Rotary engine, What ECU ?

ahPhan,

Ya my avatar is from rx7forum.com. Since i have been a member there for so many years thought i'd rip off a avatar. Very observant of you. :)

dave

pang ,

Well apexi PFC is very popular too , but not as good as haltech feature , also i think a very few rotary here in malaysia that runs haltech , microtech or motec on the street ,
I just browse on the info .. didnt reply on msg at the forum ,

Originally posted by phat7@Sep 28 2004, 14:16
Well well,

I seem to have caught the limelight. Hehehehe. Did my highschool in Darwin (Northern Territory for those who dont know) and basic mechanical courses were offered to students. I was only 15 and i never used to understand what rotaries where coz every ang mo there cannot stop talking bout them. A good friend showed me how they put together 13b NA/turbo engines but of couselah i was never interested. Anyways on how they tune their cars..well most of the racing that goes on there is strictly drag legal or in some industrial area late at night. The cars are purpose tuned WOT. Try driving them on the road and you'll curse. This was in 1994 and my idea of a car is to have fun with and not butcher it. When i was in Sydney for Uni saw the same thing as well. AusRotary seems to very much lean towards dragging and how much dragging are you gonna do in Malaysia. I drive an rx7 and sometimes get tempted to switch ecu's but like i said earlier I dont see the point in enhancing my ecu as i am not running parts that render it. Since we are on this topic and i can see that you guys seem to propagate Microtech. At what point do you switch ecu's? the stock fuel system still delivers if you have exhaust/intakes/ic right?

dave
hey bro,

no la,i was taken a back with your statement in which u said that u 'know' how Australians tune cars u see....yeah,no love lost man...so,how have u been running your FD??share a bit bit info la...

as for your avatar,i wanted to rip it off myself!! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Originally posted by coolblue@Sep 28 2004, 23:35
pang ,

Well apexi PFC is very popular too , but not as good as haltech feature , also i think a very few rotary here in malaysia that runs haltech , microtech or motec on the street ,
I just browse on the info .. didnt reply on msg at the forum ,
yo man,

yup,indeed Power FC is very very popular.i guess the difference is that it is 'manageable' by its customers(commander).it runs from its base map and not much technicalities involved as it is always self-learning.

no doubt Haltech runs many more auxilliary functions,however,the question is:is it neccessary?coz for rotary-powered cars,i really am not sure about the needs of anti-lag,launch control,sequential firing etc etc.so far,i only heard of an FC running haltech,no FD.

well,only time will tell what's good as engine management is still pretty new for FDs.those who has the info,do share.....

cheers....

dont wreck the engine coz its a bitch of an experience dude. :)

one question guys, 13b is a 2 rotor engine. how many spark plugs are there then? if i recall rightly, there is a trailing and leading spark per rotor, does this mean there are 4 plugs? thanks.

Originally posted by phat7@Sep 30 2004, 11:58
dont wreck the engine coz its a bitch of an experience dude. :)
hahahaha...too late man,engine went for rebuild!

AhPang Dude...sorry to hear that man. Anyways mine just out after rebuild. Who is doing your rebuild? What are your mods? Maybe we can meet up when your car ready.

dave

Originally posted by phat7@Sep 30 2004, 21:37
AhPang Dude...sorry to hear that man. Anyways mine just out after rebuild. Who is doing your rebuild? What are your mods? Maybe we can meet up when your car ready.

dave
no probs bro....mine is a rather complete rebuilt(new housing,rotors,2mm apex seals bla bla bla....)Speed-D is handling the rebuild in which the engine should be in the car,abt 24 hrs from now(fingers crossed!)

standard la the car...nothing much worth mentioning....yours??

cheers! :)

Bought a 280 front clip sometime ago and got it installed. Had major problems because i was persuaded to rebuilt but once rebuilt the car was acting funny so i said Fuck it and bought a 280. Had to wait damn 9 long before a good one came along. Got my car back now and waiting to get approval from puspaCON ;) Pretty much stock. The last experience really scared me. Cant wait to get my exhaust done though once my car is out.

