Scarry Second Values of Volvo

jamesweh

I am a great fan of Volvo's myself an ex-owner of a 850T5, which was mod. with a TME ECU plus exhaust, Torque 400 NM, 260HP.
This are all Speedworks dyno figures, even assuming it is out by 10%. Those are impresive figures.
So my next upgrade would have been a S80T6.
Retail price in 2002, more than RM300+K, today RM120K.
Really crazy depreciation.
Why?
1. Very high maintainence.
2. S80 model has poor design in suspension. If you look at the sturdiness on the suspension components, a Toyota Camry has larger bushes and overall more sturdy and reliable compared to a S80. Also other parts, I hear that the S80 2.0 T has a problem with the auto gear box. Almost all pre 2001 S80 2.0 T has some sort of auto gear box problem.
3. VCM(Volvo Car Malaysia) again not prepared prep up the second hand car market for Volvo by giving guarateed fix depreciation prices if assuming an owner of a second Volvo trades up to a new one.
Honestly, I am scared of this car but I am intruged by its performance and off course, now at the rock bottom price, it is really tempting.
But for new Volvo buyers, only the brave buy a new Volvo. By the way XC90 used prices are holding up. Maybe its the SUV craze. But look at the XC70 prices, new RM260K, today a 2001 model RM130 plus.

hmmm.. how come volvo auto tranny seems to have some heritage disease...

last time my dad's old school 240GL had auto tranny prob.. my friend's 850 also... hmm...

my wife insists on buying a volvo next so most probably the s40 next year. you see the volvo is trully for life. my father in law had at one time 3 brand new volvo's- 360,740&240. fast forward after driving a host of other makes she still believes the volvo will always remain the best. Volvo for life-hopefully soon. ;)

father of a friend of mine sold off his volvo, i sit in it once only, quite nice, heard my friend say his dad sold it off cuz maintenance crazy. then they got a lexus Gs400 v8, i never sit in it so dunno how it feels, its so heavy that when my friend come visit me at home his lexus break the electric gate's rail of my home T_T maybe its just coincident since my aunt's ninja king came and nothing happens.

its a decision made by the force of market. between Volvo, BMW and Merc i can say the 1st really is a cold car. even though there's no doubt their cars are good.

same goes to Nissan Cefiro, Toyota Camry and Honda Accord. does anybody know which one is the cold car? why?? we cay this and that but its the market pressure that will do figures.

who controls used car price markets? mainly the used car dealers. they know what car easy to resell and which is easier.

on paper at least every car wud be reduced in value of 10% annually. by theory.

for a simple guide to used car prices, refer Am Finance wizard.

http://www.ambg.com.my/personal/financialtools/carrefinancing.asp

the market trend differs from one country to another. proton may hold its value in malaysia, but only only holds average 30% after 3 years in UK. compare that to malaysian's 60-70% average.

in korea every car will be like no value after 5 years. just leave it by the road side and buy new one as the car prices in S korea are unimaginably cheap! same goes to japan....

volvo cars are nice though...
740 Turbo Intercooler is my all time old skool favourite.
now the S60 T6 and V50. :D

my dad company bought him a 940GL in 1996. it was 160k back then.

throughout the six years of ownership, my dad changed a list long of mechanical parts incl radiator, hoses, mounting etc etc...and before selling it off at 40k, the auto Gb broke down.

but volvo is overall a very good car other than its terrible resale value and high parts price.

Volvo reasonable spare parts prices plus work shop

If you need new or used spare parts for volvo, try V Auto at Chan Sow Lin, Mr Kee. He is cheap, i have been using him for 5 years. I always compare prices between him and Singapore. in the begining the prices he quoted me, I could supply him and he makes a profit. But in the last year his prices are very competive, this is a result of VCM now controlling all spare parts unlike before only Federal Auto. VCM has cut the margin given to Federal.
On top of that Federal has been unloading their spare parts as they don't need to keep stock or as much stock as before.

jamesweh said:
So my next upgrade would have been a S80T6.

