Satria GTi Owner Headcount

Btw to Yakuza , no harm done bro. Good to hear that Ting's doing fine.

And Zeroed , no apa apa bodykit project la , just repair it back.Goin to get it tomorrow.Well , without my spotlight as I took it off , right side broken now the bumper left with two hole.Anything can be replaced the spotlight ?

TermiziYeoh said:
Btw, very fierce look I must say for the splitter, Man issit ok for 15 inchers ? Afraid that it will hit any high hump and breaks itself. Rilly it produces downforces during high speed ? Wow wow. But my car very slow la if pasang oso wont feel anything coz I drive slow car and I drive slow =)

malique and man : Nice CAI there.Where to do it ? How much it cost ?

i'm on 55 series tyres. so no prob. furthermore the car aint lowered...so i got no prob with road bumps (so far la)

R3 splitters....its not merely cosmetics.... even though it gives a new fierce look to the car....provides u the extra edge on track. but if ur not into that matter...save money for something else la. no need to waste. brake upgrades is a wiser choice (just my 2 cents)

DIY on the installation part..basically drilling holes in da bumper to host the bell mouth... with the help of my foreman on tools n stuffs

if u gonna buy those r3 splitters bare in mind the u will feel like u lost power during hi speed especially on hiways, n creates louder noise from the front... feels irritated sometimes... n do not i repeat do not bawak laju on lopak air when it is heavily rain...

DIY the CAI, drilling n installation also DIY, its quite easy if u have the tools n the patience....huhuhu.....took me 3 nights to drill the hole, one hole day to install the hose, bell mouth n etc. Very the penat woo... but the results satisfied hehehe

my own touch on my own gti

zeroed: haha,sure thing ,most of my friends does it all the time laa haha so im used to it already ;)

malique: mind to elaborate more on the noises that it creates and the effects during the top end? thanks!

ehh boss....can tell me the price of the splitter and where to get or not?
thanks ar....

if expensive...then hai...have to save up lo....
and why don't you spray it?
you purposely leave it like that or u jus don have time yet?
:_:

original R3 splitters are priced around RM600+

but i saw at racing fit sunway a copycat version RM350. but the fibre is thin and light. dun think its gonna last...coz its too fragile.

by virtue of the shape & design...its prone to scrape if ur not careful. but so far i got no issues on speed bumps (just a reminder)

IMHO spraying the whole thing does make it look wierd, thats why i just sprayed it partially to compliment my canards.

just my 20 baht

yakuza.... how to explain to you ar...... its like humming sound come from the front of ur car...the loudness depends on the wind velocity blowing to ur gti la...

don't know about Man's car but mine is standard gaban gti, just minor mods....so i did lose some power especially when going uphill at 190 kmh...

gti....the price is about rm650++...hehehh.. so u see aaa rm650(splitter) + rm180(canard) + rm90(CAI) + mostly DIY =not enough time n hehehe moolah for spraying purposes...

u can get the r3 splitters at eneos or like kuman said at racing fit at about rm350(copycat)

Wah, malique, your GTi can reach 190km/h?? Don't know why my car can never past 180km/h...even if full throttle. Like there's a speed cut or something in my car...anyone any idea why??

malique / manofwar, wat do u use for the bell mouth?

no prob yakuza...heheh...

drill the bumper.....hehehe...tebuk jangan tak tebuk!!

now got one problem and really hope u guys could give your opinion...

new rims:16 x 7jj + new APM lowered springs = sangkut just a bit...inner side

mesti kena fender punya...now, i dont wanna change either the spring or the rims coz they look good, ride is good, handling is superb...so, what i wanna ask is:

1. now i'm using standard gti camber setting, which makes the tyre -ve a bit. do you think by reducing the degrees, the problem will be solved? example : lets say now front camber is -1.0 degree, by reducing it to -0.5 means that u are making it more tegak, rite?..and move the sidewall of the tyre a little bit away from the fender.wud it be enuff?

2. can i use wheel spacer?if can, where can i get it and how much?

3. can i knock the fender a bit (inside)? - the question is, has anyone done this?

4. if none of the above, or if anyone has a better solution...pls share?

pls, anyone?? love the looks and the feel....but u know our roads and highways..especially the sambung sambung part, where there's a gap, and makes the car bump a bit when hit...that part will sangkut one...

and balik raya...to the north, after ipoh, going towards taiping/penang...mak oii!!! dia punya jalan..macam naik kuda la...hsskkhh..

thanks guys.

gtishadowfax, if you reduce the negative camber then wouldnt the tire be even closer to the fender?

