speakers recommendation needed

soong2020

halo every1..

i m planning to change my rear speakers for my car.. budget around RM250-400... any good models to suggest??

n oso.. i live around kepong area.. any good audio shop to recommend as well?

last time i did in brother's was kinda expensive..

thx

you need to state your size speaker..I think you can get a pair of JBL speaker in your budget. Also you listen into what type of song?

i m now using brother's speaker ... here'e the model of my current one http://brothers.com.my/products_detail.asp

it doesn't sound as good as i tot when i tested it thr.. so need another set :Not_Impressed:

n it's oso overpriced for its performance...

i mostly listen r n b, rap, .. but most important the speaker bass muz be good ... can deliver low freq bass... and sound clear le of cos

hehe any good models? budget max out RM400 ( if got good deals n slightly higher.. don mind =P )

btw my HU is a JVC KD-G405... can deliver 50W rms

hey man,

not difficult to get clear voice... if the speakers are ok. low bass,
i am not sure what do you mean by that. ususally we use a sub-
woofer. imo, RM400 will get you a pair of decent speakers used.
if you can, double or tripple the budget in the future and there
are plenty of speakers o choose.

what else do you now have in your car besides the JVC and a pair
of speakers you wanted to get rid?

cheers.

currently i hav a JVC HU with that pair of speakers installed... while i also hav installed a pair of front speakers n tweeters in front.. no amp n no woofer.. n i not plan for amps nor woofer neither..

the front speakers r fine... jz the rear ones doesn't sound as good as i tot when i tested it... maybe the brother's ppl used amp to boost the sound when test to me..

haih last time stupid la me, didnt do research terus go buy... end up kena con by them :Not_Impressed: ... this current set on more than 50% volume sound pecah oledi

n my budget is oni for a good set of rear speakers... around RM400 like tat lo.. need some sifus to recommend me some good coaxial speakers.. no need amps n woofers

jz as long it sounds clear, can produce some heavy bass without woofer can d... n of cos la wont sound pecah when blasting :_:

Speakers can't exploit their potential without amplifiers unless you are using OEM speakers. In fact, I have a 4-channel Blaupunkt amplifier for sale at RM400 in which I am selling my Germany-made Magnat 5" component speakers (a pair of tweeters, mid bass and crossovers) at RM50(if you buy the amp as well). Both the speakers and amp are in good condition. I am selling them because I have upgraded. SMS me at 019-6023398 or email me at [email protected] if you are interested. You can check for details on the selling section.

You can use the 4-channel amp to amplify both the front and rear speakers. Without amp, your sound system seldom sounds good if you like RAP or techno. Unless you don't "char kei" then it is ok without amp. Besides, without power you have no bass. In fact, you can also buy a subwoofer in future should you hungry for more bass and power it with the amp. The choice is yours anyway.:regular_smile:

soong2020 said:
currently i hav a JVC HU with that pair of speakers installed... while i also hav installed a pair of front speakers n tweeters in front.. no amp n no woofer.. n i not plan for amps nor woofer neither..

the front speakers r fine... jz the rear ones doesn't sound as good as i tot when i tested it... maybe the brother's ppl used amp to boost the sound when test to me..

haih last time stupid la me, didnt do research terus go buy... end up kena con by them :Not_Impressed: ... this current set on more than 50% volume sound pecah oledi

n my budget is oni for a good set of rear speakers... around RM400 like tat lo.. need some sifus to recommend me some good coaxial speakers.. no need amps n woofers

jz as long it sounds clear, can produce some heavy bass without woofer can d... n of cos la wont sound pecah when blasting :_:

ohh icic.. heh thx alot for the info bro.. cos i'm still new in this ICE thing..

lol i don't char kei wan.. (unless sumtimes after clubbing abit high then on louder lor :_: ) jz on normal volume onli..

nahh i don't think i'm gonna pour in so much on my audio system like adding amp or woofer.. jz tat i'm looking for a new decent pair of rear speakers around the range or RM400-500 to replace my current one..

what about sony X-plod speakers? any comments on them? cos i c quite a lot ppl put sony..

another question is should i go for 2-way or 3-way or maybe 4-way speakers at the back? which is better for my case? n if any models please state them =)

thx alot guys for ur info... :regular_smile:

If you don't intend to get an amplifier then you should get yourself a 3 way 6"x9" speaker(at the rear) for better bass. I presume your HU is rated at 50w x 4. This is max power so your nominal power(RMS) rating should be approx. 20-25w RMS. Look for speakers that have a rating close to the HU RMS power and not maximum power, otherwise you will underpower your speakers too much. This will not only spoil the speakers but will not sound good also. I believe the 'Brothers' speakers was underpowered, that is why it sounds lousy to you. The demo was done with an amp that's the reason you find it nice when you bought the speakers that time.

