Signal cant auto off after changing steering~!

sky_lor

today i just change my steering, but after install the new steering and the new boss kit, then my car signal will not off automatically even after i turn the car. have to turn it off manually. but b4 changing, no problem one. anyone can tell me what happen? and how to solve it? thanks thanks....peace~!~!~!

yes .. same as mine .. go for steer align then take out that steering and fix back while ure tyre in straight position .. .. ;)

i thought it's supposed to be like that? Cause i'm also having the same prob and so does my fren... ask the mech and he said something bout the size and dunno what liao... :huh:

ho...common problem ar?like that ar....ok...then will go ask some other fren about it lo...but as what i noe...it shouldn't be like this...it should still functioning...but i think mayb i nvr fix it correctly kua mayb...haha...seem that many ppl got this problem...then we try to solve it together ok.....welcome to share ur info and any suggetion here...thanks...peace~!~!~!

in the wheel assembly behind a normal steering wheel, there's a mechanical part which corresponds to the indicator switch (the handle that controls lights+signals).

the first and foremost mechanism is a plastic ring around the steering column shaft. it is slightly different for various cars but generally it is a ring with a protruding stump (or nipple). this protrusion faces the back of a stock steering wheel and fits into a hole specially made for it. It is made so that when u turn the steering wheel, this plastic ring mechanism will turn just as much.

Now, behind the plastic ring is another protrusion that faces in another direction. This 2nd protrusion sits inside the column housin and contacts the signal handle. Our signal lights switch is made so that this 2nd protrusion will 'trip' the signals, turning them off after we have done turning the car. im sorry if u cant imagine it as this is the best explanation i can give.

now, regarding your problem. there are 2 possible reasons, and a suggested solution:

Problem:
1- your bosskit does not come with the hole to fit the auto-off plastic ring mechanisme OR

2- your bosskit does have the hole, but the person who changed your steering bosskit did not bother to line them up correctly.

Solution:
uninstall your steering & bosskit and examine the insides. in most cases its harmless to drill a little hole (usually only 5mm depth is required) on the back face of the bosskit, making sure it is properly aligned with the protrusion from the plastic ring. this is if your bosskit doesnt have the hole yet.

DISCLAIMER: as stated above, the mechanism for signal auto off may vary from different car makes. yours may not look like a ring.

go back to ur installer and ask him to fix it.
should not be like tis.
i fix my steering and it was also experiencing ur problem,went back and complained and the installer fixed for mi.

yup.. easiest if bring back to where you did it and complain.. after all you didn't do it there for free.. if they say "it's like that one" then you fcuk them up kao². it's a lamest excuse to use when someone is lazy to do it right.

damn... kena con liao... but it's already damn long like this liao... around 9 months like this... hahaha... get used to it liao. last time went there to fix again but that fella cannot get it fix!!! sigh... then he told me cannot fix saying it's like that... mah ke haizzz ah.. :angry: but i think he sucks, so no wonder the shop no more liao... WHAHAHAHA... :D :lol:

my problem occurs just one sided only.. left signal ok.. right signal KO.. hav to manually push it..

could it be the same problem?.. the boss kit thingy?.. oh.. i changed steering edi but long time ago.. only recently it starts to happen..

wanna know, evo bosskit can fit into iswara or not?? help me,bro....