As far as I know there are 2 measures of camber used. Those tyre shops they measure from the top part of the tyre, hence negative camber is a / direction (for left tyre, viewed from behind)... or am I mistaken?
btw if you use -1.0 camber on normal roads, youre crazy la heheh. Long term sure sakit hati for tyre wear one. Standard GTi front camber setting is only around -0.5 if I am not mistaken...

As for the fender, lots of people hammer it.... I have a friend who cut lines on the inside layer thing of the fender, and then hammered it upwards.

BTW guys, is recommended to adjust camber settings by pulling the absorbers to the desired degree before locking the holding screws? (Camber screw does it this way as well)
Would that put extra stress on your ball joints?

gtishadowfax: im kind of in the same situation also bro,coz I just got my 16" rims,and with 4 ppl in the car,it will kena the fender,im just planning to go to the mudguard shop and ketuk after I install the APM springs.

i'm in..

Taufeeq
age 25..
GTi 2002
Subang,cyberjaya,puchong,sunway and pj..
Convert to 4G93T..a lil mod here and there..
oowwh..i'm attached..cheers guys..!!!

jl65... actually before my minor mods, i mean when still standard gaban, my highest speed can reach about 230kmh... many of my friends also can reach that speed...its factory setting i guest...

now after some minor mods my top end only can reach 190kmh....haiya... but my acceleration is better though...huhu

gtishadowfax... actually those bellmouth comes together with the CAI hose... now selling everywhere what...eneos also got...buy! then DIY...huhu

gtishadowfax...last time was using apm sportsprings also....at first doesn't hit the fender but after a while it started ....huhuh...mind to check your absorber coz it maybe leaking!!! those lowered spring wasn't meant for our std shocks... when u lowered ur car too much then....hmmm...the inner rod will hit the bottom inner side of the shocks bla...bla...bla(dont know how to explain...) resulting leakage of the stock shocks.....why not try using harder shocks...heheh...

hmmm...thanks guys...

yakuza, u have any particular mudguard shop to recommend?

well, as they said (and i said this few times as well..)lotus did a fine job...but the car is high like s*#t with std abs and springs, especially the rear side...!

malique...i got wat u're trying to say - batang besi yg kaler krom tu termampat sampai tahap maksimum dan terkena bahagian bawah sebelah dalam batang besi yg berwarna hitam itu...heheheh...now, finding a shock abs that is just a bit harder than stock would be a headache again, and not to mention RM$$$ again!
i've heard that GAB is a good alternative...what say u guys?

but one thing i'm sure is my abs are fine...just installed them less than a month..

zeroed...-1.0 is too much! its just an example la bro...by the way i posted the std gti alignment/camber, caster and toe setting few threads back...anyone rajin enuff to check?

prodrive....welkam weiii!!mind to pm ur plate number? i'm staying in putra heights and always in usj side...btw, my ride is the easiest to spot i guess, as it bares a perlis registration with 2 digits...and dark wheels...and black rear spoiler...:)

malique...masa std yes can reach 200++ but how long does it take frm lets say 140 to 200? our 5th gear la....feels nothing already when u engaged...

thank u for the bell mouth info. do they sell just the bell mouth alone?

gtishadowfax...hehehe explain in bahasa melayu easier..thanx
hehehe...the bellmouth, yup they sell the bell mouth alone but the only place u can get it separately is in eneos, (if there is others i don know)...last time i check la at the price of rm25 per pair(similar to manofwar's) but mine is rm25 perpc...

masa standard gaban tried the speed at nkve hiway, was on 4th gear with 170kmh then changed to fifth, floor habis...the distance to reach from 170kmh to 230kmh is from subang exit to slightly before bukit jelutong exit

gab shocks is good i think...

guys...top speed matters are kinda subjective

few things to ponder...

absolute top speed is how fast ur car can go if say u have a strectch of 5km road which is zero gradient(aerodynamic plays a factor esp with the R3 splitters u hog the road more for stability). then there is also the factor of how fast can u accelerate, lets say fm 140 to max (where i believe torque plays a factor as well)

even mixing/customising gear ratios is a black art.... there is always thing to trade.
welcome to the darkside....

even during trackdays...ppl would ask 'how fast can u go aa?'
its not the speed...its the time that matters most. u can just opt to have an RPM meter instead of the speedo. coz speed isnt the utmost priority.

drive safe...motorsports is dangerous

just my 20 baht

gtishadowfax: well,not in particular bro,but since you live in SJ,I think there's one behind Summit,kat those half cut shops there.

malique: yeah,I think my absorbers sudah lama and it's leaking that's why it's touching also.

anyway guys another reason why my car consumes so much petrol is also because my car's idling is too high,it's not normal coz it's more than 1 I think,hmm what do you guys suggest I do er?