Proton Major overhaul

superz

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2006/4/26/nation/14067087&sec=nation

Proton gets a major overhaul
By JAGDEV SINGH SIDHU

SHAH ALAM:
Proton Holdings Bhd will undergo a total overhaul in the way it runs its business. It must do this to increase sales and make the company more competitive, said managing director Syed Zainal Abidin Syed Mohamed Tahir.

Syed Zainal Abidin, who briefed the media yesterday after 100 days as the top executive of the national car company, said the revamp of Proton was to win back the consumers, improve productivity, lower costs and ultimately boost sales.

“We cannot make any more mistakes,” he said at the briefing that outlined Proton’s multi-pronged strategy for its future.

Number one on Syed Zainal Abidin’s to-do list is to improve the quality of Proton cars, an issue that has not only been a thorn for Proton but also for many of its car owners.

The division that looked after the quality of Proton cars will no longer fall under the control of the factory but will report directly to him.

Proton will also be sending at least 50 of its technical staff to dealers and service centres in various parts of the country to get feedback from customers.
In product development, Proton will now abandon its “silo” approach to building cars so that the good and bad experiences can be shared across all platforms.
Syed Zainal Abidin said Proton would be building new cars – a mix of its own and those in collaboration with other car makers – which would replace some of Proton’s existing models and would use customer feedback in building cars that the people want instead of what the company feels they should drive.
“Some of the models have been on the road for too long,” he conceded.

Proton is also working with its unit Lotus to build a car within the RM100,000 range in Malaysia.

To cut costs and improve productivity, Syed Zainal Abidin said the appointment of vendors would be done via a committee and purchasing by Proton would also be streamlined.

Proton currently has 14 logistics providers and that number will be cut to a maximum of three while the number of vendors Proton will directly deal with will be reduced to between 20 and 30.

Apart from that, Proton will also reduce the 1,700 third party suppliers of raw materials and other non-automotive components and go directly to the source.
“This is to minimise transactions that don’t create any value for the company,” he said, adding that bulk purchases would be done for both Proton and its vendors.

In terms of improving sales domestically, Proton will begin to engage the man in the street in a more active manner. Delivery of cars will be done at the client’s convenience.

Syed Zainal Abidin said Proton would organise more customer get-togethers, car clinics, sales carnivals, the best modified car competition and other programmes that would engage itself with its customers.

He said Proton would now refocus on its export strategy and would balance between volume and profitability when pursuing its export markets.
He pointed out that only between 60% and 65% of export orders were met, and that was because of delays in delivery of exclusive parts and other issues such as agreements.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
>>Proton is also working with its unit Lotus to build a car within the >>RM100,000 range in Malaysia.
wah....proton planing to replace the Perdana?

hopefully such business re-engineering will be good for all the rakyat...

Apart from that, Proton will also reduce the 1,700 third party suppliers of raw materials and other non-automotive components and go directly to the source.
“This is to minimise transactions that don’t create any value for the company,” he said, adding that bulk purchases would be done for both Proton and its vendors.

i like this one, might be able to get rid of some contractor selling stuff insanely overpriced to get quick profit, if they did it correctly...

the best modified car competition and other programmes
hope government support this and legalize it, i mean, set clear rules or law on what we can do and what we can't, so no more gray area, and no need give duit kopi anymore.

yalor those farked up policemen that always go :" Saya bukan cakap you punya tak legal, tapi kena tow balik balai buat inspection..... mungkin sampai esok pukul 1 siap lar, you mari balai tunggu, kita esok pigi puspakom pukul 8 lar, skarang u punya keta tak bole jalan, kena tow balik; saya bukan cakap u punya salah tau?! "

jibai ..............

lol ~ i'm worried too. thats funny, "To build a car within the RM100,000 range in Malaysia" .............. what were they thinking? to limit their capabilities? they can just go :" We'll build a car" then we would anticipated to be :" We know its gonna be under 100k ...." anyway, who's in to see another round of dare to change happening? i'll sit in and see, and wait. :)

Ingolstadt said:
yalor those farked up policemen that always go :" Saya bukan cakap you punya tak legal, tapi kena tow balik balai buat inspection..... mungkin sampai esok pukul 1 siap lar, you mari balai tunggu, kita esok pigi puspakom pukul 8 lar, skarang u punya keta tak bole jalan, kena tow balik; saya bukan cakap u punya salah tau?! "

jibai ..............

i love this one... it really depicts a typical policeman stopping a modded car. hahaha.... maybe this is their SOP.. hahaa...

proton : hrm...if we wanna build a LOTUS for our fellow malaysians..it would costs about 200k! *wat to do?*

*picks up phone and calls quality control*

proton : hey guys.screw the checks done for the new car.cut cost.