It is hard to get good speakers at 20-25w RMS but try to do some audition first asking them to install at your car then you will get the true picture. Sony, Kenwood, Pioneer produce good speakers attractive to the mass market (value for money) whereas some European brands like Focal, DLS, RS, Dyna Audio, MB Quart, Eton etc are more for audiophiles which could cost a bomb. Remember, when you get speakers that have much higher power rating than your HU will cause your HU to work harder because it needs to pump up to max. power to make the speakers work. This will eventually, shorten the life of your HU or speakers as they go into distortion faster when you turn up the volume to compensate for the low power. :shades_smile:

hmm.. let's see.. based on ur facts.. then is it better if i instead of changing the speakers, i should add an amp into it? the sound quality will improve alot? and will the breaking sound still exist when i blast after i install one? cos now mine when volume 23 onwards.. the back speakers sound will break when producing bass...

aiks can ask them install n test 1st?
btw.. i heard tat installing an amp will also need to rewire all the speakers again? including the front ones? how much will all these cost?

thx man for sharing ur knowledge :regular_smile:

A Hu actual power is 18-25W depend on brand, so you should look for a speakers that have the power around there. Bare in mind is even use a 6X9, you will still lack of bass, as the minimum power input is 50W.
If you are a normal listener, the amp is not important, unless you going for heavy bass.

wow 18-25W only?? lol i didnt know it will be this low... well after reading all your opinions, the better option would be to install an amplifier instead of speakers?

and as stated in my prev post, putting amp also need to rewire the speakers as well? how much will the whole process ( plus amp) roughly cost?

thx guys! :_:

woww!! need 1k so much?? does tat include a sub, an amp, n the wires + setup??

my budget max out RM500 only ... cos i only wan some clear music 2 listen 2 when driving.. cos now the problem of my current set is that when i turn up the volume to around 23 onwards.. the sound start 2 sound like the speaker's gona break.. otherwise i won't mind much...

actually the sound break cos of the speaker can't take it or not enough power supplied by the player??? how to overcome it??

thx! :regular_smile:

This is normal, 1k setup is not include sub, the most is an amp and a set of speakers.

spkers

Last set of Helix Blue 62MkII going for RM480 BNIB. 2-Way 6.5 inch Component-System from Helix, Germany. Can be driven by your head unit / player.

http://www.audiotec-fischer.com/englisch/produkte/blue62.html

~ future upgrades, an amp in the region of RM900-1.2k.

Cheers. 0123315669.

kyheng said:
This is normal, 1k setup is not include sub, the most is an amp and a set of speakers.

ohh icic.. i'll do a research into my needs la.. 1k is slightly over budget for me now.. thx dude for the info..

btw anyone knows abt the speakers sound breaking when i turn it loud? change another set of speaker or add amp will solve the prob??

The speakers sound breaking is because it distored, stock speakers cannot stand on high volume with high bass. It is normal when you turn the volume high, futhermore is stock speakers. If you change speakers, then this will not happen. Since you are not using amp, then your HU have to work more.

soong2020 said:
woww!! need 1k so much?? does tat include a sub, an amp, n the wires + setup??

my budget max out RM500 only ... cos i only wan some clear music 2 listen 2 when driving.. cos now the problem of my current set is that when i turn up the volume to around 23 onwards.. the sound start 2 sound like the speaker's gona break.. otherwise i won't mind much...

actually the sound break cos of the speaker can't take it or not enough power supplied by the player??? how to overcome it??

thx! :regular_smile:

The only way to compensate for low power is to add an amp and I am sure you will find vast improvement. For RM500, I suggest you get a 2nd hand amp from brands with reputation like Sony, Kenwood, Blaupunkt etc. Brands with some international reputation tends to be more reliable. There are of course many other European brands but that will exceed your budget even 2nd hand. You can get some ideas in the ZTH selling section. The cost of installation with some RCA cables, power supply cable should set you at roughly RM150 with labour. I think RM500 shoud be enough. Never buy "cap ayam" amps because they seldom sound good and distortion is very high when you crank up the volume. Cap ayam amps can also affect your car electrical system adversely in the event of short circuit because most are not protected by fuse and you may end up with fried speakers.:_:

rm500 for amp, speakers, wires and workmanship? If seperate it all, 2nd hand amp 150, workmanship 50, wires 100, speakers 200. This type of setup is worst than get a better speakers that cost rm400-500. Some ayam brand amps is not bad in term of quality, it will be better than 2nd hand.

ohh.. icic

and then wat if i rm500 solely on a decent amp while maintaining my current set of speakers?? will this solve the problem? or should i change the speakers directly?