PVC Pipe For Your Turbo

50'c? 210c'? some turbo owner here... plz share u guys informations....

if you guys happen to ask some turbo engine owner, which have the exhaust temp meter... ask them how many 'c reading they have after some hot run...

one of my friend's gsr once shoot up 900'c on his defi....

if 900'c on the exhaust, what's the temp for the intake beside it? so you gonna connect the PVC frm turbine to air filter? then turbine to intercooler?

erm.... either u stick with stock or straight go do stainless steel/aluminium intercooler piping, dun risk you engine for fun.....

search on youtube, you may find some evo dyno video... some of them the exhaust manifold turn burning red after some dyno run....

MAXX bro, how abt hard boosting go up to genting?

the temp i posted is all at intake side. b4 intercooler boosted air very hot. not suitable for pvc. after might be suitable for testing purpose.

exhaust up to 900c r normal for turbo engine.

genting? very far ler.. hehe.. just boosting here n there for testing purpose i think enough lar.. hehe..

btw, my piping (stock) do "crossover" on top of turbo assembly b4 intercooler.
should i wrap (using ex. thermal wrap?) the piping or heatshield the turbo?

btw, my piping (stock) do "crossover" on top of turbo assembly b4 intercooler.
should i wrap (using ex. thermal wrap?) the piping or heatshield the turbo?

thermal wrap is to avoid the heat from escaping from inside to outside.u want
to avoid the heat from outside to inside,u better use thermal shield.

btw thanks bro for the info.

ken.....wa lan,me do bait....lai mou kau chor ar...:thefinger: hehehe....

This one last time i work for hardware shop before and generally got some knowledge.

For the pipes. Generally there are a few grades. Using the color to determine the grades is easier. For general household cleaning resistance white color pipe. This one usually used for drainage. It cannot hold high pressure is somewhat flexible for installation. Only comes in sizes 2" diameter above.

For the normal grey types we see everyday got good quality and cheapo ones. Usually can be seen pipe wall thickness. Sirim approved or not can be printed easily, so there are fakes. Only the shop fella knows. Comes in sizes 1" diameter above.

Then there is the black industrial ones. These are quite expensive. They are somewhat flexible like hose. Actually used to install water heater units. But the grey ones work as well. Have seen this piping used for constaruction work where cars run over them constantly and they don't leak. I have not seen this pipe bigger than 2.5". And you need an adapter and pipe end to connect.

Ok back to the question. Yes, can use PVC piping for intercooler pipe. BUT!!!! It can only last a while when the plastic compound loses its flexibility through heat and becomes brittle. Not recommended because of the service life.

I recommend it be used as a Cold Air Intake (CAI). Something like Piper Cross stuff. The only bad thing is you need to make new joints to direct air flow. the pros is definitely cost. If you want to dress up the pipe a little you can use high temp paint over them.

Still over time it would become brittle on the inside. Still service life comes into play.

WOW~ :adore: Temperature reader in engine bay~ Nice nice~ :biggrin:

Thanks for the information bro~ :love:

What reader did you use? Mind to share?:adore:

Ken,
just a stupid termometer...
i bought it last time in Uk... its actually a basement temp reader...
n my statement is all abt the temp in engine bay...

Max,
900c is to high for normal cruising..
better check urs..

if boosted hard, a normal ones will not even exceed 850c..

+somehow i think using PVC is not a clever job for us forced induction...

plastic pipes....get brittle after time la......

go to a staimless steel factory. not the factory that makes the pipes or ss sheets, but the factory that makes gates, awnings, grilles, handrail guards and other housing/ building stuff. There is one behind GIANT plentong in JB.

in the factory, u can get all sorts of stainless steel pipes, pre mandrel bent L shape, U shape etc. Then get some black industrial rubber hose from a hose supplier. Plenty around Austin, Rosmerah, check the yellow pages u lazy fella

Find a friend with a good circular saw to cut up the pipes. The rubber hose comes in a long length and u have to chop up to size using the circular saw too. clip up using some quality stainless steel hose clips and tadah.......

