self install AC pump...need help

bishamoten

My ac/fuel pump rosak that day and some bugger on a motorcycle stop just to help me (yea rite...) at the side of the road. Then he said the ac pump spoilt and asked me to change it. He offered to look for the part in a shop nearby, took the pump and just left. More than an hour later he comes back with the pump, which looks new but can obviously tell that he went to spray the old pump with new paint and lie to me that its new. I'm saying that he sprayed it because I could see the wear and tear on the metal piece (its around 10-20 years old, old car ma :P)...it was the same wear and tear I saw before he left. Now my dad is advising me to change the pump to a new one just to be on the safe side, and I'm thinking of saving some money by trying to install the new pump myself because I actually gave that fella who cheated me RM120 (he asked for RM250 =.=) out of generosity (he still did manage to get fix the old pump and get me out of OUG traffic). Can anyone advice me on installing the new ac pump on my own? Should I go for it or….get ready to break down again? =P

to do or not to do

bishamoten said:
My ac/fuel pump rosak that day and some bugger on a motorcycle stop just to help me (yea rite...) at the side of the road. Then he said the ac pump spoilt and asked me to change it. He offered to look for the part in a shop nearby, took the pump and just left. More than an hour later he comes back with the pump, which looks new but can obviously tell that he went to spray the old pump with new paint and lie to me that its new. I'm saying that he sprayed it because I could see the wear and tear on the metal piece (its around 10-20 years old, old car ma :P)...it was the same wear and tear I saw before he left. Now my dad is advising me to change the pump to a new one just to be on the safe side, and I'm thinking of saving some money by trying to install the new pump myself because I actually gave that fella who cheated me RM120 (he asked for RM250 =.=) out of generosity (he still did manage to get fix the old pump and get me out of OUG traffic). Can anyone advice me on installing the new ac pump on my own? Should I go for it or….get ready to break down again? =P

You have pay quite a lot of money for it right? Use it until the fuel pump spoil la... Forf your info, i,ve change my fuel pump 2 toyota supra 2jz last year and install it diy into my v6tt and it just cost me rm100 only...
:cool:

What car ? if its really AC pump theit should be connected to Cylinder head b'cause its using camshaft to activate, right ? its plug n play, you just ask for a gasket & a gasket maker/silicon at a sparepart shop, thats all. no tuning at all

AC pump at chop shop = RM20 onliii, how do you know ur AC pump rosak ??

kruger....I only paid RM60 for my ac pump....I'm also not sure if the problem came from the ac pump or not, but by fixing it, the car could move again. That day when it broke down, I could restart the car and run for another few hundred meters, but the engine will just die again...so I gave up...didn't want to make things worse. Jombie, I'm not sure about camshaft...I dun even know much about cars...all I know is my car's a 20 year old ford lazer =P, but the pump is the type which has 3 pipe like things to connect to...oh, kruger...you really diy yourself? Later I upload aac pump pic, advise pls :)

Hmmm...from wat u said.ur ac pump have 3 hose connected from it rite...i assume ur engine is running on carb.

if is so..then it is easy..b4 u take out ur old AC pump,make sure u indicated which hose is which. the 3 hose actually consist of one IN,OUT and a overflow RETURN hose.
the ac pump should have words indicated there which is IN or OUT.for short,the IN is where ur fuel hose masuk.out is where the fuel hose go in ur carb.Return,is just a overflow hose.u can look carefully ur old ac pump the hose go where end where.mark it down,and just connect it back the same way.
ok just let u know..wat if u connect the OUT hose to the IN and IN hose to the OUT.ur car will everyday jerk and die without any indication as if u run out of fuel.so if u encounter this..it might due to the hose sambung wrong.

if not sure..just send to any trusty mech to help to fix it.

too bad, I don't trust my mechanic...he's like taking it so easy on my car...anyway, this is the pic of the ac pump...

yup, its AC pump, just mark your hoses, remove the old pump & istall the new one, dont forget the gasket & put some silicon on otherwise oil will leaks out. No tuning required, as I said before, its plug n play.

To escaflowne - well described

ok...thanks guys...now I just hope that no oil will leak later...like jombiee said...:p

the clip for the hose..better screw tight..u duwan fuel leaking out drops by drops like my car used to be..freaking scary.imagine sparks~~ then kaboom

hi everyone,i think my AC pump got problem,because when i park the car,after leaving the car park,i will notice some engine oil at the floor,go and check the engine,it is actually one of the pipe(very small in size) that come out engine oil, it is a sign that my AC pump is going to kong?im using 1.3 carb wira,what is the replacement model that i can get for it,plug and play.thanks...

oh yea....I forgot to ask....when I first take out the old ac pump...will the oil leak out or something like that? Do I have to wait a while after running the engine like the coolant water?
lby...if its leaking from the pipe...then you have to change the pipe instead of the pump...but it could also be something stuck in the pump...better go check if it gets worse later...dun even wanna imagine escaflowne's senario....imagine sparks~~ then kaboom :p

and if I'm not mistaken, an ac pump usually lasts a long time. Its not one of those parts which break down easily.

hi bishamoten,
it is actually a pipe to let the engine oil flow out,it is pointing downward,so everytime i can see some engine oil at the floor,the pipe is very small in size just like those vaccum pipe. my fren say the AC pump is going to kong already,just want to make sure is leakage or really the pump is going to kong soon.

yup my ac pump have the pipe pointing downwards.matter of fact most of the ac pump have it.
for me no oil dripping down

yup onces u notice ur AC pump act weird ..better check

thanks escaflowne,so does it mean that i have to change the ac pump soon?

any difference if i change it to other model like (gsr,4g93,4g91....)? would the ac pump need any modification to plug in?i mean the mouting.

by changing the better ac pump,would that any power increase or smoother the acceleration?

thanks...

urs is carby rite?
gsr those are injection...i not sure they are using AC pump.

just make sure ur AC pump is ok then ntg wrong..no need waste money change .

err...my question still unanswered...I think...do I have to wait a while before I take out the old ac pump and install the new one? I dun wanna have oil spilling out...and my ac pump isn't facing downwards...its kinda standing straight...

thanks escaflowne,ya im using carb engine,my ac pump still working,but it just the engine keep leaking out, i always notice my car park got engine oil stain.so if i want to change the ac pump,better change to 4G13 or 4G15 rite?

bishamoten
just got a pipe facing down only,for engine oil to come out,not the whole ac pump