something strange happen to my car...

Originally posted by differ@Feb 20 2005, 03:18
THis incidentally is a good way to check your alternator. Start your car and once the engine runs, pull out the positive terminal of your car battery. If the engine dies, means your alternator is faulty and will need changing.
BTW...
I might have well found out the problem...
This morning when i wanted to start my car it was dead...no sound on the ignition also when i turn the key...
so I open the front hood and check...to my surprise one of the terminal of the battery is missing its bolts and nut...and it was loose...so i adjusted it and use a wire to hold it up temporarily...
well...I turn the key and YES it started moving...

However...
differ u did say that once the engine started moving the alternator will take over it's job from the battery right??
and in my case let's say IF one of the terminal is loose and my engine went dead...the engine should still be running right since the job has been passed down to the alternator...

so I will try the technique as quoted by u and see what happens...

please confirm what i am saying is true??? :huh:

walah...i experience this problem recently. it come up after i installed an adjustable fuel regulator. what could be wrong?

Originally posted by Rock Lee@Feb 20 2005, 19:10

However...
differ u did say that once the engine started moving the alternator will take over it's job from the battery right??
and in my case let's say IF one of the terminal is loose and my engine went dead...the engine should still be running right since the job has been passed down to the alternator...

so I will try the technique as quoted by u and see what happens...

please confirm what i am saying is true??? :huh:
NO!!! don't ever do that....

your battery acts as a large capacitor in your car to stabilise your voltage because the power output from your alternator is very 'dirty' ie: when you rev fast the voltage can go up alot and when you rev low it can drop. That's why the battery absorbs the extra charge when your car is revving very high and then when it's revving very low like idling, your battery will supply power instead.

If you remove a terminal from the batter while your car is on, your electrical system will become very dirty and you will probably spoil your sensitive electrical components such as dvd player, amplifier, lcd screen, ecu, piggyback systems, AVCR, etc.etc. On the other hand, doing so will also spoil your alternator itself because you will be placing much more load on the voltage stabiliser box on the alternator and you will burn a resistor or something.
However if you just remove the terminal for a few seconds it should be ok la. Remember when doing so, turn on a high current load in your car which isn't sensitive to electrical fluctuations... etc, rear window heater, headlamps. Doing so will add abit of a 'buffer' and you won't spoil your alternator so easilly. But in any case don't disconnect your battery for too long.

pppfffffffttttttttttttttttttttt...

i'm asking him to do it as a test to check on the alternator's health laaaa, not asking him to drive to Hatyai and back with a disconnected battery... <_<

hmmmm...sounds like same problem with me last time..most probably would be the fuel filter (not sure wat it calls) got stucked with some sand or dirt...thats my problem last time..mayb u can have a check on it ;)

well the problem is the T/B .. most proton cars will suffer this problem .. i suffer from this problem for quite some time .. if you go to the eon service center they will clean the T/B which will be darkened by carbon. after cleaning .. they will reset the ecu .. then your car will be ok ..

Originally posted by wirawarier@Feb 23 2005, 12:51
well the problem is the T/B .. most proton cars will suffer this problem .. i suffer from this problem for quite some time .. if you go to the eon service center they will clean the T/B which will be darkened by carbon. after cleaning .. they will reset the ecu .. then your car will be ok ..
yep... that seems to be the problem... having this kind of problem for quite some time go to proton SC ask them to clean your throttle body in exchange for 50 bucks... solve... no more stalling engine while a/c is switched on...

yeah .. the new n 'improve' t/b from proton (made in germany somemore) ... hehehe .. the mech at the eon service explained that .. because of the carbon build up around the inside of the t/b making the t/b cannot completely shut making ur engine die .. want to test .. easy only .. on the a/c and ram ur engine .. the engine would die when the rpm goes down .. btw .. rm 50 .. wah .. good deal .. which eon service centre u went aa .. mine was rm80 plus .. cleaning + tuning .. ( aiyah say only tuning but actually reset the ecu .. coz the ecu says got error ) .. and the mech oso propose of using petronas fuel .. cleaner it says .. so goes to caltex .. projet .. coz i've been using shell all the way since i got the car .. so now i'm trying the petronas .. n see how long till the next t/b service ..
another permanent solution is to get the original mistu t/b that comes with the engine (before the new t/b was introduce la ) + the ecu and the wiring .. anybody can confirm this and how much the cost of doing so ..

i face this problem b4.....is the battery fault...
engien just die off like that....no jerking..no nothing, just die off like u turn off ur key...
everybody say cannot be the battery, if batttery flat...ur car cant even start..
but they were wrong....
my car still can start, but just die off on the middle of the road...so somehow ur engine still need ur battery even it is running....i guess