I saw a couple of fds at Dee's. What colour? Going single? Anywhere you can get a 280 front bumper at good price?

dave

Originally posted by DRFT_240sx@Sep 27 2004, 03:55
me ah , i got large street port , t04 turbine with 1.15 hot side , greddy 3 core intercooler , 720 primary injectors each and 800 secondary injectors each... boosting a mild 12psi....but already pushing 325hp to the wheels.....

other stuff include , fluidyne radiator bla bla bla for cooling the engine , tb mod , coolant mod etc.... =)
Hi Drift 240Sx,

You have an RX7? Sounds like good mods. Please share your experience. Did you experience any boost creep once you removed your cats/midpipes?

dave

Do you guys have any sources/websites of the MINES ECU for FD, please let me know.
Many Thanks. :rolleyes:
RERider

Originally posted by phat7@Oct 1 2004, 19:02
Bought a 280 front clip sometime ago and got it installed. Had major problems because i was persuaded to rebuilt but once rebuilt the car was acting funny so i said Fuck it and bought a 280. Had to wait damn 9 long before a good one came along. Got my car back now and waiting to get approval from puspaCON ;) Pretty much stock. The last experience really scared me. Cant wait to get my exhaust done though once my car is out.

I saw a couple of fds at Dee's. What colour? Going single? Anywhere you can get a 280 front bumper at good price?

dave
hey bro,

thanks for the info...what u meant by 'acting funny after the rebuilt'??
mine's the blue with white wheels....dont plan to go single anytime soon... ;)

i JUST bought a 99 spec front bumper with the lip....costs rm2.4k without the turn lights...the lights i ordered new from US...that'll be like 1k la....let me know if u want to get them too..maybe can get discount?? :) :) :)

cheers....

here is some info on the nhra sports compact on rx8 running microtech.

Scheepers will move to Modified with new Mazda RX-8

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ken Scheepers
All Motor racer Ken Scheepers, who walked away uninjured from a May 2 wreck at the NHRA Sport Compact Drag Racing Series in Englishtown, N.J., that damaged "beyond economical repair" his vaunted RX-7 mount, will now build a 2004 Mazda RX-8 to compete in the Modified class.

"Steve Sanders at Mazda Motorsports Development has approved this move from Mazda's marketing perspective as have my current associate product sponsors,

Mazda, NGK Spark Plugs, K&N Engineering, Mickey Thompson, Weld Racing, MicroTech EFI, Idemitsu Racing Oil , Rotary Performance, and GForce Transmissions. Additionally, the power will be coming from Kilo Racing/Central Florida Turbo, Rotary Performance, and possibly Turbonetics. The combination of Jesus Padilla, Rolo Lopez, and master rotary tuner Chris Ott for power has me extremely optimistic. We will go fast."

The chassis for the new car will be built by Tito's Chassis Shop in Lake Hamilton, Fla. "My choice would have been to have this work done locally; however neither, Kim Smith at Smith Race Craft or Nathan Martin at Cameron Racecars is able to build this project," said Scheepers. "Additionally, Tito's has built several of the top back-halved Puerto Rican cars that are similar and I feel confident they will build a safe and competitive racecar. "

Power will come from a turbocharged, peripheral ported, electronic fuel injected, two-Rotor rotary running on methanol and producing approximately 900 horsepower for the 2,000-pound car. The team first will utilize a Mickey Thompson 31 x 13 tire and GForce GF-5R Transmission.

A Strange Engineering all new aluminum 9-inch rear end assembly with brakes will help the starting and stopping while Strange double adjustable shocks for the rear and Strange Engineering's lightweight Aluminum Strut Package for the front, along with Chassis Engineering's Top Gun 4-link suspension, will help tune the car for fast passes. Weld Spindle Mount front and Aluma*Star 2.0rear wheels will ride on the corners.