2. S80 model has poor design in suspension. If you look at the sturdiness on the suspension components, a Toyota Camry has larger bushes and overall more sturdy and reliable compared to a S80. Also other parts, I hear that the S80 2.0 T has a problem with the auto gear box. Almost all pre 2001 S80 2.0 T has some sort of auto gear box problem.

if you want a T6, why looking at a 2.0T gearbox? the S80 is not meant for spirited driving. Ever seen a really tuned up s80 before? weird. if i were you i'd take the T6 engine and mate it with a R 6-speed manual gearbox and plonk it in the 850. and if u're rich enough, go for the S60R. wouldn't that be nice

or i'd just get a R halfcut and plonk it in the T5. no mounting problems. the bottom end of the R/T5 is strong. probably can hit 450-500hp. you're just at 1/2 of that. if power is your main concern, the T6 wouldn't give you much more than a tuned T5. the twin turbos are itsy bitsy and probably better off used to blow leaves on the lawn.

anyhow, yes... volvo's auto tranny has always been a achilles heel. thats why i gave up on the AW71 and got a M90.

i think most of European car also expensive for their maintenance/spare part.
and as usual European car have very low in resale value.(the used-car price is also base to their origin country)
But Volvo is slightly more hard to find because there were not many Volvo car around Malaysia compare to BMW or Mercedes.
i think there got parts(Half-cut) from Hong Kong or Japan as well.

i miss WBH8668(green Volvo 240GL) :D
buy in 1992 at 15k, repair change engine bla bla bla more than 30k, sold in 2005 just 4k :cool:

dude yes volvo price getting down like hell...im so pitty of my friend...he just bought a volvo s40 year 2000 for 89k but after 4-5 months wanna sell back the dealer taking it for only 66k dude...he got heart attack....y suddenly the price down to earth in just 5 months time....

same volvo supporter here. Well the only reason i can see is all about marketing. Mercs have the reputation of "rich boss" image where as BMW is like "rich punk" image. This is the only reason i can think of volvo lack of certain image to attract buyers. Same goes down to Audi. Volvo, Audi and Saab was truely superb car and in some certain model is even better thn Mercs and BMW.

jamesweh said:
If you need new or used spare parts for volvo, try V Auto at Chan Sow Lin, Mr Kee. He is cheap, i have been using him for 5 years. I always compare prices between him and Singapore. in the begining the prices he quoted me, I could supply him and he makes a profit. But in the last year his prices are very competive, this is a result of VCM now controlling all spare parts unlike before only Federal Auto. VCM has cut the margin given to Federal.
On top of that Federal has been unloading their spare parts as they don't need to keep stock or as much stock as before.
he'z cheap and u're using him???? as what?! hahahaha... funny la the way u put your words.

but anyhow, my dad sold off the volvo liao... too bad, otherwise, can check out that place.

normality78 said:
same volvo supporter here. Well the only reason i can see is all about marketing. Mercs have the reputation of "rich boss" image where as BMW is like "rich punk" image. This is the only reason i can think of volvo lack of certain image to attract buyers. Same goes down to Audi. Volvo, Audi and Saab was truely superb car and in some certain model is even better thn Mercs and BMW.
certain car status reflects differently at different countries/places. In johannesburg... volvo is the status car, while merc is just a taxi... ;)

zephyr3d said:
certain car status reflects differently at different countries/places. In johannesburg... volvo is the status car, while merc is just a taxi... ;)

between merc, BMW and volvo, merc was the 1st to exploit diesel engines for passenger cars use, hence popular in becoming taxis in germany as well as our very country since 70s.
but price factor had prevent modern merc to be used as taxis, moreover there r other diesel car alternatives.

all those cars sux la....i prefer vulva....very nice 1. sometimes maintenance a bit high la...but most of the time the returns are very good. hehehee. its a very versatile thing, good for cruising or spirited diving. :D