Originally posted by differ@Feb 23 2005, 00:44
pppfffffffttttttttttttttttttttt...

i'm asking him to do it as a test to check on the alternator's health laaaa, not asking him to drive to Hatyai and back with a disconnected battery... b]

:blink: :blink:

sorry sorry...
dun la tembak me until littat...
I'm not good with this kinda stuff...

well guys...thanks for the feedback...
i guess i better hand it over to a mechanic to check and see...
but so far so good...no "engine die" problem after the 1st incident
*touch wood touch wood*

EFI engine rite? he he carburetor engines may not be as efficient as EFI but risk of stalling is lower. jgn marah...

ok, just remeber this. its either fuel supply, electrical supply or mechanical problem. it cud be anything. firstly make sure ur car is well maintained ie, battery used no more than 2 years, fuel filter replaced accordingly (normally every 40,000km), airfilter cleaned regularly, spark plug replaced regularly no matter how u feel the acceleration (normal spark plugs 20,000km, platinum can go 100,000km).

chek record whether alternator had been replaced before. an alternator can last up to ten years but can oso go kaput even one year during warranty period. the easiest way to know is battery light on all time. but be advised, not necessarily alternator kondem after battry light on. my previous two cars gave the alternator away without warning.

my ex gf wira (1.5 wif siemens electronics) had these problm a few times when i was driving it. and proton edar mechanic acknowledged its the throttle body, which needs to be serviced regularly.

this problem kenot agak2 which. must look and then u know. if not sure, get a foreman laa..

p/s myself oso not sure... :ph34r:

Originally posted by Rock Lee@Feb 19 2005, 14:16
hey guys...

I'm not a mechanic or something so im not clear what has happen to my car just now...and I'm not very clever when it comes to interior knowledge...
so if there's anyone is zth has a picture of what's going on...do lemme know yah thanks

Just now when i was driving my car to fetch my sister from school...
the weirdest thing happened to my car...
I was driving my car while stepping on the gas pedal(duh!!:lol:)...all of a sudden the gas pedal stopped supplying fuel to the engine(i just pumped oil into it yesterday)...I stepped deeper but no response...
so I decided to stop beside the road and see what happens...but then the brake got so hard to press...feels like stepping on a ROCK !! and the steering got SOOOOOO HEAVY i had to use force to push it sideways (this case happen in a turn so a lot of force is required) :ph34r: :ph34r:... luckily there was no car around
The "battery low" and "engine oil low" signs appear at the meter panel...
I sat there stunned thinking "what the hell happened"...just when everything was wrong...The car started come back to live!!! the steering was back to usual and so was the brake pad...

well...i do have second thoughts about driving again but since my sis is waiting for me...what the hell...just POK POK la...
If this is a normal case then i dun have to see my mechanic...coz he is located kinda far from my area...

anyone??
Advise would REALLY be appreciated

Hahahaha... bro, the reason for all the strange things (heavy steering, hard brakes, Dashboard lights) is because your engine died. Now, the reason to ask is why did your engine died like that. Give more symptoms on the engine, is it running smooth now? Any jerks? Idle smooth etc...

Originally posted by Rock Lee@Feb 19 2005, 21:29
mahfudz_mn
hmmm...there is a possibility due to cold engine...coz that moment i use my car...tat is 1st time of the day...
yup i'm using manual and no i did not stop my car...it just died off....
usually when i'm gonna stop my car...I will move to neutral mode and just focus on braking...

tajulsans
I just pumped RM30 fuel yesterday nite...and it was at 12 pm tat i drive the car again the next morning...
nope I'm going at low speed...it is in housing area after all...

differ
the engine came back to life just like that...I DID NOT touch the key when the engine died
and YUP it happen when i downshift gear to enter a corner!!
If it is a habit for wira to do that then i guess it will not be problem for me...what did ur fren did to his car when he face the same problem??

THANKS guys for all ur replies...
If problem persists then will handle the job to my mech...

anyways really appreciate all of ur replies~
Okay, from what u said, the car's engine started again. My guess is that u are using a manual car. When the car is moving, even though with the engine is dead, u enter gear and release the clutch, the engine starts again (if your key is still in the ignition untouched). Same concept as push starting a manual car. I just think ur car died off when it was moving (gear at neutral coz u were in the process to change gear) and u did not realise it. Then you engaged a lower gear, the engine kicked back in... See if engine dies off happens again n the future, note down the symptoms when it died off....