RX8 or RX7??

boonyloh said:
Sorry to hijack your post

here is my experience....

10w40 is very suitable for the car for everyday drive.....I'n fact i am stuck to it now:regular_smile:

I've tried a few grades of engine oil.....15w50, 5w50

so far the lowest oil temp i get is with 10w40 average around 90C even during traffic jams.... my car has 2 oil coolers as well, one original mazda that came with the car and one HKS oil cooler...

just a note the lower the viscosity the lower the fuel comsuption...and get the engine more lively as it requires less force to run.... on the down side if the engine gets hot and your oil viscosity is too low, the oil will become too "light" and you don't get the engine pulling its optimum potential during higher rpms...so during extreme conditions for example track, higher viscosity is recomended. so far I have tried up to 15w50 on the track... works flawlessly

I have been using fully synthetic Motul 300v competition engine oil for 2 years and the car still feels just like new :_:

I have seen my friend's RX-7 13B rebuild and the only oil he was on is motul.... don't see any residue also :omg_smile: when the engine is taken apart

so u decide on which grade of oil u are going to, its more of personal preference and feel when u drive your car.

the type of oils to choose from mineral, semi syn or fully syn its more of what u believe in but make sure its suitable for the car( read owners manual)

me? i believe what i see :shades_smile:

just my my honest opinion( dont flame me yeah lennon tai kor...hahhaha)

Bro, i knew Motul works well, but it does have a lot of carbon deposit in it........ I was using Motul 300V too, but when i open my engine, there're chunks of carbon cake........ Then i went to see Wood's engine (he's using rotary oil), yes it's dirty dark in colour, but no carbon residue....... Most Renesis engines i check at Ah Choy's place are covered by layers of carbons, there are using normal Fully Synthetic......

RX7 engine hardly contains carbon deposit becos of it's exhaust port, Renesis is side port, making carbon harder to get out of the engine........ Mazda has advised to use mineral oil only, so the verdict is yours......

tuned said:
ok...so from the discussions above....so its pretty necessary for the RE be it RX8 or the earlier 7......to have two oil coolers.....?

anyway...still wondering...since some mentioned that parts available easily?...izzit really expensive? say compared to the evos or subarus....

also...how bout mod / aftermarket mod parts....?

and ohh...i've undertstand that the RE on the RX7 requires a routine rebuilt after every ~150k km...is that true?
does this applies to the RX8 as well??

also... forgoten...wat's with 4 inlet ports and 6 inlet ports..u mean RX8 has 2 different 13B engines?

Lennon said:
Bro, i knew Motul works well, but it does have a lot of carbon deposit in it........ I was using Motul 300V too, but when i open my engine, there're chunks of carbon cake........ Then i went to see Wood's engine (he's using rotary oil), yes it's dirty dark in colour, but no carbon residue....... Most Renesis engines i check at Ah Choy's place are covered by layers of carbons, there are using normal Fully Synthetic......

RX7 engine hardly contains carbon deposit becos of it's exhaust port, Renesis is side port, making carbon harder to get out of the engine........ Mazda has advised to use mineral oil only, so the verdict is yours......

Thanks for the helpful insights, Lennon.

tuned said:
also... forgoten...wat's with 4 inlet ports and 6 inlet ports..u mean RX8 has 2 different 13B engines?
Auto has 4 intake ports while manual has 6 intake ports....... Hence the different in HP........ Manual enjoys higher rev......

tuned said:
ok...so from the discussions above....so its pretty necessary for the RE be it RX8 or the earlier 7......to have two oil coolers.....?

anyway...still wondering...since some mentioned that parts available easily?...izzit really expensive? say compared to the evos or subarus....

also...how bout mod / aftermarket mod parts....?

and ohh...i've undertstand that the RE on the RX7 requires a routine rebuilt after every ~150k km...is that true?
does this applies to the RX8 as well??
Additional oil cooler is advisable to have for our hot climate….. There’re many aftermarket additional oil cooler like Mazdaspeed, HKS and RE-Amemiya……

Parts are easily available but still have order from Japan, some local shops can get it at cheaper price than C&C……Alternatively, you can order from SG, sometimes they got stocks…… Price should be roughly the same as or slightly higher than EVO……

Aftermarket mod are plenty, but don’t expect a 300-400hp……. NA turn Turbo is truly a painful lesson to me, but WTH, I like it….. hheheee