QC : ok boss.

malaysians : CCB proton!!

Lotus: We use super-alloyed titanium to lighten our vehicles by not compromising the rigidity of the vehicle. However, such material will cost a lot.

Proton: Hmmm... we need to find alternatives.

*flips through a material handbook*

Proton: Maybe we can use stainless steel.

*Lotus pengz*

maybe proton building a sports sedan thet cost 100.000...makes sense from what the paper sed...

the problem is they must realise that not all Malaysian can afford a RM100K range car in Malaysia, unless they and the bank extend the monthly installment period to...what, 20 years?

Ingolstadt said:

jibai ..............

can they simply tow our car back by just suspexcting our car is not legal?

Talk is cheap.

Anyway, I can't help but feel that Lotus and its expertise is under utilised by Proton. Why did they buy Lotus if not for help in R&D?

Lotus has this fancy flexible platform thingie, that supposedly could be adapted to make any sort of car, from small hatchbacks to big MPVs. It was recently shown at Geneva. They've even got a new engine. Why aren't Proton taking advantage of Lotus tech? Maybe they are but it certainly doesn't show. The only thing we can see is it being used by the marketing men excessively and Proton slapping Lotus badges on cars and that's it. And sort out the bloody Campro with proper cam profiling. Make the engine tie up with Petronas work. Phase out the bloody old models. Sort out the quality issues not just with new cars but the existing ones as well.

the lotus apx is actually proton's msx project...only now under azlan it's being scrapped and badge lotus cos people like you cant get it into their skull and bash blindly if it is proton...but put lotus badge...walla...instant praises...so now you all are saying proton not utilised lotus haaa....but under new regime/management...rnd is deemed not usefull...they prefer to do rebadging cars like P2..mahindra proton anyone?

si|verfish said:
May I know what kind of pills you are on?
If you're refering to Cek Pit, I'd ask the same question too. Maybe he was on Protonstacy pills. heh heh

Does anyone really care if proton rebadge this to that, or that to this? The main thing that people always complain about is the damned quality of their vehicles. I have this feeling that even if Proton copies designs from whoever, as long as the quality is there, people really won't mind that much. The main thing here is QUALITY.

Syed Zainal Abidin, who briefed the media yesterday after 100 days as the top executive of the national car company, said the revamp of Proton was to win back the consumers, improve productivity, lower costs and ultimately boost sales.
Ultimately? Does this mean they're still focusing on sales first? I wonder what that really means la. hhmm.... *scratches head*

superz said:
Proton is also working with its unit Lotus to build a car within the RM100,000 range in Malaysia.

easily done. actually the rebadge a lotus elise mk1 (first emerged in 1996) to be the affordable lotus for malaysia!

why not. it already 10years that elise! the most expensive is the bonded/glued chassis, else the body panels are fibreglass, the front lights are from old renault. (I came across a history of that good handling elise.)

The only questionable part is the engine. will they use a now defunct rover K series engine or a campro engine? (a VVTL-i is not possible as the earlier elise has almost no room unless hacking)

well, thats speculation. if it does then it will be a nice cheap track car!! a proton mk1 elise!! (or it might be called proton elesa???):shocked:

jokes aside; it will be good if theres a affordable track car rebadged proton sports!

satria_95 said:
Ultimately? Does this mean they're still focusing on sales first? I wonder what that really means la. hhmm.... *scratches head*

buy 3 free 1? or no instalments for the first 6 months! hehehe :angel_smile:

proton make (or better still rebadge the lotus elise mk1!!). I'll buy!! (for my track days)

Well, the best is we sit at back and watch our new Proton boss do his job, maybe he can make this come true.