VP methanol fuel will be delivered by a Weldon 2345-B electric pump and ignited by NGK's racing spark plugs. The precise control all the fuel, ignition and boost will be handled by MicroTech's LTX-16 EFI unit.Lubrication will be provided by Idemitsu Racing Oil. Idemitsu oil, made by the largest Japanese lubricate manufacturer, will be available to the public for the first time in the United States this summer, and the team was one of the first to use and test this lubricant, which will be filtered by premium K&N Oil Filters.

Scheepers hopes to take delivery of the new car by the second week in June and begin testing by mid August to possibly compete in the last couple of events in the 2004 season with an eye to 2005 and beyond.

"I believe this selection is my best choice for what I am sure is going to be a fantastic new racecar," he said. "Thanks again to the associates at Mazda Motorsports Development and Mazda North American Operations for making this possible."

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Privacy policy
© Copyright 1995-2004, NHRA. All logos and images are reserved.

microtech has not only topped the records in australia and now the champions in usa are using them..

here is another example 13b N/A non turbo doing 9sec on street savana body

This Months Microtech Champion is Jesus "Kilo" Padilla

Padilla, from Kissimmee, Fla., earned his 10th career victory in the Honda Tuning All Motor final at Englishtown Raceway May2/04.

Padilla clocked a national record run of 9.927 at 131.97 in his 1985 Mazda RX-7

"Kilo" runs a Microtech LTX12S ECU on the Peripherally Ported 13B N/A and has always been a loyal advocate of the Microtech product .

The vehicle is tuned by our Florida Microtech dealer Rolo Lopez of Central Florida Turbo

Originally posted by Ah Pang+Oct 2 2004, 22:56 -->
QUOTE (Ah Pang @ Oct 2 2004, 22:56 )
--QuoteBegin-phat7
@Oct 1 2004, 19:02

dave

hey bro,

i JUST bought a 99 spec front bumper with the lip....costs rm2.4k without the turn lights...the lights i ordered new from US...that'll be like 1k la....let me know if u want to get them too..maybe can get discount?? :) :) :)

cheers.... [/b][/quote]
Hey Mate,

Seemed the wiring loom was shorting or something like that and the car kept dying. I really was very unhappy but well the mechanic was very honest and i topped up and paid for the front clip plus some discount of course. I really like the 99 front assembly but i am not prepared to part with 2.4k + 1k. Might go with c-west and buy them front lights when i am overseas. Type R has got a 99 spec front clip but their prices.......scares me. Planning to stay stock as much as possible but you know how us guys are lah surely hands get itchy wan. ;)

dave

my boost creep wasnt that bad........well at the moment i get creeps up to 0.85 bar even though my wastegate spring is at 0.6 bar....

i vent my external wastegate to the atmosphere to hold steady boost....

but i will be changing to a smaller T04E turbo with 0.84 hotside instead of now 1.15 hotside which is way too big for my engine..once it hits ...it hits too hard ....dont really like it

hmm but i dont know why.......u guys think that US has a lot of microtech followers....but actually there is more haltech followers here in the USA..

my tuner's car ran a 8.45 on a daily driven FC3S on the 1/4 mile with a hybrid of bridgeport and a peripheral port.... he has a video and timeslip , ran on the texas speedway.

those media coverage are wrong man.....

Originally posted by phat7+Oct 6 2004, 00:24 -->
QUOTE (phat7 @ Oct 6 2004, 00:24 )
Originally posted by Ah Pang@Oct 2 2004, 22:56
--QuoteBegin-phat7
@Oct 1 2004, 19:02

dave

hey bro,

cheers....

Hey Mate,

Seemed the wiring loom was shorting or something like that and the car kept dying. I really was very unhappy but well the mechanic was very honest and i topped up and paid for the front clip plus some discount of course. I really like the 99 front assembly but i am not prepared to part with 2.4k + 1k. Might go with c-west and buy them front lights when i am overseas. Type R has got a 99 spec front clip but their prices.......scares me. Planning to stay stock as much as possible but you know how us guys are lah surely hands get itchy wan. ;)

dave [/b][/quote]
hahahaha.....the itch is ALWAYS there.... :lol: :lol: :lol: