move 1% in between maybe lower..But after i start my engine is really different story...so i suspect the socket of the TPS or maybe some wiring is loose...Is it possible?...Damm frust to drive a car that JERK like hell everyday man...PLEASE HELP!

It could be some mechanical part, have you check your drive-shaft? A friend of mine had similar problem, his mechanic replaced the drive-shaft and the car running smooth. I'm not expert, just sharing information.

i think its best if you tell your car model, year, engine type and also ecu.

if its an error 6, then its under your distributor. it could be your water/coolent problem. maybe theres air bubble that makes the erratic cold start. bleed them and see what happens. when this happens one of the symptoms u cant engage vtec.

if its an error 7, then its another different story. since u said u have changed the TPS many times, then i think its no longer a TPS problem. r u driving a civic or accord?since you say when ignition ON its ok and when it starts, everything goes bad. if its a AIR problem that goes into the TB and intake manifold it should be the IACV. then it should be easier to detect, just on the aircond and it should be worst.

im just trying to related the ERROR 6 and TPS. it doesnt sound right.

just my 1cent.

player said:
Bro shiroi thanks a lot for your reply...but i cant GET all what u say coz i not very good in this kind of thing....haha...how to record pressure map on my AFC NEO?...Is it normal for my TPS to jump non stop after the engine started...One thing i notice is b4 i start my engine (just ignition ON) the TPS running good... just move 1% in between maybe lower..But after i start my engine is really different story...so i suspect the socket of the TPS or maybe some wiring is loose...Is it possible?...Damm frust to drive a car that JERK like hell everyday man...PLEASE HELP!

My mech suspect the air problem too...so he ask me to change a TB and see how...I am not sure blink 6 or 7 times already...But i am sure there are 2 codes no1 is distributor and another is TPS...I change my distributor already and now the code is gone..just left the TPS code only...I suspect is the TPS problem and not other thing is bcos when my car jerk i take a look at my AFC and TPS percentage just going up and down without moving my feet at all...Any expert here that want to take a look at my car?...Or any good workshop recommendation?...I am driving a civic with a B18C GSR transplant...ECU not sure about it but no speed cut!!! HAHA!

player said:

Not familar with the neo, so I can't tell if the menu's the same or not.

but for the old VAFC/II, (check and see if it's the same). You can (and should) do the following while the engine is not running, and in the keys on the ignition-on position. sensor check is under the etc. menu, see the voltage going in, it should be within the 0-5V range, and should not fluctuate a lot when keeping the pedal in the same position.

One thing worth nothing that under the 'car select' menu under menu, you have the tps sensor type, which should be the one with the arrow pointing top right. highlight that, and then wait ten seconds (or a bit more) for the VAFC to retain off-throttle position, then press full throttle for ten seconds, this is the calibration feature. VAFC will NOT show any messages for this, apart from inside the manual.

for while driving, (with a partner, of course)
for recording pressure map, go to channel select, select Rev-Y, and then press >, then press ^ to record, and > to replay (I think, I don't have the manual with me, but rest assured you can't mess your settings from this menu.)

on another note, if you can't record the pressure map, then just observe the pressure numbers on VAFC when it happens... does the pressure change wildly, or just remain the same? does it increase or reduce? jerking can also happen due to overfuelling, and reading the manifold pressure numbers can give clues on what's happening during the jerking.

J101 said:
im just trying to related the ERROR 6 and TPS. it doesnt sound right.

just my 1cent.

True, the fact that the TPS has been changed many times should mean that it's not a TPS problem.

Anyway.. I wonder if the TPS is installed properly.