I have not seen this pipe bigger than 2.5".

hey netmatrix, now you do, bro! :wavey:
IIRC these shud be 2.5", no? but there're bigger ones that i've no pic of. and i can stuff a goat easily in those.. :thefinger:

http://img176.imageshack.us/img176/2817/0724131906vt3.jpg

http://img300.imageshack.us/img300/9293/0724131445zh1.jpg

nice pipes... haha
i think this one might be suitable for testing.
but i never saw bigger ones. only those small2 ~1/2" - 3/4"

if the pipe comes with 3" n got 90 degree elbow,i'm willing to be
the guinea pig....hehehe

Ken,
just a stupid termometer...
i bought it last time in Uk... its actually a basement temp reader...
n my statement is all abt the temp in engine bay...

Max,
900c is to high for normal cruising..
better check urs..

if boosted hard, a normal ones will not even exceed 850c..

+somehow i think using PVC is not a clever job for us forced induction...

Thanks for the information bro, cool thing you have there~ :itsme:

thermal wrap is to avoid the heat from escaping from inside to outside.u want
to avoid the heat from outside to inside,u better use thermal shield.

btw thanks bro for the info.

ken.....wa lan,me do bait....lai mou kau chor ar...:thefinger: hehehe....

Relax bro relax~ :nurse: I bring pretty nurse along for some special treatment~ :rofl:

IIRC these shud be 2.5", no? but there're bigger ones that i've no pic of. and i can stuff a goat easily in those.. :thefinger:

bare in mind, that, when u r using this kinda of stuffs, ur car/engine/joinings will have the rattling sound..
it will vibrate all the way!

i've used this, the hose can withstand pressure of up to 16 or 60 bar if im not mistaken..
only used part of it at the joinings inlet n outlet of i/c and also between intake(b.o.v) to i/c inlet..

if u dont believe me, then try it.....

These pipes looks strong~ :itsme: Construction people use them to channel their water? Lorries and vehicles crunch on them not even a foot underground~ :wavey:

bare in mind, that, when u r using this kinda of stuffs, ur car/engine/joinings will have the rattling sound..
it will vibrate all the way!

i've used this, the hose can withstand pressure of up to 16 or 60 bar if im not mistaken..
only used part of it at the joinings inlet n outlet of i/c and also between intake(b.o.v) to i/c inlet..

if u dont believe me, then try it.....

How about using glue to secure the joints? Like those home grey PVCs~ :itsme:

should use the pvc cement (glue) to joint.
it will make strong bonding between pvc coz the cement actually like melting abit the pvc and bonding them together.

but, if im not mistaken, the black pvc piping usually use some kind of clamping jointer to joint the pipes.

Hi [COLOR=blue! important][FONT=verdana, geneva, lucida, 'lucida grande', arial, helvetica, sans-serif][COLOR=blue! important][FONT=verdana, geneva, lucida, 'lucida grande', arial, helvetica, sans-serif]HKS[/FONT][/FONT][/COLOR][/COLOR]-GT2835R. Wow! The pipe walls must be about 5 mm thick i think. Yes these are the pipes those construction fellas used to channel water for cement mixing. If you come across construction sites, sometimes you can see them. Else thy use the cheap rubber hose. But depends la on how the conractors wanna work. Cheap or expensive.

From the looks the joint clamps even have nuts and bolts to secure them, indicating high pressure usage.

Oh yeah, someone talked about ABSs plastic for intercooler pipes. This one you can see in Volvo, Audi & saab cars. I think got more cars also use these ABS pipes. But i only manage to see from these cars.

Anyway a good way to judge if this DIY works is to run the car at the track. For street driving, i think you would not max out the piping strength as much. But this only on paper la. Real world testing is different.

In the end, if got spare engine why not? hehehe.