Set-up advice yo

TTDIGUY

Hoping you can help out a N00b.

I'm considering both of the following options. Each costs RM2,500.

OPTION 1
- 1x American Autocraft Amp, 4x 60w RMS
- 2x Rockford Fosgate 6" (P162S), 60w RMS
- 1x Rockford Fosgate 10" w/ enclosure, 150w RMS
- Incl. cabling and installation.

OPTION 2
- 1x DLS Amp, 4x 70w RMS
- 2x Diamond Audio 6"
- 1x DLS 10" w/ enclosure, 150w RMS

Which of the above options are a better deal or am I getting ripped off for both?

Your opinions are appreciated. Feel free to suggest alternatives too. Budget's RM2,500. Going into a MyVi.

Lemme know!

Hey Zenn,
can you explain why Option 2 would be a better deal?

Cheers,
TG.

option 2. for me as well. But one question is that, as an inexperienced ICE-er, why bother to even go such mid-high end? if give u ciplak setup and a setup as stated above, are u sure u can hear the diff. Im not bringing u down but as a thought for u. Cheers, no hard feelings k.

Hi Bafuki,
thanks for the perspective. I guess the way I'd approach it is that given that budget, what's the best quality equipment I can afford. Also, I've been in enough car's with ICE investments to know what I don't want, so I reckon I'd be able to hear the difference between ciplak and mid-high end.

Hey, do you have any opinion on Option 1? No one seems to have commented on it.

Cheers.

hey, no problem dude. Just wanna say dun spend ur hard earn money without knowing wat u wan. Since u know, its fine with me. :) Im no experience ICE-er myself, but as far as i know, american brand ie rockford is usually towards spl more..with the boom boom bling bling effect. European brands are more towards SQ. Tats the general things i know la... if wrong plz do correct me. So i go for option 2. sq for me. :D

TTDI guy .

OPTION 2
- 1x DLS Amp, 4x 70w RMS - Classic CA 41
- 2x Diamond Audio 6" - Model ??

I didn't see any 10" DLS with 150W Rms
Only saw 120w / 180w / 200w

Hmm , the Rm 2500 for option 2 is kinda cheap .
Are the stuffs legit ?
Warranty Under NTC Malaysia DLS Distributor ?

Please confirm cos im also interested .
Wheres D shop located . heheheh

Bafukie >> Spot on. I'm going for range and depth of quality in a small enclosure (MyVi!) not something that's going to wake-up the neighbourhood.

Ivanx >> I guess the DLS sub would be 120W. I was quoted RM600 for it. Thanks for the warning. I will check on the legitamacy of the dealer before advising on the location of the shop (because I wouldn't want to perpetuate the selling of crap). Will let you know soon!

Hey Ivanx, if everything was in under the proper warranties, would you be interested in the whole set-up in Option 2 or part of it? I might be able to negotiate the price downwards a lot more if there's more than one buyer. (I'm a good negotiator). Lemme know what you had your eye on. Cheers.

option 1 would be better for rock/hip hop/bass and option 2 if more on SQ instrumental/vocals, etc..

however personally i would spend the 2.5k on 2nd hand items that are better/higher models. if u spend it on new items it would be made in china/taiwan, which is probly both option 1 and 2.

take a look in the buy/sell section of all the local ice forums u might end up with really good deals, for example:

helix esprit 4ch amp RM1500
http://www.mycarhifi.com/carhififorum/viewtopic.php?t=3097

dali component set RM850
http://www.mycarhifi.com/carhififorum/viewtopic.php?t=3164

audiobahn 10" sub with box RM170
http://www.mycarhifi.com/carhififorum/viewtopic.php?t=3162

total is RM2520...

2nd parts offers more push / bang for buck but regarding about installation .
The shop will quote u with a higher price

Unless http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/../members/zenn.html can help to gather some quality ice which is up to budget & guide us :)

--------------------------------------

Yo Zenn >>> I can see where you're coming from. But how would a N00b like me be able to judge the value and quality of a second hand part?

- 1x DLS Amp, 4x 70w RMS
- 2x Diamond Audio 6"

Minus one set of the components how much TTDI dude :P

Yo Zenn >>> I can see where you're coming from. But how would a N00b like me be able to judge the value and quality of a second hand part?

need to do quite a bit of reading as well as asking around when u go TT, later on u can catch up what models and brands are sought after, how they rank and what other users experiences are. high end models will still be good quality when 2nd hand due to the high grade of components they use, they usually last a long time..

other than that is to know the seller la, if u can trust that he doesnt abuse his stuff, like what type of music he plays and how loud he plays them, who his installer is, etc..

Final 2, advice Yo!

Ok, we are down to the final two options! Both options cost the same so I need your advice more than eva!

OPTION 1
Eton Pro 160x (6"), component set.
Alpine V12 MRUF345, amplifier.
Helix 10" Deep blue, woofer.
Door panels.
Centre console.
All cables + fuses.
Sub enclosure

Option 2
Alpine Type R SPR-17S, 6" component set.
Alpine V12 MRUF345, amplifier.
Alpine Type R SWR 1042D or 1022D, 10" woofer.
Door panels.
Centre console.
All cables + fuses.
Sub enclosure

Both set-ups are in the RM3k region.

Which is the better option? Remember, going into a MyVi that's going to play lots of rap, tech-house and some drum'n'bass.

Lemme know!

ICE is going to be fun!!! :bandit: