Rain Stain Remover

cyoterrence

Recently bought a Pro******* Brands Rain Stain Removal, it really removed the rain stain. I applied it to all my car's glass mirror including both side mirror as well. It gave me a good result. However, when come to the front mirror, oh .. god..! I realized that the rain stain has gone, but it gave me a big trouble. The front mirror become matte surface, blur on the surface. It cannot be removed even I applied the rain stain remover for few times. I dunno what happen. Do anybody know how to solve. Why this product with an award records can make this thing happened?

It make me difficult to drive in day or night due to the vision from the glass.

My photo explain everything.

• rain stain remover effect.jpg
    rain stain remover effect.jpg
    24.6 KB · Views: 590
  • rain stain remover effect1.jpg
    rain stain remover effect1.jpg
    27.4 KB · Views: 607
will sand paper leave mark? maybe a 2000 grit ?

try Rain-x, to remove it, maybe u'll should use a buffer...

hmm...you should have asked around first before start using this stain removal. based on your pic, this is almost similar like another brand call tomcat which contained high concerntrated acid. if your windscreen got micro scratches/holes, then this liquid will fill in those gaps and create result like foggy/matte. 2yrs back, i heard this is very hard to get it removed. i think you need to google and see if any forumers successfully get it done.

Dear CYOTERRENCE,

As what you mentioned the product give you good results but unfortunately you did not read the instruction. The instruction has clearly stated CAUTION-DO NOT APPLY ON WINDSCREEN WITH RAIN REPELLENT, DO NOT APPLY ON COATED MIRROR,... The problem occured due to your windscreen with rain repellent. IT IS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE PRODUCT BUT ONLY YOUR HANDLING MATTER.
The only way to minimise the matt surface is to polish the surface with rubbing compound.

thanks for all your replies, bros.. Unfortunately, I am not aware of the windshield was coated. And I am sure that not applied rain repellant to the screen previously. Maybe i would try to use rubbing compound.

nah
sent for glass polishing or if u have the time and elbow power, polish it
gonna be hard

this occur cause everytime u use your wiper, ur glass is too dirty (sorry to say) and too little water was present this resulting in fine scratches on your windscreen

I had the same problem a few years ago when applied onto the wind screen of my brand new Toyota ! I'll never use rain repellent such as rain x or similar anymore.

so what to use for remove the Rain Stain? i have the similar problem... which one is effective way? all my windows hav this problem.. kinda annoyed when raining time cos with the stain ..

I have been using Rain-X for few years and have no issues with it, it really depends on how you use it. Here is what I usually do:

1. Wash and clean the windscreen surface to avoid dust and dirt
  2. Wipe the surface with a dry cloth to make sure it is dry
  3. Apply rubbing compound to the windscreen
  4. Use a clean cloth to wipe the surface after applying rubbing compound
  5. Apply Rain-X to the surface accordingly
  6. Use a clean cloth to wipe the surface dry after applying Rain-X. Job done, no issues.

anybody know the product can remove the stain???

---------- Post added at 09:13 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:12 AM ----------

Where can i get the rubbing compound???

I have been using Rain-X for few years and have no issues with it, it really depends on how you use it. Here is what I usually do:

1. Wash and clean the windscreen surface to avoid dust and dirt
  2. Wipe the surface with a dry cloth to make sure it is dry
  3. Apply rubbing compound to the windscreen
  4. Use a clean cloth to wipe the surface after applying rubbing compound
  5. Apply Rain-X to the surface accordingly
  6. Use a clean cloth to wipe the surface dry after applying Rain-X. Job done, no issues.

Windshield cleaner, or put it in for an expensive vallet at a specialist car vallet place. I had some stain on windscreen and on the carpets under my http://www.mycarmats.co.uk/, but took the car to a vallet ocmpany, paid £20 and the car looks brand new again now - windscrren even looks new!

Recently bought a Pro******* Brands Rain Stain Removal, it really removed the rain stain. I applied it to all my car's glass mirror including both side mirror as well. It gave me a good result. However, when come to the front mirror, oh .. god..! I realized that the rain stain has gone, but it gave me a big trouble. The front mirror become matte surface, blur on the surface. It cannot be removed even I applied the rain stain remover for few times. I dunno what happen. Do anybody know how to solve. Why this product with an award records can make this thing happened?

look like the product bonded to the surface. Its either ur surface wasn't clean before you apply or there is a coating on your windscreen and when you apply the product its someone 'burn' that coating...

Have you try reapply the product...and see whether is can be remove ?

* Never be stupid SANDPAPER your glass, Glass is way harder then your paint and clear coat...or even sand paper...unless you using very hard object to scratch is - alike stone or crystal, then only it get PERMENANT scratch....

I agree with you yeehau86 Rain-X for few years and have no issues with it, it really depends on how you use it.

Dear CYOTERRENCE,

As what you mentioned the product give you good results but unfortunately you did not read the instruction. The instruction has clearly stated CAUTION-DO NOT APPLY ON WINDSCREEN WITH RAIN REPELLENT, DO NOT APPLY ON COATED MIRROR,... The problem occured due to your windscreen with rain repellent. IT IS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE PRODUCT BUT ONLY YOUR HANDLING MATTER.
The only way to minimise the matt surface is to polish the surface with rubbing compound.

Why so defensive and worked up? Are you a rep form the company? Come on, people already have trouble here. If he did a mistake, he did a mistake. No big deal about it. If don't have suggestion to help, just don't flame him. If you got such problem on your car, how will you feel? Then kena flame again.

---------- Post added at 10:13 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:12 AM ----------

How are things bro? Send for glass polish or if you got polisher, try do yourself. Do update us with the progress ya... Don't worry. I don't think it is something unfixable. :burnout:

+1 for the rubbing compound..

from my 1st car,it never fail to do the job.just make sure to keep ur paint away from it..:adore: