Savvy : Excited owner

Haha..thteh86 is correct also la..my wrong also to say savvy is suck in stability..sorry!
Just my assumption...hm..but any savvy owner tht can clarify this?and why once the car is out..few cars hav accident?!hm...

thteh86 said:
i assume a lot of u have drove a SAVVY b4 rite? If not how can u guys know that SAVVY suck in stability? Don't tell me ASSUMPTION ritee?

yeap, healthy criticism is good like aaron said, but sometimes...i find that nowadays, it's getting worse and worst......some ppl just bash it without even knowing anything

well thteh86, here's hoping that there are many more sensible forummers like you out there who would refrain from blind bashing.

It seems to be a trend nowadays, just like wearing coloured bands which says "Celebrate Life", just bashing without any knowledge or experience of the product. This doesn't just apply to cars. It's sad, but public perception is everything, more so than technical specs and real world application.

I've personally test-driven the Savvy, and although it isn't the car for me, it handles very, very well. It does roll a little bit more than I am accustomed to, but that's due to the damping for everyday comfort. Nothing some strut bars and stiffer springs can't solve. Braking is also top notch.

thteh86, I have the same thoughts too. I find that opinions here are rather biased. The picture of a mangled blue Savvy that we've been 'raving' about for the past few days doesn't do justice to the actual accident that happened. First, one thing for sure we don't know what actually happened so its hard to say this TUV quality thing is a whole lotta bullshit. Tell me about it, which car won't suffer from any damage in a serious accident like we saw on the first page. If the car doesn't crumple in an accident, i bet you a thousand bucks the driver's dead. Its perfectly normal for a car to suffer such damage in an accident. I remember seeing some pictures of a really fucked up X5 that was involved in an accident near KLCC and the driver lost his hands. So what does that tell you? BMW car sucks? Besides, we all know what sort of driving attitude Malaysians have, so why are we so surprised over a crashed Savvy?

To the guy who's father just stopped supplying to Proton: There are many reasons why Proton stopped buying from your dads company. One thing for sure, once you item has been spec in their vendor list, their buyer cannot just buy a cheaper alternative over your product. Unless of coz the new vendor can supply in the exact same product but at a lower price. Also, your delivery time is also very important because if you fail to deliver on time, you're off the vendor list the next time. Most importantly, you cannot deliver a product thats inferior than the one you showed or demonstrated. I'm not saying your dad did all this but these are some of the reasons why Proton's buyer will change supplier.

Yeap, these are some sensible comments wat zth needs and it is wat zth used to have, I missed those days, eventhough i came in around sept 2004, but that was the time where I find lots of helpful forummers.

I'm just hoping that this forum won't turn into another few forums which i visited, and i found ugly cause of proton blind bashing. TUV approved is one of the toughest and in fact one of the strictest word in the world, do u think that Proton can use it easily? I don't think so....

I would hope that ppl would take the photos of MyVi's cases or any other car's cases *touch wood*. 2 cases for SAVVY so far, but I don't think that it's bad, cause from wat i see, there're a lot of cases in Malaysia everyday, not to mention how us malaysians drive in public. Which could include me. I personally don't fancy proton but sometimes, too much blind criticism can kill the market.

indiego said:
Constructive criticism is good..

But watever comments that I've been hearing so far.. most are really based on pure hatred on the local brand... in some ways you can call it biased...

How can you possibly take an isolated case like ONE proton crashing on the streets and then start poking fun of the manufacturer??

I mean it's okie if you own one and if you have feedbacks on the car.. let them know or let the public know if you wan..

From what I see, most people are not commenting on the car.. but they're just bashing Proton for the sake of name.. If you think that is constructive criticism.. I rest my case.. .

Developing a car is a journey.. not a destination..
Malaysia is going thru that journey.. even though some thinks that we're taking too long of a time.. at least we're trying...

p/s I sound like somebody who's pro-proton.. but honestly i dun own a single proton.. but at least I would love to encourage my own countryment to come out with something that who knows i might purchase next time..

I actually thought this guy's posting made a lot of senses. Well done.

I mean if you can come out with something very constructive with the right facts to back you up, then go ahead and post. Forum is a place to exchange ideas not merely for you to blast government policy and car manufacturers. I can accept Proton has QA/QC shortcomings and evidently in their old range of cars; wira, satria, perdana,waja. But with TUV, i do hope they're turning it around and not dish out cars with petty problems. But the problem with some of us here is that we have a mental block and will never accept Proton and whatever steps they do to up their status. Quite rightly said, most opinions are based on pure hatred.

The thing i find puzzling most is when we come out with new cars and most of us here will link the design with all the car manufacturers in the world. Come on, what do you expect. You complain about Wira due to the similarity with Mitsu. When we launch the Gen2, people complain ugly and looks similar with this and that car. How to satisfy? I really don't know. I've grown out of complaining about Proton and the only way is NOT to buy their car, as simple as that. I mean if you hate drinking beer, don't drink it. Why force yourself to drink it and later complain it sucks, taste like shit, smells like crap, has similarities with other brand of beer, color like chinese tea and etc. If Proton is the only car you can afford at the moment, then save up for future to buy a Japanese car, or buy a second hand car. Don't force yourself to buy it and later complain.

prodigy, I think you are being a bit unfair as well...towards the bashers that is. Especially the last bit. I mean if I had a lot more money I would buy a more xpensive car. And not everybody likes buying second hand.

This whole Proton bashing/hatred/whatever word you want to call it, has been quietly simmering for a while now. The people have been let down far too often. It wasn't as if Proton just started and immediately got criticised to death. Yes, there are unfair criticism of new products which have apparently improved but you reap what you sow. Even the great Mercedes is realising the err of their ways because it is beginning to hurt the brand. Now people have doubts about their products too. Brand power is everything. People tend to relate words to brands. Unfortunately, in the public eye, Proton = inferior quality. And you have to say it isn't unfounded. And I feel, like what Malaysians always do, we've just accepted it as it is, just grumbling away. The whole thing boiled over only recently because of certain factors which I'm not quite sure. Realisation that we are terribly shortchanged? Afta? Unmet expectations? Who knows? All I do know is that there is no smoke without fire. And if you want to blame anyone, it is Proton and the ones protecting them.

si|verfish, I do agree with your "there is no smoke without fire" statement because, yes, Proton over the years, has screwed up. But the issue here now is about the blatant bashing.

I believe in giving credit where credit is due. The Savvy, IMHO is a good effort by Proton to change within itself, and change public perception through a quality product. And you are spot on when you say Proton = inferior quality, because that is how the public perceives it, after 20 years of shoving crap down our Malaysian throats. It isn't all that bad, but there is always room for improvement, as shown in the Savvy.

For what its worth, it shows Proton is serious – with TUV, with quality control, with ridding itself of its crony, substandard vendors, and improving its sales and aftersales service quality.

Hopefully through consistently developing and producing quality cars, the perception will change for the better.

Till then, Proton's got an uphill task ahead. Could take months, years, who knows?

Crash, I do know what you are saying. I was trying to give everyone a different perspective, both to the Proton bashers and the basher bashers.

prodigy said:
To the guy who's father just stopped supplying to Proton: There are many reasons why Proton stopped buying from your dads company. One thing for sure, once you item has been spec in their vendor list, their buyer cannot just buy a cheaper alternative over your product. Unless of coz the new vendor can supply in the exact same product but at a lower price. Also, your delivery time is also very important because if you fail to deliver on time, you're off the vendor list the next time. Most importantly, you cannot deliver a product thats inferior than the one you showed or demonstrated. I'm not saying your dad did all this but these are some of the reasons why Proton's buyer will change supplier.

the company is not own by my father, my father was the middle man in the deal... quality and time issue is not the problem...

once u deal business with them, u will knows wat does proton "really" wan, wat they aim for...

just find some old batch wira and new batch wira and compare... i still prefer old batch wira then newer... those parts are better...

own experiences is better then 3rd person viewing... :wink:

prodigy,

some other "inside" info i cant publish to here cause is quite confidential... if u wan know more, try to close to proton ppl lo... deal with them is a better way...

in a short cut way to tell about it...

"if i was given a free plotong, no matter wat model, i choose to sell it and buy perodua or japanese car..."

LOL... cheers...

personally speaking, i believe its the driver's fault the savvy landed on the centre divider of a straight road. maybe he's trying to make a drift turn..he he (note the dirty surface near it)... i am not the kind of proton bashing, i am so proud of proton as i grew up with it...and i want them to be competetitive.

the problem with proton is that they never listen to consumers...ppl like us who are their strongest supporter in proton 20 years history. who else? UK buyers? singaporean buyers?

where else proton want to sell their products other than us? but they never listened to us....if we say we dont want the so-called optional alloy wheels..why force us to buy? why force us to buy the cheap reverse sensors? alarm system? RM250 for a set of body stickers? u must be kidding.... but we still buy the cars!!

but all our opinions? go down the drainn...

IMHO proton need a Styling Centre with some imaginative designers working there. their carss..look boring. Why? Look at Waja...5 years old and still looking same. no facelift or whatsoever... variety? nope. Proton shud have make good use of retro themes...just like Britis with Mini, VW with Beetle.... Proton has Knight, remember?

Satria R3 shud have been called Satria Knight - prepared by R3.
then also available is Gen2 Knight, Saga LMST Knight

not to copycat mitsubishi on purpose..eg lancer evo - prepared by ralliart.

but it makes more sense.

example
Kia Picanto Novus, Spectra Novus, Optima Novus
Ford Escort Ghia, Laser Ghia, Telstar Ghia, Sierra Ghia, Granada Ghia, Scorpio Ghia, Orion Ghia
Sporty Ford Fiesta XR2/XR2i, Escort XR3i, Sierra XR4/XR4x4, Laser TX3, Telstar TX5, Fiesta RS, Escort RS Cosworth, Sierra RS, Mondeo RS, Focus RS

my 2 cents...for those who appreciates.:D

As much as i drive my wira, as much as that i have been criticizing Proton. but this one time when the moon is blue, i read an article from car.my with a comparison between the Myvi and Savvy.. I will try to summarize it..

Among his comment:

1. The Myvi even though equiped with more advanced DVVT engine feel very much slower climbing speed on fith gear that it is boring to drive, the savvy however climbs up to 170 effortlessly.

2. The Myvi is tune for super comfort, thus its handling is too much a compromise. The savvy however have far superior handling for a car its size.

this is professional article dudes, then some of the people here is bashing Proton Savvy as having bad handling.. come on guys.. this is not the way, its not gonna do any good to Proton or to your self. Maybe the ads is a bit misleading, true but what about the ads of the car that play balls with beckam.. any body bring it to football field oledi?? cammon la, dont be such a jerk laa.. ads are meant to attract potential buyer maa..

it reminds me of the beckham, raul, roberto carlos's pepsi advertisement....kua cheong, if u don't understand...it means over the limit, but this is wat advertisements needs, who doesn't know that? Except for some immature babies or so

agree with u tajulsans....

i used to bash proton..but then it was the quality of the car that upsetted me..nowadays the quality have been quite improved (although there are some major flaws on new models)..IMHO, we need to criticise proton in a positive way..

i got to agree with bro zan..proton shud hear our opinions, the buyer...that's one thing which proton are lacking..

and also, why proton didnt continue the knight series? instead they make special edition...sometimes i wonder why the guys who works inside there are so bengong

BRO CRASH....i agree with u bout savvy handling..

i personally test drive it on 1st august at EON glenmarie..
actually it was a uninvited visit with my officemate.

1. cabin finishes quite ok..a par with kelisa, meter&airvent looks better than kelisa, sound system good, door finishes very unacceptable..they lose money on engine i think..
2. seat is really good compare to Myvi...manual adjustable seat height so so lah..if only the steering wheel is designed & finished better..seat position i can confirm better than Myvi-IMHO lah..
3. for those who living in KL will know dat glenmarie area got few best route to test engine performance, suspension and brake. corner subang and etc...i feel really comfortable despite of few body roll thru those corner! u people of course knows how to reduce body roll...thru corner Savvy really can carry so much speed dat i think i'm already going to limit when rear tyre giving up..but still catching up..it happen once only at any corner...anyone from SHAH ALAM!! from NKVE u go straight to bukit raja..then go into interchange to TTDI Jaya/bukit jelutong...i dive in the hairpin (under the flyover) from 5th to 3rd gear 80kmh.. rear givin up only twice...enter and mid corner...anyway it was a good ride compare to "macam naik kapal punye kereta-Myvi".

i think in future PROTON WILL BE BETTER. i'll buy savvy for my workhorse but sad i already got japanese car dat still lovely and obidient to me..hkehkehkeh
anyone that already test drive savvy plz comment

zan , the word R3 sounds more better ... i feel , at least . like M3 , Vx-R , TypeR , R-spec ...

anywhere, savvy engine power is very musclar indeed . compare to myvi , myvi is smoothness , where when u enter the highway , u would be like on a sofa ... as it is mroe a comfort car . the engine although DVVt , it only benefits on its smoothness on low range rpm . the 1.3 engine is normal while the VVt technology cover all the low peak of the engine performance . while this savvy renault ehgnie , it is pure engine without VVt technology , therefore they need to refine it very much to give the best performance ... and renault / french are already leading in refinement .

Someone said proton doesn't listen to its buyers.. I dunno about you but the R3 folks were jotting down notes when me and my friends were complaining about the proton cars in the dream car show. They said they needed feedback to make the cars better and all was constructive criticism. The kind of feedback we gave was "Savvy brake pedal too high", "Gen 2 seating incorrect", "Plasticy feel", "rattling noises from dash and basically every other part of the car", etc.

Ok what. I think R3 is the only reason why I say Proton is good. R3 people and their cars are good. Just a pity politics has to be involved.

I was only 15 when Proton introduced Knight. at that time the Saga Aeroback consists of only 1.3S and 1.5I specs. the 1.5I spec gave way for 1.5S version Proton called Knight. its all black, with white/red/orange stripes. it shud have more power instead of standard 1.5 magma 8v, shud have power steering and all disc setup but that doesnt matter. it was something different from Proton. different from other makes.

in 1990 megavalve models came in, the Knight somehow disappeared from Proton line up along with Saga Aerokit (remember anyone?).

I always hoped Proton will come up with a Knight model again..ask any average man of age 30-50 and they will answer..yeah! everybody wanted to own and drive Proton Knight back in late 80s. but Proton never did. Why? their engineers are too young to remember how great was Proton Knight. :D

retro theme can make a difference in terms of marketing! something that proton still a long way to learn...

anyway, this would be my line up of Proton if i am the marketing director
1. Waja 1.6M L - basic car, no power window, alarm, no radio, no alloy wheel but 15" steel wheel. maybe even to the extent of using carbie but the price would be very cheap something like RM40K. so, u get big car at low price. useful for taxis, and for race teams where they dont need power windows and things like that.

2. for those who need some luxury, there would be the standard spec as what we are getting. all power items (windows, locks, mirrors, steering etc) at about 50K. available as auto. call it 1.6GL

3. sportier version of Waja maybe called 1.6GLS. same with 1.6GL but add 16" alloys, ABS, driver's airbag, HID or Xenon headlights. only manual, maybe even tiptronic auto from FTO. suspension will be set lowered, and comes complete with body skirtings. price about 65K, in solid red or white only.

4. the most luxuriuos Waja would be called Waja SE (of coz for Special Edition) and it has twin airbags and sidebags, ABS, EBD, traction control, auto climate control. leather seats with electric adjustments. price? 70K

5. the best of all would be Waja Knight - prepared by R3. its almost same like 1.6GLS, but more equipped like SE. it may has supercharger or turbocharger and it comes in black only. and it shud use 4G18 DOHC isntead of SOHC version we are getting.

to iszo, dont be deceived by your eyes when u saw R3 ppl jotting down notes. he he when i first tested gen2 during a proton carnival, i wrote my comments about the poor seating position and recommended proton shud get an orthopaedic specialist to design the seat..and not according to what the designer simply like. but no improvement to that. savvy is the proof. not flaming u ok, cool...

anyway, this is what commented by WHatCar? magazine on Waja/Impian and Gen2.
take note that the Waja has 4 airbags on the top spec and gen2 has a 1.3 version.

the best part is all proton waja and Gen2 comes with 80,000miles warranty (equivalent to 128,000km) and 100,000miles warranty for powertrain (engine and gearbox)...
funny isnt it? why malaysia buyers dont get all that? can someone from Proton explain??

http://www.whatcar.co.uk/RoadTest_FullVerdict.asp?DL=0&RT=212359 - waja

http://www.whatcar.co.uk/RoadTest_FullVerdict.asp?DL=0&RT=211080 - gen2

it seems proton people also never read..... i cant wait the magazine's comments on savvy.

cheers..:D

zan : Chill. Heh. Yeah well.. with all tat said. I still want a Savvy R3. :D

Izso said:
zan : Chill. Heh. Yeah well.. with all tat said. I still want a Savvy R3. :D

i just want a savvy tiptronic. will make most of my day out of it. but still way too expensive. at least for me. :D

p/s sigh..i cant afford even a kancil 660!!