Rear Stabilizer Link

sizlo

Harlow Sifus,

I have been having this constant noise/rattling from the rear end of my DC5. When i check with the workshop he said it's the absorber linkage. Not sure what absorber linkage was so i went to check the manual and i believe it's called Stabilizer Link which connects the rear swaybar to the stabilizer link bracket. The link is still attached but kinda loose. The thing is, i don't find this piece of metal on the left rear. Now i'm confused. What's the purpose of having this link? What happen if i take this one out? If needs to be replaced where can i get a compatible replacement?

Right Rear wheel
http://img685.imageshack.us/img685/8696/92621753.jpg

Left Rear Wheel
http://img715.imageshack.us/img715/526/12598177.jpg

Also anyone knw where i can source for used original DC5 05 front bumper?
TIA.

-sizlo

Based on the pics I believe you are referring to the rear upper arm. This thing has its lifespan since the rubber mounting will not last forever. It might need to be changed once the mounting is torn. Things like this are best if you buy brand new and since you require changing, get an adjustable version so you can tweak the rear camber degrees (also known as adjustable camber kit). Would be nice to buy T1R version (http://www.aj-racing.com/shop/product.php?productid=1131&cat=469&page=1) but you can also get it from Hardrace. It's cheaper and the quality is good. Try scouting around Sunway.

As for the FL bumper, it's hard to get used unit here unless you're willing to drive down to Singapore. Check out Singapore integra forum regularly.. You might find what you want there. I took the liberty to drive to Singapore to pick up my 2005 Chargespeed Kouki bodykit for my car. stuffed it in company's car, paid the tax (declare item as gift and you have to pay minimal amount as opposed to 30% from invoice value..) and drove back home happily.

All the best bro

i just got my fgk rm01a catback exhaust system over the weekend from singapore too. went past customs and there wasnt even anyone there to check! :biggrin:

i think what is sizlo mean is the anti roll bar link... this link is connected to your rear anti roll bar, and maybe that left rear anti roll link is located at other part of your car body, maybe below... u can google what the purpose of its... its seem that your one is adjustable link... you can change it to after market link....

thanks all for the reply!

yeah so many names i don't even know what's the standard term.
by default it should look like this
images?q=tbn:eYyjnE62dZngPM.jpg

but with the dc5, it kinda have that screw in between,i guess for adjusting the length? I was literally humping my rear dc5 to re-produce the sound, and once the foreman pull the link with his barehands, the noise went away.

so anti roll bar link? if you look at the diagram below, it should be the #12
tIfAUCYwM::&t=1&usg=__qjOONt6MhWdR8-J6IKZHNheMc_A=.png

I wonder what will happen to the handling without this link. I do feel a lot of body roll lately.. :burnout:
I find it weird that the position is not symetrical

By the way where can i get this replaced? Any suggestion?

-sizlo

found this site to explain briefly on what stabilizer link is in general.
http://www.ehow.com/facts_5006367_what-stabilizer-link-car.html

---------- Post added at 07:44 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:31 PM ----------

by 05 im assuming facelifted right?

Yeah. PM me if you have contacts yah!

i think it's the bushing that on rear stabilizer . i got it replaced for around rm100 for both right and left. my mechanic bought it for me, or u can ask from exceptional.