RX7 rebuilt at 150,00km??? It should be half that mileage…… Renesis should be the same, better play safe than emptying your pocket….. Blown engine can cost you double the price of rebuilt…..

oh icic...thanks for the infos.....so auto has 4 inlet ports...
how bout the Type E?...izzit the same?

anyway, so u mean the RE needs rebuilt roughly before 100k km of mileage?
wow that's quite scary...hmm :\

tuned said:
oh icic...thanks for the infos.....so auto has 4 inlet ports...
how bout the Type E?...izzit the same?

anyway, so u mean the RE needs rebuilt roughly before 100k km of mileage?
wow that's quite scary...hmm :\
Type S = manual
Type E and basic = auto

RE engine is high rev engine......... It's normal to overhaul performance engine at 100k........ This is not normal sedan...... so what's the scary part??

Lennon - Yes i agree. There are many variables involved and what constitutes as clean becomes subjective. In my experience without taking into account type of oil, premixing at the gas tank has also showed as an excellent lubing and cleaning agent. Do you premix? In my setup i have a water injection kit which i plan to start spraying at 8psi. Water does not burn but prevents detonation as well as "steam cleans" my combustion chamber. RX7 owners as well have been warned by the manufacturers to run only mineral oil. This was back in the day when you'd spend tonnes on Petit's Protect(Sp) premixers. Like i said before, run what you're most comfortable with.Lennon-Hows the turbocharger? What kind of temp readings do you see? Thanks.

still... RX7 FD is the best, because of the stylish design, the design match the downforce, also the weight is 50:50.... perfect

but rotary engine got a lot of things need to care....

Engine- every 10000-30000 km, the engine must overhaul once.... at the time of overhaul everythings concern to engine need to change....

Turbo- turbo boost cannot boost more than 1.0 kg/cm because it will harm your engine and turbo.... just follow the natural boost that the turbo provided even after you mod it...

HEAT- heat is rotary engine main factor... did you guys noticed that those RE Amemiya FD mostly their intercooler is not straight one? why because if you change bodykit then you mod the intercooler position into straight position like those piston cars your engine wont be cooled also... why? because the wind can't get through into the engine bay... thats why those RE Amemiya masters put the intercooler position to 50-70 degrees.... HEAT is Rotary engines enemy....

Fuel- rotary engine fuel consumption is not same like other race cars... the ROTORS treat petrol like water to drink one... unless you drive on the highway, then is other topic already, some more those turbo boost? haha you guys know la....

well thats all i know based on my friend who also drive FD....he also say that FD is asian Exotic Cars

Lennon said:
Type S = manual
Type E and basic = auto

RE engine is high rev engine......... It's normal to overhaul performance engine at 100k........ This is not normal sedan...... so what's the scary part??

correction Lennon

Type S= 6port eninge 6 speed manual only
Type E = 4 port engine 4 speed auto only
basic = 4 port engine 5 speed manual
4 port engine 4 speed auto

RX-7:-
Our RX-7 owner (owned an FD since 1996) Mr.Yap rebuilt his 1st engine at 145K mileage (who said RE could not run more than 100k?). One of the rotor housing still can re-use.:mouth_closed:

RX-8:-
Mazda has released a new model with 6 intake-port and 6 speed AT in august 2006. 215ps/7450rpm. LED tail lights. AAS.

malaysian market where to find 6at.... still too early la and the price would be above 200k lor

if i know i'm going to do some crazy shit.... i'll dump in half a bottle of 2T for pre-mix.

i've some experiences that the lube oils evaporate very fast....
like my experience, i use 20W-50..... and i pre-mix... come back sure lose quite significant lube.... and if i use semi-syn, it will be different, hardly see it evaporate (track events)

normal days, mineral oil, hardly see it evaporating.

i might consider creating my own water injection using pressure gauge that changes resistance and thus change the voltage of the pump :) but i'm figuring if those wind screen washer noozle are too large :) ended up choking my engine with water :)

phat7 said:
Lennon - Yes i agree. There are many variables involved and what constitutes as clean becomes subjective. In my experience without taking into account type of oil, premixing at the gas tank has also showed as an excellent lubing and cleaning agent. Do you premix? In my setup i have a water injection kit which i plan to start spraying at 8psi. Water does not burn but prevents detonation as well as "steam cleans" my combustion chamber. RX7 owners as well have been warned by the manufacturers to run only mineral oil. This was back in the day when you'd spend tonnes on Petit's Protect(Sp) premixers. Like i said before, run what you're most comfortable with.Lennon-Hows the turbocharger? What kind of temp readings do you see? Thanks.
I haven't tot of premix actually.... A lot of people told about the 2T oil, but i'm dunno much about it...... Since i'm using rotary oil, it should be ok...... Hows water injection gonna help in cleanning the engine???? How did you get this idea??

