sigh.. juz not my day

yes it happens few times (short circuit).. but was not serious.. until last nite. Theres fire.. at 1st i tried 2 used extinguisher dat i baught from kedai abang.. but the useless thing kong. so i juz use mineral water.. dats the onli option i got.. luckily manage to put out n nothing serious... still.. my heart was like dropping out.

when thw 1st time happen..it is beofre or after u instal grounding?

if after, check grounding got put in wrong way o not...who know the fella conect to (+) side..ahaha

EVO3gsr said:
when thw 1st time happen..it is beofre or after u instal grounding?

if after, check grounding got put in wrong way o not...who know the fella conect to (+) side..ahaha

yeah man... poissible also. thr r really some idiot mech out thr

definitely not ler.. if not sure right after i installed the kit straight away short circuit.. its been like 2 month plus ive install d grounding.. its juz got a burned mark at the +ve screw head n on the hood... no other place else..

i say count your blessings that it was only a minor incident and you managed to spot the fire in time. you shouldn't have continued driving after the first time you noticed that the Positive terminal was being shorted out. IMHO, you are quite lucky to not have your whole car burned to the ground.

when you directly short a voltage source... bad bad bad bad bad.

try this at home. with a normal AA battery, short the 2 points together and see what happens.

:biggrin:

what are the odds...

the outside part of the hood (car dirty bcos left at workshop)
http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b261/aqinari/hoodburn.jpg

inside of the hood.. burned marks
http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b261/aqinari/Image814.jpg

gone case...
http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b261/aqinari/Image813.jpg

another view..like butter..
http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b261/aqinari/Image815.jpg

wah... ur car battery really gone case liao lor... can even penetrate the hood... haha... careful when deal with ur car battery, especially for those wanna try their skill on DIY... 12V is pretty much, can even shock u to death...

careful careful....

it's not really the voltage. it's the current that generates that kind of heat. that's why resistance welding is done with upwards of 1000Amps.

EG8 said:
foargeez

how the heck the connector touched your hood at the first place? what car r u driving?

sometimes is due to the big batteries, my battery is touching my hood too, i mean the connectors, but mine aint metal, so wont short circuit, but it is really not advisable for leaving the connectors touching metal, cause really can short circuit and cause fire. solution, get a smaller and shorter battery.

how can yer connectors be not made of metal? interesting... :tongue:

i'm running an NS70 under my Wira. make sure the insulating cover of your positive terminal is thick and in good condition. someone suggested lining the bonnet with Superlon, that's a good idea as well.

or use rubber mat (usually the car rubber mat) and DIY a battery wrap, each edge can use size 8 bolt and nut to keep the mat tied each end.

Kopi said:
or use rubber mat (usually the car rubber mat) and DIY a battery wrap, each edge can use size 8 bolt and nut to keep the mat tied each end.

hmm.. kinda interested in yr idea, but cant really imagine how it is done.. did u done this..? mind posting the pics here..