Sepang Open Day

endless551

Hi guys, was at yesterday's open day and there are a few things that I would like to highlight to our local track junkies. It could be sensitive but I hope many of u see it from my perception.

1. Obey the flags

As always on a sunday in sepang, the track is like a war zone. I dunno what everyone is racing for but if ur out there to do a timed lap aren't u suppose to get a clear track in front of u before u start? I see a lot of drivers speeding down the corners even though the marshalls are waving yellow flags and sometimes even red flag. What the hell r u trying to prove?? Pls don't put other ppl's life at risk as there could be a stalled car after the corner that ur taking it with u at 160km/h/. OBEY THE FLAGS, they r there for a reason. Cos u ain't some sponsored driver with radio in ur helmet to be warned.

2. Drive within ur capability/limit

2 cars turtled yesterday. One of them happened right in front of my friend which he described it as totally ridiculous driving and guess he didn't know what he and his car is capable of. I'm sure none of us would like to end up like that though accidents do happen but some conscience couldve avoided that. U don't have to find the limit to get close to the limit, thats what I believe. Good for u if u didn't injur urself, car could be fixed in ur own expenses but causing the whole track to be closed when towing ur car out of the ditch is a little unfair for sensible drivers while waiting for the track to reopen and time to fly by.

3. Let the faster car pass

Please don't give the faster cars a hard time passing you though I know u could b faster around the corner than that old uncle in his 1 million dollar porsche. But the fact is, u r still holding him up and he doesnt want to race ur sub 100k car. A bit of fight around the corners are fine but if u get the signal the faster car really want to pass without damaging his or ur car. Let him go. He will come thank u when ur in the pit. Btw, I'm don't drive an expensive fast car.

4. Don't cruise in track

Please don't go sunday cruising in the track. If ur encountering any problem and have to drive slow, i mean extremely slow, dont drive in the racing line region. Give the oncoming car space to pass safely. A good practice is to point out of the window which side you would like the car to pass from. Don't let them do the guessing game and give them a suprise.

Can't think of anymore for now but I do hope the regulars take note of the above. As I've attended the singaporean's trackday frequently lately and found them to be extrememly well mannered gentleman drivers compared to ourselves. Safety is a great ephasis to them and I hope we value our lifes/cars too. Stop dropping ur exhaust pipes and go off roading. Attend the driving course in this forum if u could or get an experienced friend to bring u around. It definitely helps.

i was there yesterday,mine too tell which car u drive?

im cruising in the track yesterday but not so slow la,around 120kmh.i let all those car pass me.look at rear mirror always because many fast car coming

u must understand them also lar, in public roads they cant do that so mai do it on the tracks lor....they are kamikaze's on track, then we have to avoid lor...no harm done mar bro...they just wanna release steam :lol:

and also this is malaysia, u know lar malaysian drivers are a healthy lot :P

anyway i was not in there...just wud like to highlight on ur posting.

i strongly agree with this! MANNERS MAN! i donno what to say when i went on the 3/4/05 alot of car spun, no turtle. but alot of road hogs and cars that think they can break on time but end up in the sand pit and causing constant red flag! which means we have to get off the track and wait till the car is removed! which potong steam! go get your p license agaaaaaaaaaaain! FAIL!

Originally posted by lan evo@Apr 11 2005, 19:02

im cruising in the track yesterday but not so slow la,around 120kmh.i let all those car pass me.look at rear mirror always because many fast car coming
[snapback]887632[/snapback]​

I'm in the white FC but car was overheating. FOr the rest of the day i was in the gun metal evo7.

Originally posted by fstrader@Apr 11 2005, 22:57
u must understand them also lar, in public roads they cant do that so mai do it on the tracks lor....they are kamikaze's on track, then we have to avoid lor...no harm done mar bro...they just wanna release steam https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/laugh.gif alt='laugh.gif' />

and also this is malaysia, u know lar malaysian drivers are a healthy lot https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/tongue.gif alt='tongue.gif' />

anyway i was not in there...just wud like to highlight on ur posting.
[snapback]888266[/snapback]​

No its not true.. U don't need to drive like a hooligan to do ur best time. And I can say, all the time when ur not driving in such a manner u'll usually hit ur best time. I'm not talkin about overspeeding into corners, more like driving all over the track, not being considerate to other drivers. I'm not trying to ask these ppls to get off the track but to educate them the right way around. Ppl just don't see the danger in driving in circuit. Don't regret when disaster strike. Our cars are road cars and bear in mind we don't have the safety features of a proper race cars. So don't u think ur style should suit the environment too?

When I did track days in Australia. U r not allow to do kamikaze passing manouvers. U WILL be (I was) black flag and ur out of the track. U r not allow to pass in the corners. Slower cars will be blue flagged to let faster cars to pass. Everyone holds a general CAMS level 2 license for insurace purposes, door to door racing only allow with level 3 license. Its a good thing that we there arent many red tapes on circuit driving here.. We can even drive a car with hanging/swinging exhaust into the circuit and decided to lose it halfway to get more horsepower (some guy dropped his whole f**king exhaust pipe right in front of me on turn 9). SInce we r given the freedom, don't take it for granted. U r not the only one in there! How would u like if I fart in the lift with u in there. get the point???

well am not siding them or whoever that is...

i am also a regular track kaki and i learn myself with nobody beside when i first started, and one thing i have seen in recents months is that these ppl tend to over do it lar, for slower cars like mine...faster cars tend to go pass and tiong you, so i know the feeling. and to them kamikaze's (i mean malaysians :P ) who got overtook by bigger or faster cars, their brains will be in KIASU mood...get wat i mean?? so they will attack corners like nobody business...thats wat i see in some track days.

and to educate these ppl, first they have to educate/learn their car's capabilities first...to learn how lethal is it on the tracks.

cheers...

Originally posted by fstrader@Apr 12 2005, 10:55
and to educate these ppl, first they have to educate/learn their car's capabilities first...to learn how lethal is it on the tracks.

cheers...
[snapback]889557[/snapback]​

well said. too bad cos I doubt they read the forums.

Originally posted by endless551+Apr 12 2005, 08:49 -->
QUOTE(endless551 @ Apr 12 2005, 08:49 )
--QuoteBegin-lan evo
@Apr 11 2005, 19:02

I'm in the white FC but car was overheating. FOr the rest of the day i was in the gun metal evo7.
[snapback]889184[/snapback]​
[/b][/quote]

your car park at the same pit with a modena,right?
gunmetal evo 7?hehe,u overtook me at turn 1,remember?im driving a double digit white evo

Originally posted by lan evo+Apr 12 2005, 11:24 -->
QUOTE(lan evo @ Apr 12 2005, 11:24 )
Originally posted by endless551@Apr 12 2005, 08:49
--QuoteBegin-lan evo
@Apr 11 2005, 19:02

your car park at the same pit with a modena,right?
gunmetal evo 7?hehe,u overtook me at turn 1,remember?im driving a double digit white evo
[snapback]889641[/snapback]​
[/b][/quote]

Yeah, the modena owner usually drives a GT3 in Sepang, didn't manage to force him to drive as the ferrari is his dad's car... dammit!

I don't remember overtaking any similar cars ler.. oops.. was stuck in the evo/wrx group and decided to slow down when the fight heated up as i'm driving someone else's RM200K car...

Originally posted by endless551@Apr 12 2005, 08:49

hope your engine is ok, very clean fc u have there. i saw flames cuming out the exhaust on one of the laps! :)

Originally posted by Torment+Apr 12 2005, 12:57 -->
QUOTE(Torment @ Apr 12 2005, 12:57 )
https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif alt='smile.gif' />
[snapback]889868[/snapback]​
[/b]

thanks man. Car is running very lean hence overheated. Can't even last more than 2 laps... Gave up for the rest of the day..

thanks for the tip endless! i've never been on the track before, ever, so the 24th and/or 17th will be my first time, ever.

i can't wait!

btw, anyone got any clean or `new' helmets lying around their house and wants to let it go for cheap? please PM me with the size, brand, colour and price. will get back to you if the price is right.

thanks.

mr endless,

i agree with what u ve said earlier. i myself like to go to the tracks when i have the time. i have encountered similar problems on the tracks b4 but u shud be understanding also.. some ppl want to learn how to take the lines properly that they forget to look in the rear view mirror. i suppose the more expierience drivers out there shud be more aware of other slower drivers.
regarding driving style, i dont like these kamikaze drivers also but then again, its the tracks. ppl are meant to drive fast there. its also the place where u learn the limits of ur car and urself. if the guy thinks he can corner faster and ends up turned turtle, then he will remember. then he will learn.
i m sure that we ve had our share of mistakes in the past and learnt from it, now is the time for u or any other senior racers out there to guide the younger gen. Have to talk nicely also lah.. they also shy if kena sound.. ;)
lastly, i m on ur side. i very much agree with u but i also want to encourage ppl to race in the tracks. i just dont want them to be intimidated by so many rules... until then, happy racing..

Yeah, going fast yet try to keep risk to the minimal. Motorsports is dangerous but ignorance is intolerable. I have a friend doing 2:39 in his STi (The black one with S202 wing) yet he is as smooth and safe as possible. He complains too.. Just trying to bring some awareness among the track junkies.. Incidents could be entertaining to the audiences but to the driver/owner & their friend is not a day to remember for sure.

Sorry if I was a little harsh on my earlier posting. I meant good.

Originally posted by lozo@Apr 13 2005, 00:52
wah endless, we are on the same pit last sunday
i'm the bg beside your fc ..
[snapback]891964[/snapback]​

BG?? Sorry for my ignorance. Whats bg stand for? So I'm sure u were 'smoked' by my car in the pit huh?? Sorry bout that, thats y I reverse it so the exhaust faces outside.. Too high oil press. and some oil squeezed thru the turbine wheel seal.. Luckily rebuild is only 400bucks!