My turbo is getting better, but still need a final touch from a Jap tuner, my AF is lean 14 from 3000 to 5000rpm, the ignition has been retarded to keep the engine safe, i don't like the idea anyway, maybe i'm getting Eiichiro to tune my car........

Oil temp running at 95 degree doesn't looks good for day time driving, trffic jam shot to 100....... I saw your car at 6pm today at USJ, you must have coming back from Ah Choy's place, right??

RERider said:
RX-7:-
Our RX-7 owner (owned an FD since 1996) Mr.Yap rebuilt his 1st engine at 145K mileage (who said RE could not run more than 100k?). One of the rotor housing still can re-use.:mouth_closed:

RX-8:-
Mazda has released a new model with 6 intake-port and 6 speed AT in august 2006. 215ps/7450rpm. LED tail lights. AAS.
Taikor, sometimes it really depends on luck......... Vincent's car stock oso have to rebuilt at 45k km....... Really can't tell when it's gonna give up....... So play safe....:shades_smile:

RX8 6AT still using the 4 intake port engine, hence the 215hp, where did get your info?? Got LED tail light liao?? YUM YUM

MrPenghulu said:
Engine- every 10000-30000 km, the engine must overhaul once.... at the time of overhaul everythings concern to engine need to change....

10k - 30k km? You must be joking

Lennon said:
I haven't tot of premix actually.... A lot of people told about the 2T oil, but i'm dunno much about it...... Since i'm using rotary oil, it should be ok...... Hows water injection gonna help in cleanning the engine???? How did you get this idea??

My turbo is getting better, but still need a final touch from a Jap tuner, my AF is lean 14 from 3000 to 5000rpm, the ignition has been retarded to keep the engine safe, i don't like the idea anyway, maybe i'm getting Eiichiro to tune my car........

Oil temp running at 95 degree doesn't looks good for day time driving, trffic jam shot to 100....... I saw your car at 6pm today at USJ, you must have coming back from Ah Choy's place, right??

Its a well known fact that water injection works very well with rotary applications, I premix with methanol but do not tune for it. Its a safety buffer i like.

I had my car tuned by Ichiro from Japan. Good guys with excellent rotary knowledge. http://www.autoselect.co.jp/EventDiary/?read=20060909-62419682643 check the website for pictures of my car tuning session. http://autoselect.dynalias.net/auto/060909_DINO_set.wmv of the video. Wee Liang from Qaurtermile really went the extra mile to get my car tuned as i was in Bali. He even sms'ed me to update me of proceedings. If anyone can get your car done it would be Wee Liang.

I currently have interfaced with my powerfc a wideband which i use to tune afr and ignition. Its been fun tuning non boost areas and i look forward to tune boost areas myself. With the current setup i managed to get a reasonable output.

Yup i had to meet with ahchoy today before he leaves for work. Ah choy has been very supportive as well as a good friend. I get him to drive while i take readings off the car. I would strongly suggest premixing to avoid apex seal damage.

I've been into rotary's for more than 7 years and there are a few guys out there whom have been into it for longer but do not come online. In terms of oil we have learned to respect each other's decision whatever it may be but we do agree on 1 thing, premixing helps save the engine.

hamsap said:
10k - 30k km? You must be joking

He most definitely is. Unless if course the car was trashed and never taken care off. most people that make this statement are not owners themselves or have got very bad rebuilds.

it all depend on how individual handle and take care of the engine :)
mine motor run for 105K KM already haven't been rebuilt yet... still running strong :)

timely change of lube (3K KM once), make sure no over heat, pre-mix if possible, the engine will definitely LAST for a VERY LONG TIME :)

unless we're talking of pre-mature reliability problems or random fabrication defects, infant mortality :) god bless you and your rotary..

dev's reasonable power is ALOT... not alot people can reach there :) mine....... half way to dev... but mission impposible unless i go single turbo :)

by the way.,... it's been a really long time since last see boony goes online here :)

how's life my man !!!!