RWD halfcut engine...

garrett_tdo4

guyss..i need 2 know more bout RWD engines..isit easy 2 get rwd halcut??my ride is a putra..soo can i fit in errr,,lets say a 1.6supacaz 4agze engine complete wit rwd drivetrain???
sure get bug wit driftin...hell of a fun it is...

that would be a hell lotta money dude to do such a conversion .. plus u would need someone who is willing to do it for u..after all that your car can be considered illegal liao ... cos i don't think jpj will endorse such a conversion ... anyway the amount of money you're gonna be putting in for the conversion i think u might as well get an old school FR and build it up.... then u will have one car to drift and another to drive around ...i think this is a cheaper alternative ... cos once you start doing your FF to FR conversion ... think u will paying buta road tax only cos definitely most of the time in the workshop ... so forget about the silly idea alright dude!!another way is to sell of your common putra which u see everyday and get yourself an FR .... people selling their EK civics to buy A31's .... funny ehhhh i hear also cannot believe .. i think u should be able to buy a 180sx with the sale of your putra,u probably think what the hell selling off my much much newer car and buy something more than 14years old ... well i had a satria 1.6 UK specs 1996 model.... sold if off for a nissan 240sx(equivalent to 180sx but us model) frankly i never had any regret buying the nissan even though its already 15yrs old,the car never gave me much problems... and i really push the car to its limits all the time .. and after having it for nearly 3 years i still make a couple of thousand ringgit selling the car ... so there u have it,keep a depreciating value car which will depreciate even more after that crazy conversion or sell it off and get a much much nicer,much much more eye catching car like the silvia's or even skylines.... this is my opinion so think about it!! but then again if u have bloody low D/P forget about the idea of buying these cars ... at least must be half the price of the car ...

hey thanx dude..

FYI,i do hav a FR ride..but its a vw beetle..it has da potential of driftin juz tat it lacks da power 2 drift....180sx??S13 or S14??wats da price range..i ve been wokin wit my bug 4 almost 3 years but...still not satisfied :o

it can drift but it juz need a bit tiny winy itsy bitsy horses..and mind,,i m actually out oif ideas..the bore is bigger(92mm),,there's a racing cam..weber dual quad ones..intakes/exhaust..but still i juz need 2 xtrak juz sum more power 2 drift...i was thinkin of E30 M3..those r frwd rite??

well anyway thanx :rolleyes:

180sx shud be goin for around higher 50s to 60k.. d/p would be around half of the total price..

an e30 should be ok, u can get a good cond one at around close to 20k..

wahh.. beetle can drift ar.. put in ej20 then the beetle could drift easier :lol:

i have seen a VW bug in mags with chromed 2.0 engine that outputs a kickass 180bhp :o

i ve made up my mind..think i ll focus n spend more on my vw beetle..this year theres gonna be a hell lot of smokin goin around..n i surely regret it if i miss any drift events :(

n guess wat
errr,wat class do i compete???

find a 13b NA version. that should kick arse :) by the time you engage your 3rd gears i think ur speedos does not make any sense anymore. hehehe

bettle is RR not FR... kekeke . In my opinion I think the RR setup is diff to handle when drifting because of weight bias more to the rear.... Just like MR cars like MR2...

aiyyooo :( me havin diff findin type 4 engine 4 my beetle lor..its hard 2 find a 2.0 vw engine..

or maybe i convert from RR to FR?
really ahh mr car diff 2 drift?its ok as my soon 2 be jockey is as fat as Rikishi so maybe that will help da weight bias.. ;)

uhh.. how to put beetle's engine in front to make FR? supposed it could be done but then lotsa work though..

hahah that i'm not too sure but any RR compare to FR is harder to drift. If you can do it then you're GOOD@!!:)

u need a lot of money for big hp in a beetle....aircooled way. say, 40-50K. even that, u will still need extra for spare parts in case of broken stuff.

new case US 400-650
crankshaft US400 big dtroke forged
rods H beam US300
camshaft US100
lifters US 80-US450
pistons US200 to US2000....yes US2000!! for pistons
studs US 60
heads US700 - US3000 depending on your application
rockers US 400 - US700 depending on brand, lift, material, quality
clutch - US 80 - US 300
full flow filter set US150 plus additional for washable filter used in drag cars....eg Oberg or System 1
Carburators - US 1000 plus extra cash for jetting, spares
MSD ignition US 600 for full set OR

EFI fuel n ignition - programmable ...can get from Sunway shops Microtech,haltech but u need to buy throttle bodies yourself.

that will give you about 200 bhp if done correctly.

if u want cheaper options, u can go for Japanese engine conversion, Subaru, RX7...muh cheaper and feasible for us malaysians. turbo is good....a few running already.

but then, u will stilla lot of mony forthe gearbox.

Quaiffe LSD is about 1000 pounds i think depending on type of box.